It is currently April 25th, 2024, 1:03 pm

A little help with bang

Discuss the use of Lua in Script measures.
Skymil

A little help with bang

Post by Skymil »

Hello,

I have a few issues with Lua when I want to send a bang to my skin. I'm a beginner so I think I have not understood correctly the language.

I made this script to block adverts in a webradio.

This is the code :

Code: Select all

PROPERTIES =
{

}

function Initialize()

Artist = SKIN:GetMeasure("MeasureArtist")
   ShutUp = 0

end

function Update()

Title = Artist:GetStringValue()

if ShutUp == 0 and Title == "Advert:Radionomy"
    then
     SKIN:Bang("!PluginBang "mPlayer SetVolume 0"")
     ShutUp = 1
    elseif ShutUp == 1 and not Title == "Advert:Radionomy"
    then
     SKIN:Bang("!PluginBang "mPlayer SetVolume 100"")
     ShutUp = 0
    end

return Title

end
The error I get is : 19: ')' expected near 'mPlayer'.
When I remove the quotes between mPlayer SetVolume 0 and mPlayer SetVolume 100, I have no error but the bang doesn't work (and I have a notice in the log, something like "Undefined command").

Can you help me?

Thanks in advance.
Kaelri
Developer

Re: A little help with bang

Post by Kaelri »

You can't use nested quotes in Lua unless you use escape characters, like this:

SKIN:Bang("!PluginBang \"mPlayer SetVolume 0\"")
This tells Lua that the quotes around "mPlayer SetVolume 0" are meant to be part of the parameter, rather than closing the first parameter and opening a new one.

Alternatively, since Lua allows you to use double quotes and single quotes interchangeably, you can also do it like this:

SKIN:Bang('!PluginBang "mPlayer SetVolume 0"')
In this case, since you open the parameter with a single quote, it can only be closed with a single quote; the double quotes in your !PluginBang syntax won't interfere. :)
smurfier

Post by smurfier »

1) !PluginBang was depreciated. Please use !CommandMeasure.
2) You need to mix " and ' in lua or escape the additional quotes with \.