It is currently March 29th, 2024, 1:23 pm

Funky lua call behavior

Discuss the use of Lua in Script measures.
dglexie

Funky lua call behavior

Post by dglexie »

Hi all,

I have some interpreter behavior I'm having a hard time understanding and looking to find some help. If I get this I think I'll have the key to understanding this language. First -- just so you know -- I'm a long retired developer who did the assembler/COBOL/Pascal/C route along with all the usual Unix scripting languages. No object-oriented stuff. So I prefer using old-school techniques -- old dog vs tricks thing. But if I have to go new "new school" I'll bite the bullet.

I want to convert a unix datestamp in the simplest way possible. Since we know there is no format call for doing this I decided to use lua to write a very simple function. Just pass it a dt string and it returns the hour and minutes. The lua script works fine -- I get consistent results from it.

So I'm not passing on any full scripts here as this is really a "philosophical" and/or technique question. I want to avoid working with variables that are outside of the lua script -- just pass it a value and it returns a converted value. What am I not understanding about the interpreter here?

This *test* statement sends a unix datetimestamp to the script. It returns exactly what the script was written to do. The statement is exactly how I coded in the rainmeter script (it's in the meter linked to the webparser measure that returns the value):

Text=[&Lua:ConvertEpochTimestamp(1590518074)]

DynamicVariables=1

After call text value is 02:34 PM