It is currently April 25th, 2024, 5:36 am

Trying to delete specific multiple lines in a file.

Discuss the use of Lua in Script measures.
Dan

Trying to delete specific multiple lines in a file.

Post by Dan »

Hi,

I'm trying to remove a few specific contiguous lines in a .inc file. I know how the first line starts and how the last line ends, i do not know the line-numbers.
I wanted to use the gsub method to match and replace those lines with ""(nothing), and save the file. Here is how i tried to do this:

Code: Select all

Meterfile=io.open("C:\\Users\\SomeUser\\Documents\\Rainmeter\\Skins\\Currentskin\\FileToBeEdited.inc","r");
Meterfile=Meterfile:gsub("%[Result"..MeterToBeRemoved.."Meter%][%s%S]*Y=.*","");
io.close(Meterfile);
I get the following error : "attempt to call method 'gsub' (a nil value)"

Is the patternmatching i used incorrect? I'm new to lua and struggling to get through the lua documentation, it would be very kind if someone could point me in the right direction. Thanks
iNjUST

Re: Trying to delete specific multiple lines in a file.

Post by iNjUST »

My initial guess (from a lua newbie): try string.gsub instead.
jsmorley
Developer

Post by jsmorley »

Dan,

You have a bit of a misunderstanding of what a file handle is.

When you open a file with:

fileHandle = io.open('FileName', 'r')

That just "opens" the file for "read", and sets an internal handle, a "pointer" in a sense, of "fileHandle" to that file. That way any file actions you take using that handle take place on that file.

Opening the file with io.open in no way actually "reads" the file, and by no means are the contents of the file ever loaded in the variable fileHandle for you to do gsub on... fileHandle is just an internal numeric "pointer" to the file.

What you will want is a bit more involved than what you have, but not rocket science.

First, here is a text file called Sample.inc that has some Rainmeter "sections" in it:

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1