It is currently April 26th, 2024, 6:00 am

Newbie

Introduce yourself to the Rainmeter community!
Aman89
Posts: 1
Joined: August 22nd, 2010, 2:40 am

Newbie

Post by Aman89 »

Hi, I'm new,...obviously. I've been messing around with a few programs all day. I found this really cool desktop vid on youtube in which this guy used madotate, object dock, rainmeter, and one other program I forgot the name of. Madotate is awesome by the way and using Visage with everything is fantastic.

The programming style of rainmeter is amazing, really user friendly, easy to understand. Yet, I am having a problem locating the folder in which I can save a widget I created. I saw a website where a Dock image was created in photoshop so I made my own Dock and changed all the Images into .bmp since I used Paint instead of PhotoShop.

I'm pretty sure my computer must have the icon images, though I'm now assuming they are .jpeg and not .bmp. I did save my Dock as a .bmp. though. Anyway, I can mess around with that later if it doesn't work the first roung.

I created a My Dock folder and within it, a Links folder with all the associated shortcuts. But how do I save this as a template if that's what I need to do...because I don't see a 'create new template' button anywhere so far. Where do I save it so it will run? This is my configuration:

Code: Select all

;=================================================
; Rainmeter configuration file
; Updated August 21, 2010
;=================================================

;[BEGIN CONFIG FILE]==============================

[Rainmeter]
Author=Jeffrey Morley
Update=100

[Variables]
LINKS="C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Skins\MyDock\Links\"

[MeterBackground]
Meter=IMAGE
X=0
y=0
W=242
H=65
ImageName=images\Dock.bmp

;[BUTTONS]====================================

[MeterCOMPUTER_BUTTON]
Meter=BUTTON
X=15
Y=8
ButtonCommand=!Execute ["#LINKS#computer.lnk"]

[MeterCDRIVE_BUTTON]
Meter=BUTTON
X=5R
Y=8
ButtonCommand=!Execute ["#LINKS#cdrive.lnk"]

[MeterDOCUMENTS_BUTTON]
Meter=BUTTON
X=5R
Y=8
ButtonCommand=!Execute ["#LINKS#documents.lnk"]

[MeterINTERNETEXPLORER_BUTTON]
Meter=BUTTON
X=5R
Y=8
ButtonCommand=!Execute ["#LINKS#internetexplorer.lnk"]

;[ICONS]=======================================

[MeterCOMPUTER_ICON]
Meter=IMAGE
X=21
Y=15
H=32
W=32
ImageName=Images\icon_computer.bmp

[MeterCDRIVE_ICON]
Meter=IMAGE
X=24R
Y=15
H=32
W=32
ImageName=Images\icon_cdrive.bmp

[MeterDOCUMENTS_ICON]
Meter=IMAGE
X=24R
Y=15
H=32
W=32
ImageName=Images\icon_documents.bmp

[MeterINTERNETEXPLORER_ICON]
Meter=IMAGE
X=21R
Y=15
H=32
W=35
ImageName=Images\icon_internetexplorer.bmp
End Config.
Woah, this screen is freaking out. Might wanna check your scrool configerations. Thank you for your help!
~Aman
Last edited by jsmorley on August 22nd, 2010, 3:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited to use [code][/code] for code display
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22630
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Newbie

Post by jsmorley »

On the "screen freaking out" front, I'm betting you are using a nightly build of Firefox?