It is currently November 15th, 2018, 7:20 am

New to Rainmeter

Introduce yourself to the Rainmeter community!
Roger24
Posts: 5
Joined: April 13th, 2018, 5:32 pm

New to Rainmeter

Roger24 » April 13th, 2018, 7:04 pm

Hi everyone I'm a 70 year old transplanted Brit (Canadian Citizen 37 yrs) I found Rainmeter about a Month ago and love Rainmeter. I have managed to make some simple Skins basically cobbling together other peoples work and also using Illustro skins to see how they work I am totally frustrated trying to get my CPU GPU Combined skin to work. Initially I cut and pasted a CPU temperature And Fan speed skin into my own skin and set it from Speedfan's settings and after many editing hours back and forth it worked, I was very pleased! So I made a separate skin for GPU and Fan. GPU temp works but whatever I tried could not get Fan speed to work Speedfan shows my ATI PCI bus video card and set numbers as Speedfan shows, but whatever I did just shows %0 ( speed fans #) whatever # I changed it to showed that #. I decided to forget about fan speed for a while and then Cobbled a couple of new Skins, that after a huge amount of hours worked. I then decided to put both skins together and now GPU temp doesn't work. I really could use some help to figure out my errors, so if anyone could help an old fart out I would be very very grateful. Sincerely Roger. roger24@bell.net PS I'm not on any other media.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New to Rainmeter

fonpaolo » April 13th, 2018, 8:00 pm

Welcome aboard Roger24, be aware that Rainmeter can be quite addictive. ;) :D

I use SpeedFan, so maybe I can help, can you please post a screenshot of your SpeedFan "Exotics" panel?
...and of course the part of your code you think needs some overview, paste it using the Code tag.
Roger24
Posts: 5
Joined: April 13th, 2018, 5:32 pm

Re: New to Rainmeter

Roger24 » April 13th, 2018, 9:10 pm

Sorry I don't know how to add screen shot to this [/img]

Code: Select all

Plugin=Plugin\SpeedFanPlugin.dll
SpeedFanType=Temperature
SpeedFanNumber=0
SpeedFanScale=C

[MeasureCPUTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugin\SpeedFanPlugin.dll
SpeedFanType=Temperature
SpeedFanNumber=1
SpeedFanScale=C

[MeasureFanSpeed]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugin\SpeedFanPlugin.dll
SpeedFanType=Fan
SpeedFanNumber=1

[MeterSpeedFan]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureCPUTemp
MeasureName2=MeasureFanSpeed
MeasureName=MeasureGPUTemp
FontSize=9
FontColor=255,255,255,255
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
Text=CPU Temp: %1#CRLF#Fan Speed: %290#CRLF#GPU Temp: %0[quote][/quote]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New to Rainmeter

fonpaolo » April 14th, 2018, 7:39 am

For what I can understand, you should have:
- Fan 0, CPU temperature;
- Fan1, Aux1 temperature;
- Fan2, Aux2 temperature;
- Fan3, GPU temperature;
- Fan4, CPU fan speed (not used);
- Fan5, GPU fan speed (not used);

There's something I can consider at least "weird" with the speed of your fans, I don't know what you were doing when you took your screenshot, however, with a seemingly very low temperature, both CPU and GPU fans, but especially your GPU, they're quite high, considering a normal fan has 4000 rpm as maximum speed...
To be sure that you're using the correct values, open SpeedFan, click on "Configure", select "Fans" and look at the values there, first label is Fan0, second is Fan1 and so on, these are the fans to use in your measures.

As a side note, you should use Plugin=SpeedFanPlugin in your measures instead of:
[strike]Plugin=Plugin\SpeedFanPlugin.dll[/strike]

I hope this could help.
Roger24
Posts: 5
Joined: April 13th, 2018, 5:32 pm

Re: New to Rainmeter

Roger24 » April 14th, 2018, 1:56 pm

Hi Fonpaolo thank you so much for your advice, I've got three working and am about to see if I can successfully introduce a GPU Fan. The CPU Fan Speed is OK if you disregard the last two digits, I am going to disable Q Fan in my Asus Bios and see if that's the culprit. Here is the latest .Ini every thing works

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1

[Metadata]
Name=
Author=
Information=
Version=
License=Creative Commons Attribution - Non - Commercial - Share Alike 3.0

[Variables]


[MeterString]
Meter=String

Draggable=1

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=0,0,0,255

[MeasureGPUTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SpeedFanPlugin
SpeedFanType=Temperature
SpeedFanNumber=0
SpeedFanScale=C

[MeasureCPUTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SpeedFanPlugin
SpeedFanType=Temperature
SpeedFanNumber=1
SpeedFanScale=C

[MeasureFanSpeed]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SpeedFanPlugin
SpeedFanType=Fan
SpeedFanNumber=1

[MeterSpeedFan]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureCPUTemp
MeasureName2=MeasureFanSpeed
MeasureName3=MeasureGPUTemp
FontSize=9
FontColor=255,255,255,255
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
Text=CPU Temp: %1#CRLF#Fan Speed: %290#CRLF#GPU Temp: %3
Last edited by fonpaolo on April 14th, 2018, 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please use the [Code] tags to display your code.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New to Rainmeter

fonpaolo » April 14th, 2018, 2:23 pm

I'm glad you solved your problems. :17good

Probably Q Fan could be the cause of those strange values, normally CPU and GPU have a maximum fan speed of 4000 rpm, 2000 for system and chassis fans.
I too have an Asus motherboard, but I've never enabled Q Fan, even if, many times, I use all the "available power" with 3D programs.

Looking at your code, you need to clean something:
1- You have two Rainmeter sections

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
...and

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
2- This meter isn't required

Code: Select all

[MeterString]
Meter=String
It's useful only if you have an ini file without any measure or meter in it.

3- You can also remove

Code: Select all

Draggable=1
Since it's used in Rainmeter ini, where the settings of all the skins are stored.

4- Here
Text=CPU Temp: %1#CRLF#Fan Speed: %2[color=#FF0000]90[/color]#CRLF#GPU Temp: %3
That "90" is a typo?
Roger24
Posts: 5
Joined: April 13th, 2018, 5:32 pm

Re: New to Rainmeter

Roger24 » April 14th, 2018, 11:47 pm

Hi Paolo I can't thank you enough for your help, did everything you suggested. The 290 I got from Speedfan/Configure/Fans. I changed it to 2 and now the speed shows only 4 numbers I think it tacked on the 90 at the end. I am trying to get the GPU fan speed and have tried loads of combinations looking at Exotics as you suggested would look to be 4 or 5 but nothing from 1 - 10
works. The old addage a little learning is a dangerous thing suits me to a `T`. This is the latest Much Regards Roger.

Code: Select all


[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1

[Metadata]
Name=
Author=
Information=
Version=
License=Creative Commons Attribution - Non - Commercial - Share Alike 3.0

[Variables]



[MeasureGPUTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SpeedFanPlugin
SpeedFanType=Temperature
SpeedFanNumber=0
SpeedFanScale=C

[MeasureGPUFanSpeed]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SpeedFanPlugin
SpeedFanType=Fan
SpeedFanNumber=5

[MeasureCPUTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SpeedFanPlugin
SpeedFanType=Temperature
SpeedFanNumber=1
SpeedFanScale=C

[MeasureCPUFanSpeed]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SpeedFanPlugin
SpeedFanType=Fan
SpeedFanNumber=1

[MeterSpeedFan]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureCPUTemp
MeasureName2=MeasureCPUFanSpeed
MeasureName3=MeasureGPUTemp
MeasureName4=MeasureGPUFanSpeed
FontSize=9
FontColor=255,255,255,255
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
Text=CPU Temp: %1#CRLF#Fan Speed: %2#CRLF#GPU Temp: %3#CRLF#GPU Fan Speed: %4




User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New to Rainmeter

fonpaolo » April 15th, 2018, 12:15 pm

I'm glad of the constant improvements of your skin. (Addiction is becoming strong... ;-) )

For your problem with GPU fan, as I said before, open SpeedFan, click on "Configure", select "Fans" and look at the values there.
Based on my experiences, I know that GPU fans are very difficult to read with SpeedFan, so, if there's a value in "Fans", you can use that, if there is no value, you can try to create it in "Fan Control" enabling "Advanced fan control" and trying to add a new GPU fan.

For example, in my system, I don't have a GPU fan and in no way I can create one, as far as I know.
Roger24
Posts: 5
Joined: April 13th, 2018, 5:32 pm

Re: New to Rainmeter

Roger24 » April 16th, 2018, 6:45 pm

Well, I tried to get a value from speed fan for GPU Fan but no luck, so for the time being I'm going to spend some time on a new skin, and maybe periodically investigate the GPU Fan. Once again thanks for your help, it's definitely been a learning experience for me. Much regards Roger.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New to Rainmeter

fonpaolo » April 16th, 2018, 7:07 pm

I'm glad you're having fun with Rainmeter, as I said, it's very addictive, once you've started it's hard to stop.