It is currently October 15th, 2019, 10:42 pm

font name error message

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
r3ginald
Posts: 13
Joined: June 12th, 2009, 6:45 pm
Location: California

font name error message

r3ginald » June 24th, 2009, 10:06 am

what would be the reason for getting the error message:

"unable to create font: <font name>"
My Tumblog
Everything I have made is located at my blog. Visit for my latest updates, skins, themes/etc.
-------------------------------------
TEAM V.I.S.O.R.
devART
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1286
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: font name error message

dragonmage » June 24th, 2009, 10:49 am

My guess would be a mistyped variable. Search the .ini for <font name> or font name.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19557
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: font name error message

jsmorley » June 24th, 2009, 2:38 pm

Yep... Look for anything having to do with the fonts (face, size, color, style etc.) in your meters. Particularly look for things where are variable is being used Fontface=#FontFace# and then check that it matches what is in the [Variables] section of the .ini at the top.

[Variables]
FontFace=Tahoma

[MeterName]
FontFace=#FontName#

This will cause exactly the error you are getting.
jpra110
Posts: 3
Joined: March 16th, 2010, 7:45 am

Re: font name error message

jpra110 » March 16th, 2010, 7:47 am

Same error :S cant fixit i try and try and nothing some help?
wasky1
Posts: 128
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 8:26 am

Re: font name error message

wasky1 » March 16th, 2010, 8:06 am

you may need quotes

[Variables]
Fontname="Trebuchet MS"

[Meter]
FontFace="#Fontname#"
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 522
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: font name error message

maminscris » March 16th, 2010, 8:09 am

jpra110 wrote:Same error :S cant fixit i try and try and nothing some help?
on what skin are you getting that error
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19557
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: font name error message

jsmorley » March 16th, 2010, 1:31 pm

wasky1 wrote:you may need quotes

[Variables]
Fontname="Trebuchet MS"

[Meter]
FontFace="#Fontname#"
You don't need quotes on the font.
jpra110
Posts: 3
Joined: March 16th, 2010, 7:45 am

Re: font name error message

jpra110 » March 16th, 2010, 8:31 pm

here is the part of the code that crash in that error, some help? I will appreciate, thanks
[Rainmeter]
Author=dinozaur1982
;-------------------
;Metadata added by RainBrowser
;http://rainmeter.net/RainWiki/index.php?title=Rainmeter_101#.5BMetadata.5D

[Metadata]
Name=
Config=
Description=
Instructions=
Version=
Tags=
License=
Variant=
Preview=

;End of added Metadata

[MeterSquareb]
Meter=Image
X=2
Y=2
W=188
H=65
SolidColor=0, 0, 0,60

[MeterSquareb1]
Meter=Image
X=2
Y=69
W=115
H=20
SolidColor=0, 0, 0,120
;------------------------
[MeterSquare1]
Meter=Image
X=2
Y=89
W=188
H=2
SolidColor=0, 0, 0,255

[MeterSquare2]
Meter=Image
X=2
Y=0
W=188
H=2
SolidColor=0, 0, 0,255

[MeterSquare3]
Meter=Image
X=2
Y=67
W=188
H=2
SolidColor=0, 0, 0,255

[MeterSquare4]
Meter=Image
X=0
Y=0
W=2
H=91
SolidColor=0, 0, 0,255

[MeterSquare5]
Meter=Image
X=190
Y=0
W=2
H=91
SolidColor=0, 0, 0,255

[MeterSquare6]
Meter=Image
X=117
Y=69
W=2
H=20
SolidColor=0, 0, 0,255
;------------------------

[MeterSquareh2]
Meter=Image
X=192
Y=40
W=20
H=2
SolidColor=0, 0, 0,255
;-------------------------TIME-------

[MeasureTime]
Measure=Time

[MeasureTimeH]
Measure=Time
Format="%H"

[MeasureTimeM]
Measure=Time
Format=":%M"

[MeasureTimeS]
Measure=Time
Format=":%S"
;-------------------------
[MeterTimeH]
MeasureName=MeasureTimeH
Meter=STRING
X=0
Y=0
FontColor=255, 250, 250
FontSize=40
FontFace=Impact
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1

[MeterTimeM]
MeasureName=MeasureTimeM
Meter=STRING
X=60
Y=0
FontColor=255, 250, 250
FontSize=40
FontFace=Impact
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1

[MeterTimeS]
MeasureName=MeasureTimeS
Meter=STRING
X=133
Y=20
FontColor=255, 250, 250
FontSize=25
FontFace=Impact
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
;-----------------------DATE--------
[MeasureDate]
Measure=Time
Format=%d

[MeasureMonth]
Measure=Time
Format=%B
Substitute="January":"JAN","February":"FEB","March":"MAR","April":"APR","May":"MAY","June":"JUN","July":"JUL","August":"AUG","September":"SEP","October":"OCT","November":"NOv","December":"DEC"

[MeasureDay]
Measure=Time
Format=%A
Substitute="Monday":"MONDAY","Tuesday":"TUESDAY","Wednesday":"WEDNESDAY","Thursday":"THURSDAY","Friday":"FRIDAY","Saturday":"SATURDAY","Sunday":"SUNDAY"

[MeasureYear]
Measure=Time
Format=%Y
;-----------------------------


[MeterMonth]
MeasureName=MeasureMonth
Meter=STRING
X=65
Y=69
FontColor=0, 0, 0,255
FontSize=14
FontFace=Trebuchet MS
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1

[MeterDay]
MeasureName=MeasureDay
Meter=STRING
X=25
Y=68
FontColor=0, 0, 0,255
FontSize=0
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
FontFace=Trebuchet MS
[MeterYear]
MeasureName=MeasureYear
Meter=STRING
X=130
Y=69
FontColor=0, 0, 0,255
FontSize=14
FontFace=Trebuchet MS
StringStyle=Bold
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Normal
AntiAlias=1
User avatar
JamesAC
Developer
Posts: 327
Joined: July 14th, 2009, 5:57 pm

Re: font name error message

JamesAC » March 16th, 2010, 10:06 pm

I think your problem is here:

Code: Select all

[MeterDay]
MeasureName=MeasureDay
Meter=STRING
X=25
Y=68
FontColor=0, 0, 0,255
FontSize=0
StringAlign=LEFT
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
FontFace=Trebuchet MS
You need to change the font size to be above 0
+++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
jpra110
Posts: 3
Joined: March 16th, 2010, 7:45 am

Re: font name error message

jpra110 » March 17th, 2010, 4:58 pm

Thanks man!! sorry for my nwbie mistakes!