It is currently November 15th, 2019, 3:55 am

Need help with enigma skin

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
gizmo3_3_3
Posts: 5
Joined: June 8th, 2010, 3:56 am

Need help with enigma skin

gizmo3_3_3 » June 8th, 2010, 4:00 am

Hi, i'm currently using rainmeter and I wanted to know if it was possible to have an image (right now it is a .ico file, but i can change it) as the app name for a laucher instead of normal text and if so how do i modify the config to do so?
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 648
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Need help with enigma skin

Alex2539 » June 8th, 2010, 6:01 am

That would require a pretty big change to the skin's code. It might be better if you instead created your own skin for this. Launchers are some of the simplest skins to make using Rainmeter. I suggest checking out Rainmeter 101 (especially the skin tutorials) to get you started on how skins actually work, then read THIS TOPIC for more specific information on how to make a simple launcher using buttons.
ImageImageImageImage
gizmo3_3_3
Posts: 5
Joined: June 8th, 2010, 3:56 am

Re: Need help with enigma skin

gizmo3_3_3 » June 8th, 2010, 3:43 pm

Ok well I tried something out, but i have a little problem. When i try to save it as a .ini file it does not work. What do i have to do? I can only save it as a .txt file. I even tried copying another .ini file and replacing the code and saving but it still does not work. Any ideas?
User avatar
JpsCrazy
Posts: 690
Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: Need help with enigma skin

JpsCrazy » June 8th, 2010, 3:46 pm

When you go to save, make sure you click 'Save As...' then change 'Save as type' to 'All Files'. Then just add .ini to the end of the title of your skin.
gizmo3_3_3
Posts: 5
Joined: June 8th, 2010, 3:56 am

Re: Need help with enigma skin

gizmo3_3_3 » June 8th, 2010, 3:53 pm

That's exactly what I do but it says that it cannot create the file. Also, when I try other things it just won't save at all. Do you think there might be a problem with my note pad because i can't even save it as a .txt file. When i click save it does nothing and the save window stays there.


EDIT : Nevermind, i saved it somewhere else and put it in the irght place after and it worked fine.
User avatar
JpsCrazy
Posts: 690
Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: Need help with enigma skin

JpsCrazy » June 8th, 2010, 4:02 pm

That's weird, to say the least.
Try restarting and see if you can save a regular .txt.

If that doesn't fix it.. well.
Scan your disk for errors. (If you have XP, right click on your main drive (C: usually), click tools and click Check Now... under Error-Checking. Make sure to check both boxes.)

Otherwise google it or wait for a better response from someone else. :P
gizmo3_3_3
Posts: 5
Joined: June 8th, 2010, 3:56 am

Re: Need help with enigma skin

gizmo3_3_3 » June 8th, 2010, 4:17 pm

Yeah well I managed to save it, but my images were in .ico format and when I used the code in the link in the first reply it says that it cannot find the bitmap image. Do i have to use a bitmap image and if so how do I get transparency?
    EDIT : I've found the solution, my buttons work and everything but there's only one problem left. I can't find where to click so I can drag them to my taskbar. Is there another way to move them besides dragging them?
    User avatar
    JpsCrazy
    Posts: 690
    Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
    Location: NY, USA

    Re: Need help with enigma skin

    JpsCrazy » June 8th, 2010, 6:18 pm

    Two ways:
    I'm assuming you use LeftMouseDownAction
    Change it to LeftMouseUpAction.
    You'll be able to drag it.

    Or, make a another meter, something like:
    [MeterTemp]
    Meter=Image
    SolidColor=50,50,50
    W=50
    H=50

    and then refresh the skin.
    You can drag that, then either delete that code or add Hidden=1 to just hide it.


    Alternatively, in the Rainmeter Config file (Rainmeter.ini I believe) you can change the X and Y of your config in the list of every config you've ever used (unless you update it).
    gizmo3_3_3
    Posts: 5
    Joined: June 8th, 2010, 3:56 am

    Re: Need help with enigma skin

    gizmo3_3_3 » June 8th, 2010, 7:08 pm

    This is what i have right now :

    ;=================================================
    ; Rainmeter configuration file
    ; Updated June 8, 2010
    ;=================================================

    ;[BEGIN CONFIG FILE]==============================

    [Rainmeter]
    Author=G1zmo
    Update=100

    ;[BUTTONS]====================================


    [MeterDOWNLOADS_BUTTON]
    Meter=BUTTON
    X=15
    Y=8
    ButtonImage=images\downloadsdot.png
    ButtonCommand=!Execute ["C:\Users\David\Downloads"]


    [MeterDOCUMENTS_BUTTON]
    Meter=BUTTON
    X=5R
    Y=8
    ButtonImage=images\documentsdot.png
    ButtonCommand=!Execute ["C:\Users\David\Documents"]


    [MeterMUSIC_BUTTON]

    Meter=BUTTON
    X=5R
    Y=8
    ButtonImage=images\musicdot.png
    ButtonCommand=!Execute ["C:\Users\David\Music"]

    [MeterVIDEOS_BUTTON]

    Meter=BUTTON
    X=5R
    Y=8
    ButtonImage=images\videosdot.png
    ButtonCommand=!Execute ["C:\Users\David\Videos"]

    [MeterPICTURES_BUTTON]

    Meter=BUTTON
    X=5R
    Y=8
    ButtonImage=images\picturesdot.png
    ButtonCommand=!Execute ["C:\Users\David\Pictures"]





    I can see it in the top left corner, i just cant move it.
    User avatar
    Chewtoy
    Moderator
    Posts: 1010
    Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
    Location: Sweden

    Re: Need help with enigma skin

    Chewtoy » June 8th, 2010, 10:49 pm

    Make sure it is marked as "Draggable".
    Rightclick -> Skin menu -> Check 'Draggable'z
    Try moving it.
    I don't think, therefore I'm not.