It is currently April 26th, 2024, 12:58 am

Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
SirVictory
Posts: 2
Joined: June 1st, 2010, 4:05 pm

Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Post by SirVictory »

Hello Guys! I'm new here!
Anyway, I am working on a Mockup of Ubuntu Netbook Edition's Shell: (This is the actual thing, not mine lol)


I'm Trying to figure out how to make the Font become bold when I hover over the words or the BOX Behind it.
This is how I set it up:

Code: Select all

[Favorites]
Meter=Strimg
X=100
Y=165
W=105
FontFace=Arial
FontColor=ffffff
StringStyle=NORMAL
StringAlign=CENTER
Text="Favorites"
MouseOverAction= StringStyle=Bold ;I'm Pretty sure the error is occuring here
But the text
What am I doing wrong? Amd how Can I make it so it will perform the same action for that object(meter) if I hover over another?
Last edited by dragonmage on June 2nd, 2010, 4:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed img tags to hsimg, for large images.
User avatar
smurfier
Moderator
Posts: 1931
Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
Location: Willmar, MN

Re: Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Post by smurfier »

Try this:

Code: Select all

[Variables]
T.Bold=NORMAL

[mtString]
Meter=String
Text="Test"
StringStyle=#T.Bold#
MouseOverAction=!Execute [!RainmeterSetVariable T.Bold "BOLD"][!RainmeterRedraw]
MouseLeaveAction=!Execute [!RainmeterSetVariable T.Bold "NORMAL"][!RainmeterRedraw]
DynamicVariables=1
Just a quick concept.
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
SirVictory
Posts: 2
Joined: June 1st, 2010, 4:05 pm

Re: Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Post by SirVictory »

Thank you so much. I have another question (as I may have many more) There is a bit of a lag to it. Do I need to adjust the Update? Or is there another way? And can I draw a Rounded Box with an Outline? Or should I just make a images and use that method?
poiru
Developer
Posts: 2872
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Re: Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Post by poiru »

Use something like:

Code: Select all

[FavoritesN]
Meter=String
X=100
Y=165
W=105
FontFace=Arial
FontColor=ffffff
StringStyle=NORMAL
StringAlign=CENTER
SolidColor=00000001
Text="Favorites"
MouseOverAction=!Execute [!RainmeterHideMeter FavoritesN][!RainmeterShowMeter FavoritesB][!RainmeterRedraw]

[FavoritesB]
Meter=String
X=100
Y=165
W=105
FontFace=Arial
FontColor=ffffff
StringStyle=BOLD
StringAlign=CENTER
SolidColor=00000001
Text="Favorites"
MouseLeaveAction=!Execute [!RainmeterHideMeter FavoritesB][!RainmeterShowMeter FavoritesN][!RainmeterRedraw]
Hidden=1
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Post by dragonmage »

You'll need to use images for rounded rectangles.
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 995
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Post by Chewtoy »

dragonmage wrote:You'll need to use images for rounded rectangles.
Or roundline and square images. But that's more work then you get out of it.
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Post by dragonmage »

Chewtoy wrote: Or roundline and square images. But that's more work then you get out of it.
Couldn't do an outline that way.
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 995
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Post by Chewtoy »

dragonmage wrote: Couldn't do an outline that way.
Yes you can. But it takes "more work then you get out of it." Double the meters, have them of by 1-2px. Outline.
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Make Text Bold By Hovering over it.

Post by dragonmage »

Ok, you could do it. If you were completely insane.

I think however he wants rounded corners, not rounded ends. I know you could do that also but it would require 18 meters per button, so it just makes more sense to say "No."