It is currently October 26th, 2021, 11:13 am

Show skin only after having all values loaded

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
LazieWouters
Posts: 61
Joined: August 29th, 2021, 11:11 am

Show skin only after having all values loaded

Post by LazieWouters »

Hello,

how do I get a skin only to be displayed after the values of the meters are all loaded?

I have a skin that displays weather data, and when this skin is loaded it takes about 0.5 to 1 second to download the data from the weather site so this data is displayed. During this time period of 0.5 to 1 second the graphics are all wrong as their values are still null or empty. So I would like the skin not to be visible during this period.
Or if anyone has another suggestion that might fix or work around this issue.
Thanks.
Untitled-1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22374
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Show skin only after having all values loaded

Post by jsmorley »

I think the most straightforward way, that involves the least amount of changes to the code, is to:

1) Right-click the Rainmeter tray icon and "Edit Settings"
2) Find the [ConfigName] section for your skin and add StartHidden=1 to the section.
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/settings/skin-sections/#StartHidden
3) Edit the skin, and find the "parent" WebParser measure that is getting the data.
4) To that measure section add FinishAction=[!Show]
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/webparser/#FinishAction

Save it all and restart Rainmeter.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1629
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Show skin only after having all values loaded

Post by SilverAzide »

LazieWouters wrote: August 29th, 2021, 11:20 am Hello,

how do I get a skin only to be displayed after the values of the meters are all loaded?

I have a skin that displays weather data, and when this skin is loaded it takes about 0.5 to 1 second to download the data from the weather site so this data is displayed. During this time period of 0.5 to 1 second the graphics are all wrong as their values are still null or empty. So I would like the skin not to be visible during this period.
Or if anyone has another suggestion that might fix or work around this issue.
Thanks.
And please post where you got all these cool skins from! :)
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
CodeCode
Posts: 708
Joined: September 7th, 2020, 2:24 pm
Location: QLD, Australia

Re: Show skin only after having all values loaded

Post by CodeCode »

SilverAzide wrote: August 29th, 2021, 3:16 pm And please post where you got all these cool skins from! :)
Sorry, but would also be grateful for these skins url or an attached .rmskin file. :D
ƈǟռ'ȶ ʄɨӼ ɨȶ ɨʄ ɨȶ ǟɨռ'ȶ ɮʀօӄɛ - ʊռʟɛֆֆ ɨȶ ɨֆ ɨռ ƈօɖɛ.
User avatar
death.crafter
Posts: 1070
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: Show skin only after having all values loaded

Post by death.crafter »

jsmorley wrote: August 29th, 2021, 11:33 am 2) Find the [ConfigName] section for your skin and add StartHidden=1 to the section.
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/settings/skin-sections/#StartHidden
Another way would be OnRefreshAction=[!Hide]

As you see, for new users it might be hard to follow the intricacies of finding the Rainmeter.ini and then the required config(even I get a hard time, so I just delete it, in case I get in to a loop which crashes Rainmeter, instead of finding the conifg and changing Active=0) and then changing the required values, or adding it.
from the Realm of Death
My Current Desktop
User avatar
LazieWouters
Posts: 61
Joined: August 29th, 2021, 11:11 am

Re: Show skin only after having all values loaded

Post by LazieWouters »

It's not quite ready yet, but I can provide the zipped file with the skins if anyone wants... I don't know how to make the installation package yet.
Skins are based on these other skins: ASTROWeatherAPI, SteamCalendar, Shadow Clock, lottaweather. So in advance I thank their creators.
It is also necessary to have the Chameleon plugin installed.

So if anyone is interested just say so I'll post the zip here in a few days.
Teste.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1629
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Show skin only after having all values loaded

Post by SilverAzide »

Really nice! :thumbup: I've never seen that SteamCalendar skin before. It would be great to package it all up and post it at some point.

To build an installation package is pretty simple. In the Rainmeter Manager dialog, click the "Create .rmskin package" button. You can pick the skin, all the plugins and add whatever additional info you need and you are done. Full docs are here. The advantage of building an .rmskin instead of a zip is that you can include whatever plugins your skin requires, and Rainmeter will install them properly.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...