It is currently April 19th, 2024, 12:22 am

space between skins

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
death.crafter
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1399
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: space between skins

Post by death.crafter »

Yincognito wrote: August 5th, 2021, 11:59 pm How do I know where the parent skin is in my custom tooltip skin approach, so I can position the latter next to the former, and even follow it as I drag the former around the screen (check the preview GIF)? Same principle here.
No need for a plugin, cause it's already there, and I said it earlier as well (well, not in terms of specifics, but anyway)...in schematics:

- in the 2nd config paste something along these lines:

Code: Select all

[SomeMeasure2]
...
OnUpdateAction=[!SetVariable Config2X [#CURRENTCONFIGX] "Config1"][!SetVariable Config2Y [#CURRENTCONFIGY] "Config1"][!SetVariable Config2W [#CURRENTCONFIGWIDTH] "Config1"][!SetVariable Config2H [#CURRENTCONFIGHEIGHT] "Config1"][!UpdateMeasure SomeMeasure1 "Config1"]
DynamicVariables=1
LMAO, I did it in custom context menu my self, how could I forget lol.

Yeah you win this time. :rolmfao:
from the Realm of Death
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7125
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: space between skins

Post by Yincognito »

death.crafter wrote: August 6th, 2021, 2:36 pmLMAO, I did it in custom context menu my self, how could I forget lol.
Precisely - that was what I was wondering as well...
death.crafter wrote: August 6th, 2021, 2:36 pmYeah you win this time. :rolmfao:
8-) Hopefully the OP would win as well, assuming he can figure out how to use those coordinates to reach his goal. Still think a Rainmeter-wide application of this is a bit overkill though.
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
Judian81
Posts: 180
Joined: May 6th, 2021, 2:57 pm

Re: space between skins

Post by Judian81 »

hey hello thanks for the responces.

i had found out a way to do what i wanted to have.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
;DynamicWindowSize=1
AccurateText=1
Background=#CURRENTPATH#Theme\Background3.png
BackgroundMode=3

[Variables]
;making a border around the skin
paddingLeft=10
paddingTop=10
paddingRight=10
paddingBottom=10
;form height and width
formWidth=200
formHeight=200

;--------------------STYLE--------------------

[styleCenter]
FontColor=160,160,160,205
StringStyle=Bold
StringAlign=Center
FontFace=Trebuchet MS
FontSize=10
AntiAlias=1
StringCase=None
StringEffect=Shadow
FontEffectColor=0,0,0,50

;--------------------METER--------------------

[meterBG]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Rectangle 1,1,#formWidth#,#formHeight#,5 | Fill Color 0,0,0,130 | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Extend StrokeAlpha
StrokeAlpha=Stroke Color 100,100,100,255
Meter=Shape2
Shape2=Rectangle 2,2,(#formWidth#-2),34,5 | Fill Color 0,0,0,130 | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Extend StrokeAlpha2
StrokeAlpha2=Stroke Color 10,9,9,255
Padding=#paddingLeft#,#paddingTop#,#paddingRight#,#paddingBottom#

[meterTitle]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleCenter
Y=(12+#paddingTop#)
X=(100+#paddingLeft#)
W=(200+#paddingLeft#+#paddingRight#)
H=22
Text="Skin of Shapes"
this effect is what i wanted to create. one day i want to develope a border arround the skin. like a branch. i am more likely to create code then real grapic art but oke.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
death.crafter
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1399
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: space between skins

Post by death.crafter »

Judian81 wrote: August 6th, 2021, 5:24 pm this effect is what i wanted to create. one day i want to develope a border arround the skin. like a branch. i am more likely to create code then real grapic art but oke.
Wait what?

I wonder what you actually want or wanted to do?
from the Realm of Death
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7125
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: space between skins

Post by Yincognito »

death.crafter wrote: August 6th, 2021, 5:30 pm Wait what?

I wonder what you actually want or wanted to do?
:rolmfao: Well, at least I won, right? :lol:
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7125
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: space between skins

Post by Yincognito »

Judian81 wrote: August 6th, 2021, 5:24 pm hey hello thanks for the responces.
[...]
i had found out a way to do what i wanted to have.
this effect is what i wanted to create. one day i want to develope a border arround the skin. like a branch. i am more likely to create code then real grapic art but oke.
Excellent - I had a feeling you were after the padding thing. Just so you know, that padding isn't really required, you could have created a smaller rectangle inside of a larger one, with the difference acting like a padding, since skins will (usually) "snap to the edges" of one another.
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
Judian81
Posts: 180
Joined: May 6th, 2021, 2:57 pm

Re: space between skins

Post by Judian81 »

Yincognito wrote: August 6th, 2021, 5:55 pm Excellent - I had a feeling you were after the padding thing. Just so you know, that padding isn't really required, you could have created a smaller rectangle inside of a larger one, with the difference acting like a padding, since skins will (usually) "snap to the edges" of one another.
thanks for the compliments.
i do not realy understand what you want to tell me. the thing is the background is always the total skin right?
so when i use a skin from somebody else. and want to make a border around it. i have to move all the information more to the right.

if have made an example skin so you can see.
padding.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7125
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: space between skins

Post by Yincognito »

Judian81 wrote: August 9th, 2021, 5:44 am thanks for the compliments.
i do not realy understand what you want to tell me. the thing is the background is always the total skin right?
so when i use a skin from somebody else. and want to make a border around it. i have to move all the information more to the right.

if have made an example skin so you can see.
padding.png
That's true. For an already made skin, the padding approach doesn't require positional changes indeed, but for a skin you just started to make, the nested rectangles approach is equally valid.

Sorry for the confusion - guess I'm not really an adept of modifying other skins to do what I want, I prefer to start from scratch with my own. But that's just me, it's by no means wrong or anything like that, so feel free to do so. Me, I find it much easier and quicker to do the other way. ;-)
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
Judian81
Posts: 180
Joined: May 6th, 2021, 2:57 pm

Re: space between skins

Post by Judian81 »

i have found out a new way to get a border around a skin.
this way you do not have to reorganise anything.
it is transparent so it is click through. that is cool.
it is a little bit messy. but ok.

just a border.png
just a border around.png
removed skin. updated the skin in future post
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Judian81 on August 21st, 2021, 6:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7125
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: space between skins

Post by Yincognito »

Judian81 wrote: August 21st, 2021, 3:56 pm i have found out a new way to get a border around a skin.
this way you do not have to reorganise anything.
it is transparent so it is click through. that is cool.
it is a little bit messy. but ok.

just a border.png
just a border around.png
Border_v0.1.rmskin
Well, that's the same idea I was trying to convey earlier, with making a background shape (which can also be filled with a transparent color) larger than your actual "used area" in the skin. So, if you try any of these on an already made skin, you'd still have to add some "padding" value to the elements in that skin in order to be positioned within the smaller, inside "form area" you envisioned:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
@include=#CURRENTPATH#style.inc
ContextTitle="Edit Style"
ContextAction=["#CURRENTPATH#style.inc"]

;--------------------VARIABLE----------------

[Variables]
;form height and width
formWidth=210
formHeight=75

;--------------------MEASURE----------------

;--------------------METER--------------------

; [coolShape2]
; Meter=Shape
; Shape=Rectangle 0,0,300,300 | Fill Color 0,255,0,255 | Stroke Color 0,0,0,255
; SolidColor=255,0,0,255
; Padding=#paddingLeft#,#paddingTop#,#paddingRight#,#paddingBottom#

[coolImage2]
Meter=Image
ImageName=#CURRENTPATH#background3.png
X=0
Y=0
W=((#formWidth#*#formScale#)+#paddingleft#+#paddingright#)
H=((#formHeight#*#formScale#)+#paddingTop#+#paddingbottom#)

[coolString2]
Meter=String
FontColor=255,255,255,255
FontFace=Tahoma
FontSize=16
AntiAlias=1
Text=Cool String
So, you still have to "reorganize" stuff by adding some "padding" value to skin elements either way, whether it's an already made or a new skin.
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth