It is currently October 19th, 2020, 3:49 pm

cant get weather to work...

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
tabmow
Posts: 3
Joined: April 11th, 2010, 2:31 pm

cant get weather to work...

Post by tabmow »

so iv been staring at notepad documents for about 2 hours now trying to get weather on my rainmeter with no success. Im trying to use this skin http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/63362 but i cant get it to work. I found were i have to enter my location code but it dosent work. Iv used just the code, my area code, the weather.com link to my weather, accuweather link, signed up for weather.com and used the link they sent in the email with my info and still nothing.

my location is 53188 waukesha wisconsin or USWI0723 if your using the weather.com code

this is the url weather.com sent me as a "example"

http://xoap.weather.com/weather/local/30339?cc=*&dayf=5&link=xoap&prod=xoap&par=[PartnerID]&key=[LicenseKey]

i edited that with my partner id, license key, area code. Dint work, so i tried the weather.com code. Still didnt work.

In the skin editing notepad doc im putting the url where is say "url"

[MeasureWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
; updated weather ~15minut
UpdateRate=3600
Url=

if anyone is familiar with this skin or can help it would be much appreciated.
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 1010
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: cant get weather to work...

Post by Chewtoy »

Tried reading the comment that maminscris wrote?

maminscris wrote: For all whom download this and is not working find the word "xoap" in weather skins .ini file (open with notepad) and replace it with "xml"
Mon, Jul 20th at 05:17am (8 months ago)
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
tabmow
Posts: 3
Joined: April 11th, 2010, 2:31 pm

Re: cant get weather to work...

Post by tabmow »

yes i tried changing xoap to xml, still didnt get it to work.
User avatar
VClouds
Posts: 78
Joined: April 7th, 2010, 2:34 pm

Re: cant get weather to work...

Post by VClouds »

I had the same problem with this skin and changing the word xoap with xml like Chewtoy said did work for me.
did you replaced the words in the ini file you were using (there are 3 of them).

Also from your first post it looks like you made unnecessary changes to the ini file...
the only things you need to change in the ini files are the following:
dest=ROXX0003 - change the code to your city code USWI0723.
Url=http://xoap.weather.com/weather/local/#dest#?cc=*&unit=#SCALE#&dayf=6 - change the word xoap to xml.
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 522
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: cant get weather to work...

Post by maminscris »

I do not think that the skin works with a license key, since the weather com did not give one to me after registration, i could not access that feed, just replace the xoap with xml and it will work, mine still does still i not use it so often.

edit: just test it with your location USWI0723 and it is working fine
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
tabmow
Posts: 3
Joined: April 11th, 2010, 2:31 pm

Re: cant get weather to work...

Post by tabmow »

VClouds wrote:I had the same problem with this skin and changing the word xoap with xml like Chewtoy said did work for me.
did you replaced the words in the ini file you were using (there are 3 of them).

Also from your first post it looks like you made unnecessary changes to the ini file...
the only things you need to change in the ini files are the following:
dest=ROXX0003 - change the code to your city code USWI0723.
Url=http://xoap.weather.com/weather/local/#dest#?cc=*&unit=#SCALE#&dayf=6 - change the word xoap to xml.
Thank you your post helped me fix this. The problem was that I did edit to many things in the ini file. But I have a new problem, I dont have any icons for the weather now. I get the weather but no little pics of the sun being covered by a cloud or other things like that.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
VClouds
Posts: 78
Joined: April 7th, 2010, 2:34 pm

Re: cant get weather to work...

Post by VClouds »

Yes, this skin doesn't include any icons.
Go here: http://liquidweather.net/icons.php
download your desired icon set and extract the files to the skin folder (My Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\WeatherSkin)