It is currently March 28th, 2024, 7:28 pm

total beginner - trying to edit existing skin

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
totallybree

total beginner - trying to edit existing skin

Post by totallybree »

Hi there! As it says, I'm totally new to this. I want a very simple clock only, so I found a skin that was mostly what I liked and I'm trying to edit it down to just what I need. It had date, weather, and sysinfo elements I didn't want, so I removed them, but I guess I didn't do it quite right. I have looked at the tutorials and haven't seen these two issues addressed.

First, the clock is centered on the screen and I can drag it vertically but not horizontally. I'd like to be able to drag both ways. I tried fooling with coordinates with no luck.

Second, I want it to have a background. Currently it has none. I want a background just big enough to make it visible on all screen colors. I tried following the tutorial on adding a background, but it's putting the background on the screen space where the weather used to be lol.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
balala
Rainmeter Sage

Re: total beginner - trying to edit existing skin

Post by balala »

totallybree wrote: November 18th, 2020, 6:52 pm As it says, I'm totally new to this.
Welcome aboard. This forum is the best place to start working, so you are on the right way.
totallybree wrote: November 18th, 2020, 6:52 pm First, the clock is centered on the screen and I can drag it vertically but not horizontally. I'd like to be able to drag both ways. I tried fooling with coordinates with no luck.
Most probably the skin is as wide as your screen, but not as tall and is set to be kept on screen. This is the default setting for the skins, so there are great chances to havi it set this way.