It is currently October 19th, 2020, 9:21 pm

Update a measure in a skin group

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 11575
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Update a measure in a skin group

Post by balala »

StArL0rd84 wrote: October 16th, 2020, 10:55 am Yep thank you.
Sorry we couldn't help more, but that's it...
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 2760
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Update a measure in a skin group

Post by Yincognito »

StArL0rd84 wrote: October 16th, 2020, 10:55 am Yep thank you.
Just curious, have you tried my suggestion, and if so, did it work?
User avatar
StArL0rd84
Posts: 356
Joined: February 8th, 2015, 10:07 pm
Location: EU, Denmark.

Re: Update a measure in a skin group

Post by StArL0rd84 »

Yincognito wrote: October 16th, 2020, 11:43 am Just curious, have you tried my suggestion, and if so, did it work?
Not yet. At work rn.
([mWorkTime] = 1 ? #Work# : ([mEnergyLoss:%] >= 70% ? #Chillmode# : </>))
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 2760
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Update a measure in a skin group

Post by Yincognito »

StArL0rd84 wrote: October 16th, 2020, 11:50 am Not yet. At work rn.
K.
User avatar
StArL0rd84
Posts: 356
Joined: February 8th, 2015, 10:07 pm
Location: EU, Denmark.

Re: Update a measure in a skin group

Post by StArL0rd84 »

Yincognito wrote: October 16th, 2020, 11:43 am Just curious, have you tried my suggestion, and if so, did it work?
Woot, They both worked!
Neat workaround, sending the bang to all skins.
I like [!UpdateMeasure mColorSource *] because of the simplicity, but it throws errors from all of the skins where the measure is not present.

Although mColorSource is the only measure in the group, I ended up using [!UpdateMeasureGroup ColorSource *].
([mWorkTime] = 1 ? #Work# : ([mEnergyLoss:%] >= 70% ? #Chillmode# : </>))
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 2760
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Update a measure in a skin group

Post by Yincognito »

StArL0rd84 wrote: October 16th, 2020, 3:24 pm Woot, They both worked!
Neat workaround, sending the bang to all skins.
I like [!UpdateMeasure mColorSource *] because of the simplicity, but it throws errors from all of the skins where the measure is not present.

Although mColorSource is the only measure in the group, I ended up using [!UpdateMeasureGroup ColorSource *].
Yep, as expected. Although... are you sure those were "errors" and not "warnings" in the Log? I doubt that such an action would produce errors, warnings seem more logical in my view. But then, it's a small price to pay for the approach working - which I'm glad it happened. ;-)
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 11575
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Update a measure in a skin group

Post by balala »

StArL0rd84 wrote: October 16th, 2020, 3:24 pm I like [!UpdateMeasure mColorSource *] because of the simplicity, but it throws errors from all of the skins where the measure is not present.
Normaly. * means all loaded skins, so the above bang would like to update the [mColorSource] measure in ALL skins. Since most of them probably don't have such a measure, error messages will be thrown in log. Not recommend to use this form of the bang, almost never can be executed without errors.
StArL0rd84 wrote: October 16th, 2020, 3:24 pm Although mColorSource is the only measure in the group, I ended up using [!UpdateMeasureGroup ColorSource *].
Using the above !UpdateMeasureGroup bang is a much better idea, because error messages won't be shown in log, not even if a ColorSource measure group doesn't exist.