It is currently September 21st, 2020, 12:50 pm

Problem with WeatherComCodes

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
pbutler6
Posts: 67
Joined: April 27th, 2020, 8:10 pm

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by pbutler6 »

It's an old folder for my first attempt to add a settings menu. I do not reference it in my shin. I just deleted it and reloaded my skin. The problem remains.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21376
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by jsmorley »

I'm starting to get confused. You might try running a cmd window, changing to the folder containing the skin you are actually running, and do this:

tree /f

Code: Select all

C:\Users\JSMorley\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\Weather.com>tree /f
Folder PATH listing for volume WindowsSSD
Volume serial number is 448E-EFAA
C:.
│   Weather.com.ini
│
├───@Resources
│   │   GeneralVariables.inc
│   │   MeasureNamesReference.txt
│   │   WeatherComJSONAlerts.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONEnglish.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONLanguage.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONMeasures.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONMeasures10Day.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONMeasures3Day.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONMeasures5Day.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONMeasures7Day.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONMoon.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONMoon7Day.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONPollen15Parts.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONPollen29Parts.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONPollen7Parts.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONPollenCurrent.inc
│   │   WeatherComJSONVariables.inc
│   │
│   ├───Fonts
│   │       FiraSans-Bold.otf
│   │       FiraSans-ExtraBold.otf
│   │       FiraSans-Heavy.otf
│   │       FiraSans-Light.otf
│   │       FiraSans-Medium.otf
│   │       FiraSans-Regular.otf
│   │       FiraSans-SemiBold.otf
│   │       FiraSans-Thin.otf
│   │       FiraSans-Ultra.otf
│   │       FiraSans-UltraLight.otf
│   │       Font Awesome 5 Free-Solid-900.otf
│   │
│   ├───Images
│   │   ├───Alerts
│   │   │       1.png
│   │   │       2.png
│   │   │       3.png
│   │   │       4.png
│   │   │
│   │   ├───MoonPhase
│   │   │       F.png
│   │   │       FQ.png
│   │   │       LQ.png
│   │   │       N.png
│   │   │       WNC.png
│   │   │       WNG.png
│   │   │       WXC.png
│   │   │       WXG.png
│   │   │
│   │   ├───RealisticIcons
│   │   │       0.png
│   │   │       1.png
│   │   │       10.png
│   │   │       11.png
│   │   │       12.png
│   │   │       13.png
│   │   │       14.png
│   │   │       15.png
│   │   │       16.png
│   │   │       17.png
│   │   │       18.png
│   │   │       19.png
│   │   │       2.png
│   │   │       20.png
│   │   │       21.png
│   │   │       22.png
│   │   │       23.png
│   │   │       24.png
│   │   │       25.png
│   │   │       26.png
│   │   │       27.png
│   │   │       28.png
│   │   │       29.png
│   │   │       3.png
│   │   │       30.png
│   │   │       31.png
│   │   │       32.png
│   │   │       33.png
│   │   │       34.png
│   │   │       35.png
│   │   │       36.png
│   │   │       37.png
│   │   │       38.png
│   │   │       39.png
│   │   │       4.png
│   │   │       40.png
│   │   │       41.png
│   │   │       42.png
│   │   │       43.png
│   │   │       44.png
│   │   │       45.png
│   │   │       46.png
│   │   │       47.png
│   │   │       5.png
│   │   │       6.png
│   │   │       7.png
│   │   │       8.png
│   │   │       9.png
│   │   │       WeatherComIcons.txt
│   │   │
│   │   └───SiteIcons
│   │           0.png
│   │           1.png
│   │           10.png
│   │           11.png
│   │           12.png
│   │           13.png
│   │           14.png
│   │           15.png
│   │           16.png
│   │           17.png
│   │           18.png
│   │           19.png
│   │           2.png
│   │           20.png
│   │           21.png
│   │           22.png
│   │           23.png
│   │           24.png
│   │           25.png
│   │           26.png
│   │           27.png
│   │           28.png
│   │           29.png
│   │           3.png
│   │           30.png
│   │           31.png
│   │           32.png
│   │           33.png
│   │           34.png
│   │           35.png
│   │           36.png
│   │           37.png
│   │           38.png
│   │           39.png
│   │           4.png
│   │           40.png
│   │           41.png
│   │           42.png
│   │           43.png
│   │           44.png
│   │           45.png
│   │           46.png
│   │           47.png
│   │           5.png
│   │           6.png
│   │           7.png
│   │           8.png
│   │           9.png
│   │           na.png
│   │
│   └───Sounds
│           Copy.wav
│
└───WeatherComCodes
        WeatherComCodes.ini
Paste the result here inside code tags, and lets see where things really are...
pbutler6
Posts: 67
Joined: April 27th, 2020, 8:10 pm

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by pbutler6 »

Here are details for my skin folders:
Screenshot 2020-09-10 105656.jpg
Screenshot 2020-09-10 105717.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21376
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by jsmorley »

Then why don't I see [Sun & Moon] as a loaded Active=1 "config" in the image of Rainmeter.ini you posted?
pbutler6
Posts: 67
Joined: April 27th, 2020, 8:10 pm

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by pbutler6 »

Sun & Moon si further up:

Code: Select all

[Northeast Radar]
Active=1
WindowX=634
WindowY=87
ClickThrough=0
Draggable=1
SnapEdges=1
KeepOnScreen=1
AlwaysOnTop=0
[Weather & Sky]
Active=1
WindowX=313
WindowY=61
ClickThrough=0
Draggable=1
SnapEdges=1
KeepOnScreen=1
AlwaysOnTop=0
[Sun & Moon]
Active=2
WindowX=2018
WindowY=61
ClickThrough=0
Draggable=1
SnapEdges=1
KeepOnScreen=1
AlwaysOnTop=0
[Clock-Screen1]
]
I don't know how to comp the cmd output as code
Screenshot 2020-09-10 111221.jpg
:
Screenshot 2020-09-10 111845.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by pbutler6 on September 10th, 2020, 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21376
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by jsmorley »

This is not that hard to debug.

Code: Select all

ContextAction5=[!Log "I'd like to activate the skin at: #CURRENTCONFIG#\WeatherComCodes\WeatherComCodes.ini"][!ActivateConfig "#CURRENTCONFIG#\WeatherComCodes" "WeatherComCodes.ini"]
Simply change the context menu to look like that, then refresh the skin and select the context menu item.

Go to About / Log

Right click and copy the log entry that will look something like:


1.jpg


Right click and copy the log string and paste it here:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
pbutler6
Posts: 67
Joined: April 27th, 2020, 8:10 pm

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by pbutler6 »

Screenshot 2020-09-10 112157.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
pbutler6
Posts: 67
Joined: April 27th, 2020, 8:10 pm

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by pbutler6 »

Could it be that the !ActivateCongfig bang doesn't like my ampersand in Sun & Moon?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21376
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by jsmorley »

pbutler6 wrote: September 10th, 2020, 3:22 pm Screenshot 2020-09-10 112157.jpg
Ok. The only other thing that is sticking in my craw a bit is the fact that the [Sun & Moon] config in Rainmeter.ini says Active=2. That means that there are at least two skin .ini files in the root config folder for the skin, and it is loading the second one in that folder alphabetically. I don't see anything in the "tree" that you posted that indicates that. I'm really just don't follow how you have things laid out, and what is actually being run from where.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4112
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Problem with WeatherComCodes

Post by eclectic-tech »

Interjection: I would use #RootConfig# instead of #CurrentConfig#; the values should be the same in this case, but this will force the bang to use the topmost folder of the current config to avoid any confusion.

Try

Code: Select all

ContextTitle5=#ChooseLocation#
ContextAction5=[!ActivateConfig "#ROOTCONFIG#\WeatherComCodes" "WeatherComCodes.ini"]
Edit: I NEVER use spaces or special characters in my skin names; it is asking for headaches when you try to reference them... just my opinion.