It is currently April 26th, 2024, 8:19 am

Visualizer settings makes visualizer disappear

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
AnryuKen

Visualizer settings makes visualizer disappear

Post by AnryuKen »

I'm completely new to Rainmeter, just started playing with it yesterday. I tried using Ocean and Frost audio visualizer and at first, they're fine until I tried to tinker with the settings. I wanted to adjust its width so that it is longer, however, upon clicking the supposed slider, it instantly changes the values to -1 and makes the visualizer disappear. I can edit the values in the code but the visualizer is still gone. The only way for me to get it back is to reinstall it.

Since editing the values from the code itself doesn't work, is there a way to fix this problem? I also tried a few other visualizers such as Visbubble and it worked alright but the one I want to use for a specific layout is either Ocean or Frost.

Another followup question, when I tried duplicating Ocean to have another visualizer, the settings to change how the duplicate looks affects the original (i.e. When I duplicated Ocean, the box for "Line Only" for the duplicate changes the original instead of the duplicate). Is there a way to fix this problem?
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage

Re: Visualizer settings makes visualizer disappear

Post by eclectic-tech »

Those skins have not been updated in several years to work with Rainmeter.

To get the visualizers working again you need to manually edit the settings in a text editor, save them, and then run 'GenerateBands.ini' to correct the files that "-1" setting corrupted.

As long as you never use the settings skin, you shouldn't have to manually generate bands again.

EDIT: To 'copy' a skin, you need to place it in a new folder. But depending on how the skin is coded, it may also require other editing of the code to match the new location.
AnryuKen

Post by AnryuKen »