It is currently November 29th, 2020, 8:15 pm

Help with Font Boldness

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
bigny56
Posts: 4
Joined: April 4th, 2010, 6:24 am

Help with Font Boldness

Post by bigny56 »

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone would be able to help me with editing my rainmeter settings. When I look at my desktop, it very hard to see the numbers and letters. It seems to me that the boldness needs to be adjusted, as I believe my desktop background maybe too bright for the default settings. Could someone people advise me on how to change the boldness settings? Your help would be greatly appreciated!
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 1010
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Help with Font Boldness

Post by Chewtoy »

In your skin you will have a line on the meters called "StringStyle", this should be equal to BOLD on those that are indeed bold.
Changeing this to NORMAL will remove the bold and make it, can you guess it? Normal.
Or, if you feel like it and don't think that you will ever need it again, you can remove the line.

Take note that they may be, if the author was kind enough, linked to a variable. Then just change the variable to Normal.


At least, I read your post as if you wanted the boldness to be removed, but... Your text was a tad cryptic..
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
bigny56
Posts: 4
Joined: April 4th, 2010, 6:24 am

Re: Help with Font Boldness

Post by bigny56 »

Thank you for the reply. I'm sorry my text was cryptic, as I wasn't quite sure how to word this. Basically, when i look at my desktop, I can barely read any of the data that rainmeter is displaying. I can see that there is data there, but its very faint. I've checked in "edit settings" for one of the configs and was unable to locate any portion that says "stringstyle". Any more suggestions?
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 1010
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Help with Font Boldness

Post by Chewtoy »

Change the colour of the text.
http://rainmeter.net/cms/Meters-String

Say you got white text. That would be FontColor=255,255,255,255
It's layed out like this: Red, Green, Blue, Alpha
Alpha is how tranceparent the text should be.

That should definatly be a variable. So change it to some colout of your liking.
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
bigny56
Posts: 4
Joined: April 4th, 2010, 6:24 am

Re: Help with Font Boldness

Post by bigny56 »

One more stupid question...What if you wanted to keep it white, just brighter or bolder?
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 1010
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Help with Font Boldness

Post by Chewtoy »

Add a border.
Like, StringEffect=Border
Take a look at the link I posted and you will find it. And beneth it how to choose colour of the border.
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
bigny56
Posts: 4
Joined: April 4th, 2010, 6:24 am

Re: Help with Font Boldness

Post by bigny56 »

Awesome! Thanks so very much
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 648
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Help with Font Boldness

Post by Alex2539 »

Also, StringStyle=BOLD.
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Chewtoy
Moderator
Posts: 1010
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Help with Font Boldness

Post by Chewtoy »

Alex2539 wrote:Also, StringStyle=BOLD.
Thanks Alex, for restating what as already been said.
Always good to be sure. :)
I don't think, therefore I'm not.
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 648
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Help with Font Boldness

Post by Alex2539 »

Wow, I totally skipped that one post...

By the way, there's also StringEffect=Border ;)
ImageImageImageImage