It is currently April 25th, 2024, 5:47 am

RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by jsmorley »

Ok. A few things:

1) You can't ever have duplicate option / variable names in the same [Section]. You have two @Include variables. Change it to this:

@Include=#@#Variables.inc
@Include2=#@#Variablesextra.inc
@Include3=#@#Languages\#Language#.inc
@Include4=#@#WeatherComRegExp.inc
@Include5=#@#WeatherComCurrent.inc
@Include6=#@#WeatherComForecast.inc

I don't really think you need the separate and extra Variablesextra.inc, just put ClockFace in Variables.inc and change it there...

2) In the meter [MeterTime], you have MeasureName=MeasureTime, but there is no such measure. Change [MeasureTime1] to be [MeasureTime]

Style Notes:

3) Don't use !Execute on actions, it is long ago deprecated and shouldn't be used.
4) Don't use !Rainmeter on bangs, that is also deprecated and shouldn't be used. !RainmeterHideMeter should just be !HideMeter.


Here is your .ini with a few changes that makes it work for me. Some more cleanup and organization is probably called for, but that's up to you.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Author=HackitZ TDW
Version=2.0
Update=100
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1
ContextTitle=Set Location Code
ContextAction=["#@#Variables.inc"]
;------------for testing alignment
BackgroundMode=0
;------------------------------end
ContextTitle2=> Clock Color
;ContextAction2=["#@#Addons\RainRGB4.exe" "VarName=ClockFace" "FileName=#@#Variablesextra.inc"]
ContextAction2=["#@#Addons\RainRGB4.exe" "VarName=ClockFace" "FileName=#@#Variablesextra.inc" "RefreshConfig=#CURRENTCONFIG#"]
[Variables]
@Include=#@#Variables.inc
@Include2=#@#Variablesextra.inc
@Include3=#@#Languages\#Language#.inc
@Include4=#@#WeatherComRegExp.inc
@Include5=#@#WeatherComCurrent.inc
@Include6=#@#WeatherComForecast.inc

;================================

[@CurrentIcon]
Measure=WebParser
Group=Weather | WeatherCurrent
Url=[@CurrentParent]
StringIndex=3
IfAboveValue=1
IfAboveAction=[!HideMeter MeterCurrentIconNA][!ShowMeter MeterCurrentIcon]

[MeterCurrentIcon]
Path=#@#Weathericons
MeasureName=@CurrentIcon
Meter=Image
ImageAlpha=150
PreserveAspectRatio=1
AntiAlias=1
X=-10
Y=0
h=185
w=185

[MeterCurrentIconNA]
ImageName=na.png
Meter=IMAGE
ImageAlpha=150
PreserveAspectRatio=1			  				 
Path=#WeatherIcons#
X=20
Y=0
h=185
w=185

[MeterLocationCurrent]
MeasureName=@CurrentLocationName
Meter=String
X=30
Y=30
InlineSetting=Face | Walkway Expand Black
InlineSetting2=Color | 255,255,255,255
InlineSetting3=Size | 16
InlineSetting4=Weight | 400
StringAlign=left
StringStyle=Italic
StringEffect=SHADOW
AntiAlias=1
ClipString=1

[MeterTimeBack]
MeasureName=MeasureTime
Meter=STRING
X=65
Y=50
InlineSetting=Face | Digital
InlineSetting2=Color | 68,68,68,125
InlineSetting3=Size | 52
StringAlign=left
AntiAlias=1
Text="88:88"

[MeterTime]
MeasureName=MeasureTime
Meter=STRING
X=65
Y=50
;FontColor=#Clock_Face#
InlineSetting=Face | Digital
InlineSetting2=Color | #ClockFace#
InlineSetting3=Size | 52
StringAlign=left
AntiAlias=1

[MeterDate]
MeasureName=MeasureDate
Meter=STRING
X=(595*0.50)r
Y=(100*0.50)r
InlineSetting=Face | Walkway Expand Black
InlineSetting2=Color | 255,255,255
InlineSetting3=Size | 16
InlineSetting4=Weight | 300
StringEffect=SHADOW
StringAlign=right
AntiAlias=1
clipstring=2

[MeterTempCurrent]
MeasureName2=@CurrentTemperature
MeasureName=@CurrentConditions
Meter=String
X=(-5*0.50)r
Y=(43*0.50)r
InlineSetting=Face | Walkway Expand Black
InlineSetting2=Color | 255,255,255
InlineSetting3=Size | 14
InlineSetting4=Weight | 300
StringEffect=SHADOW
StringAlign=right
AntiAlias=1
Text="%1, %2"
Postfix="°"

;-------------------------------------day2


[@ForecastDay2Icon]
Measure=WebParser
Group=Weather | WeatherEightDay
Url=[@ForecastParent]
StringIndex=8
IfAboveValue=1
IfAboveAction=[!HideMeter MeterDay2IconNA][!ShowMeter MeterDay2Icon]


[MeterDay2Icon]
Path=#@#Weathericons
MeasureName=@ForecastDay2Icon
Meter=Image
PreserveAspectRatio=1
ImageTint=#Color1#
AntiAlias=1
X=(145*0.50)
Y=(270*0.50)
H=(150*0.50)
W=(150*0.50)

[MeterDay2IconNA]
ImageName=na.png
Meter=IMAGE
Path=#WeatherIcons#
H=(100*0.50)
W=(100*0.50)
X=r
Y=r

[MeterTempDay2]
MeasureName=@ForecastDay2Name
MeasureName2=@ForecastDay2High
Meter=String
X=(-20*0.50)r
Y=(40*0.50)r
InlineSetting=Face | roboto
InlineSetting2=Color | 255,255,255
InlineSetting3=Size | 8
InlineSetting4=Weight | 300
StringAlign=Left
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
Text="%1#CRLF#%2"
UpdateDivider=#Rdiv#
Postfix="°"

;-------------------------------------day3


[@ForecastDay3Icon]
Measure=WebParser
Group=Weather | WeatherEightDay
Url=[@ForecastParent]
StringIndex=18
IfAboveValue=1
IfAboveAction=[!HideMeter MeterDay3IconNA][!ShowMeter MeterDay3Icon]


[MeterDay3Icon]
Path=#@#Weathericons
MeasureName=@ForecastDay3Icon
Meter=Image
PreserveAspectRatio=1
ImageTint=#Color1#
AntiAlias=1
X=(360*0.50)
Y=(270*0.50)
H=(150*0.50)
W=(150*0.50)

[MeterDay3IconNA]
ImageName=na.png
Meter=IMAGE
Path=#WeatherIcons#
H=(100*0.50)
W=(100*0.50)
X=r
Y=r

[MeterTempDay3]
MeasureName=@ForecastDay3Name
MeasureName2=@ForecastDay3High
Meter=String
X=(-20*0.50)r
Y=(40*0.50)r
InlineSetting=Face | roboto
InlineSetting2=Color | 255,255,255
InlineSetting3=Size | 8
InlineSetting4=Weight | 300
StringAlign=Left
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
Text="%1#CRLF#%2"
UpdateDivider=#Rdiv#
Postfix="°"

;-------------------------------------day4


[@ForecastDay4Icon]
Measure=WebParser
Group=Weather | WeatherEightDay
Url=[@ForecastParent]
StringIndex=18
IfAboveValue=1
IfAboveAction=[!HideMeter MeterDay4IconNA][!ShowMeter MeterDay4Icon]


[MeterDay4Icon]
Path=#@#Weathericons
MeasureName=@ForecastDay4Icon
Meter=Image
PreserveAspectRatio=1
ImageTint=#Color1#
AntiAlias=1
X=(580*0.50)
Y=(270*0.50)
H=(150*0.50)
W=(150*0.50)

[MeterDay4IconNA]
ImageName=na.png
Meter=IMAGE
Path=#WeatherIcons#
H=(100*0.50)
W=(100*0.50)
X=r
Y=r

[MeterTempDay4]
MeasureName=@ForecastDay4Name
MeasureName2=@ForecastDay4High
Meter=String
X=(-20*0.50)r
Y=(40*0.50)r
InlineSetting=Face | roboto
InlineSetting2=Color | 255,255,255
InlineSetting3=Size | 8
InlineSetting4=Weight | 300
StringAlign=Left
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
Text="%1#CRLF#%2"
UpdateDivider=#Rdiv#
Postfix="°"

;--------------------------------date time
[MeasureTime]
Measure=Time
Format=%I:%M
FontName=Digital
FontName2=DS-Digital

 
[MeasureDate]
Measure=Time
Format=%B %d, %A, %Y.

;--------------------------- seconds bar

[MeasureSeconds]
Measure=Time
Format=%S
MaxValue=59

[MeterLine1]
Meter=Image
X=(120*0.50)
Y=(295*0.50)
H=(5*0.50)
W=(600*0.50)
SolidColor=68,68,68,200
 
[MeterSeconds]
MeasureName=MeasureSeconds
Meter=BAR
X=(120*0.50)
Y=(295*0.50)
H=(5*0.50)
W=(600*0.50)
BarColor=19,138,255,255
SolidColor=255,255,255,225
BarOrientation=HORIZONTAL

1.jpg


It's actually a pretty nice skin...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by jsmorley »

Having Update=100 on the skin does make it use a fair amount of CPU. I'd be tempted to use Update=900 or something. I know that with Update=1000 you have the risk of the occasional "skip" of an update to the Bar meter counting the seconds, but I think with 900 it should work pretty well while not using as many resources.

If you are going to to use Update=100 to ensure the best possible "sync" between the actual clock and the skin Update, then I really think you need some other optimizations to reduce CPU. Set a DefaultUpdateDivider to "10" for a start, and only have the Time measure and the Bar meter in question set with UpdateDivider=1.
User avatar
Hackit
Posts: 85
Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
Location: North of the Border

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by Hackit »

thank you so much.
i'm going to see if i can clean it up.
thats the hard part for me.
again thanks for all you do for rainmeter and helping.
do you have a donation link? am i allowed to ask that?
“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't – you're right”

DeviantArt Profile
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by jsmorley »

Hackit wrote: March 14th, 2020, 6:07 pm thank you so much.
i'm going to see if i can clean it up.
thats the hard part for me.
again thanks for all you do for rainmeter and helping.
do you have a donation link? am i allowed to ask that?
No, we are not about money here. Glad to help.
User avatar
Hackit
Posts: 85
Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
Location: North of the Border

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by Hackit »

jsmorley wrote: March 14th, 2020, 6:04 pm If you are going to to use Update=100 to ensure the best possible "sync" between the actual clock and the skin Update, then I really think you need some other optimizations to reduce CPU. Set a DefaultUpdateDivider to "10" for a start, and only have the Time measure and the Bar meter in question set with UpdateDivider=1.
so is this the way to chage the time update ex
[MeterTime]
MeasureName=MeasureTime
DefaultUpdateDivider=10
UpdateDivider=1
Meter=STRING
X=65
Y=50
;FontColor=#Clock_Face#
InlineSetting=Face | Digital
InlineSetting2=Color | #ClockFace#
InlineSetting3=Size | 52
StringAlign=left
AntiAlias=1
would the result be the time updates every 10 min?
“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't – you're right”

DeviantArt Profile
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by jsmorley »

Hackit wrote: March 14th, 2020, 6:20 pm so is this the way to chage the time update ex
[MeterTime]
MeasureName=MeasureTime
DefaultUpdateDivider=10
UpdateDivider=1
Meter=STRING
X=65
Y=50
;FontColor=#Clock_Face#
InlineSetting=Face | Digital
InlineSetting2=Color | #ClockFace#
InlineSetting3=Size | 52
StringAlign=left
AntiAlias=1
No, you set DefaultUpdateDivider=10 just one time in the [Rainmeter] section of the skin. Then anyplace that doesn't have an UpdateDivider will default to 100 X 10 (or 1000) and anyplace where you set UpdateDivider=1 will use the Update=100 set on the overall skin.

I really, really don't think I would go through all that though. I think it will work just fine with Update=900 on the skin, and will use just TONS less CPU.

With Update=100, even using DefaultUpdateDivider, this is an expensive skin. The issue is that every 100 milliseconds, it is "redrawing" the skin window, and any "sizing" of images, set with W and H on the meters, will be performed on each update. It is resizing those weather icons, and that is relatively pretty costly.

It's important to remember that any "sizing" done to images with W and H will happen on every Update of the skin itself. That resizing is part of the "redraw" cycle of the skin, and nothing you do with any UpdateDivider has any impact on that. It's not done during any update of measures or meters, but during the update of the overall skin.
User avatar
Hackit
Posts: 85
Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
Location: North of the Border

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by Hackit »

ok tnx
“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't – you're right”

DeviantArt Profile
User avatar
Hackit
Posts: 85
Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
Location: North of the Border

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by Hackit »

so i have added changing the background color of the time as well and included alpha in the context action.

i tried to add the option to change location color, it does not show up. is there a limit to the amount of fields you can change text color?
“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't – you're right”

DeviantArt Profile
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by jsmorley »

Hackit wrote: March 14th, 2020, 6:44 pm so i have added changing the background color of the time as well and included alpha in the context action.

i tried to add the option to change location color, it does not show up. is there a limit to the amount of fields you can change text color?
No, each of them is a separate and distinct call to RainRGB4.exe, and each will set its own variable as you define.
User avatar
Hackit
Posts: 85
Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
Location: North of the Border

Re: RainRGB4.exe help and questions

Post by Hackit »

ok tnx.
so it's a typo in my code.
“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't – you're right”

DeviantArt Profile