It is currently December 15th, 2019, 6:17 am

Trying to learn - having some issues

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
CoffeeJoe
Posts: 17
Joined: November 6th, 2019, 4:19 am

Re: Trying to learn - having some issues

CoffeeJoe » November 9th, 2019, 1:24 am

The manual is complete (as best as I can tell, but it seems to be written for the folks who know the language (the high level Rainmeter Language) and serves well as reference for looking up the "rules" when you don't remember. I can't yet extrapolate how to put the elements together and there isn't an example code for every element... so you can tell me that !SetOption is for updating an option ex: [!SetOption Meter Text New Text]
That is 100% acurate and helpful but where do i put this line of code and can the new text be a dynamic variable? ...

There is a curve, but it appears there are Sages among us, they know what they are talking about and have no issue helping... Its going to be alright :D
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Trying to learn - having some issues

balala » November 9th, 2019, 7:27 am

CoffeeJoe wrote:
November 9th, 2019, 1:24 am
where do i put this line of code
Unfortunately there is not possible to post an example to every thing you can meet. There are so many possibilities that this is practically impossible. That's probably why this forum has been launched, to let users to get answers to their questions.
So, the answer to your is that where do you put that !SetOption bang, depends: you can put it into a (for instance) LeftMouseUpAction option of a meter, in which case it will be executed when you click to that meter. Or to an IfTrueAction / IfFalseAction option of a measure. In this case it will be executed when the condition become true / false. As you can see there can be many many cases where and how to use it, depending on what do you want to achieve.
CoffeeJoe wrote:
November 9th, 2019, 1:24 am
can the new text be a dynamic variable? ...
Yes, new text can be dynamic, however you should take into account that if you want to set the value of a dynamically changing variable or a measure, you have to use Escaping variables. For instance if MyVariable is a dynamically changing variable and you want to set its value to the Text option of a String meter, instead of [!SetOption MyStringMeter Text "#MyVariable#"] you have to use [!SetOption MyStringMeter Text "#*MyVariable*#"].
User avatar
Mor3bane
Posts: 656
Joined: May 7th, 2016, 7:32 am

Re: Trying to learn - having some issues

Mor3bane » November 9th, 2019, 2:38 pm

Hey CoffeeJoe

Have you visited https://www.deviantart.com/rainmeter/gallery/23941137/skins

It's a great place to find ideas and working examples of some very intuitive suites and stand alone projects done by many different authors.
My DevArt Gallery

There are many ways to be different - there is only one way to be yourself