It is currently November 29th, 2020, 7:12 pm

Meter [Styles] not bound to anything[solved]

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
Jkon
Posts: 192
Joined: December 4th, 2009, 2:05 am

Meter [Styles] not bound to anything[solved]

Post by Jkon »

I keep getting the same error code on a skin i just started,"the meter [Styles] is not bound to anything".I cant understand why rainmeter is reading the Styles section as a meter,and if i remove the styles section it then trys reading the [Measures] section as a meter.If I close the skin and reopen it,I dont get the error report,only happens when I refresh the skin.Heres the short bit of code I've got.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]

Author=JKon
Update=1000
MiddleMouseDownAction=!RainmeterRefresh

; ====================

[Metadata]

Name=
Config=
Description=
Instructions=
Version=
Tags=
License=
Variant=
Preview=

; ====================

[Variables]

BG	=30,30,30,255
+	=60,60,60,255
-	=45,45,45,255

; ====================

[Styles]

; ====================

[Measures]

[mTest+]
Measure		=Calc
Formula		=50
MinValue	=0
MaxValue	=100

[mTest-]
Measure		=Calc
Formula		=50
MinValue	=0
MaxValue	=100

[mBase]
Measure		=Calc
Formula		=100

; ====================

[Meters]

[BG]
Meter=Roundline
MeasureName=mBase
X=0
Y=0
W=100
H=100
LineColor=#BG#
LineLength=50
LineStart=47
StartAngle=0
RotationAngle=6.28318531
AntiAlias=1
Solid=1

[CPU+]
Meter=Roundline
MeterStyle=BG
MeasureName=mTest+
LineColor=#+#
LineLength=45
LineStart=35
StartAngle=0
RotationAngle=-3.10

[CPU-]
Meter=Roundline
MeterStyle=BG
MeasureName=mTest-
LineLength=45
LineStart=35
LineColor=#-#
StartAngle=3.18
RotationAngle=3.06
Has anyone ran into this before,It's got me stumped.
Last edited by Jkon on April 2nd, 2010, 2:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 648
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Meter [Styles] not bound to anything

Post by Alex2539 »

Well there's really no such thing as a "[Styles]" or "[Measures]" section, so you might as well just comment them out. You can keep your nifty little titles and Rainmeter will just hop over them.
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Jkon
Posts: 192
Joined: December 4th, 2009, 2:05 am

Re: Meter [Styles] not bound to anything

Post by Jkon »

Well I am sorry for trying to keep my skins organized and as for my "nifty little titles",I'm not sure what you mean.I've laid all my skins out the same way and simply dont understand why i should suddenly have this problem now and if my posts bother you enough to the point where you obviously have an attitude problem with me then in future try ignoring them instead of responding.
Image
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 648
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Meter [Styles] not bound to anything

Post by Alex2539 »

Relax, I'm just telling you that the simple solution is to comment them out. Your skins stay organized and there is guaranteed not to be an error. There's no "attitude" there except the fictional one you read into it.
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Jkon
Posts: 192
Joined: December 4th, 2009, 2:05 am

Re: Meter [Styles] not bound to anything

Post by Jkon »

I'm sorry I read into your post wrong.Have had a bad day and jumped the gun a bit.I am sorry.
Image
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 648
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Meter [Styles] not bound to anything

Post by Alex2539 »

It's alright. But for future reference, I'm exactly the sort of person that will sincerely use the word "nifty" as a compliment ;).
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Jkon
Posts: 192
Joined: December 4th, 2009, 2:05 am

Re: Meter [Styles] not bound to anything

Post by Jkon »

I promise I wont forget that and thank you.Turns out if I put one of these ";"(sorry I dont know what they are called) infront of [styles] it works fine.It seems the problem only arises when meterstyle= references a meter instead of an actual style.
Image
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21552
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Meter [Styles] not bound to anything

Post by jsmorley »

I have always used a similar format to "organize" my .ini files. You just need to remember to make anything that you want there to help the user but which needs to be ignored by Rainmeter a "comment".

;[CALC STATEMENTS]======================================

[MeasurePM]
Measure=CALC
Formula=Measure24Hour
IfAboveAction=!Execute [!RainmeterHideMeter MeterAM][!RainmeterShowMeter MeterPM]
IfAboveValue=11
User avatar
Jkon
Posts: 192
Joined: December 4th, 2009, 2:05 am

Re: Meter [Styles] not bound to anything

Post by Jkon »

So Comment out is referencing to this thing ";".Wow,do i feel like an idiot and I seriously misunderstood alex's post.I can't appologise enough.Thank you both.
Image
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21552
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Meter [Styles] not bound to anything

Post by jsmorley »

Right. The ";" is a "semicolon" and is the "comment" character in many code languages and also in the .ini file format standard. If you put it at the beginning of a line, it tells Rainmeter to "ignore this line" so you can add all kinds of helpful comments for yourself or others who use your skins.