It is currently April 24th, 2024, 2:40 pm

Help choosing from different Gpu in MSI Afterburner

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Sito85
Posts: 3
Joined: September 22nd, 2019, 6:31 am

Help choosing from different Gpu in MSI Afterburner

Post by Sito85 »

Hi,

I have a simple problem but can't find a solution to it. Hope you guys can help me. :confused:

I use a skin that gets my GPU usage and temps from MSI afterburner but MSI Afterburner sometimes lists my GPU as the only GPU in the system and other times it lists a "phantom" GPU as GPU2, which makes my Rainmeter skin to not get the values correctly.

My .ini looks like this:

[MeasureGPUTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=MSIAfterburner.dll
DataSource=GPU1 temperature
MaxValue=100
MinValue=0


Whenever MSI Afterburner starts with only one GPU, I have to go and change DataSource=GPU1 temperature to DataSource=GPU temperature and viceversa.

Is there a way to tell my .ini to get the value from DataSource=GPU temperature and if its zero, then get the value from DataSource=GPU1 temperature.

I honestly don't know why MSI afterburner sometimes detects 2 GPUs on my system but that is a different issue I'm still trying to fix.

Thanks for your help! :)
mak_kawa
Posts: 908
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: Help choosing from different Gpu in MSI Afterburner

Post by mak_kawa »

First, I didn't try this code actually on MSIAfterburner, just an idea. So, sorry if this doesn't work.

How about change MeaesureName option in the meter according to value of MeasureGPUTemp? Like this;

Code: Select all

[MeasureGPUTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=MSIAfterburner.dll
DataSource=GPU temperature
MaxValue=100
MinValue=0
IfCondition=MeasureGPUTemp<>0
IfTrueAction=[!SetOption MeterTemparature MeasureName MeasureGPUTemp]
IfFalseAction=[!SetOption MeterTemparature MeasureName MeasureGPU1Temp]

[MeasureGPU1Temp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=MSIAfterburner.dll
DataSource=GPU1 temperature
MaxValue=100
MinValue=0

[MeterTemparature]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureGPUTemp
Text=GPU Temp.: %1 degree
Sito85
Posts: 3
Joined: September 22nd, 2019, 6:31 am

Re: Help choosing from different Gpu in MSI Afterburner

Post by Sito85 »

mak_kawa wrote: September 22nd, 2019, 8:48 am First, I didn't try this code actually on MSIAfterburner, just an idea. So, sorry if this doesn't work.

How about change MeaesureName option in the meter according to value of MeasureGPUTemp? Like this;

Code: Select all

[MeasureGPUTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=MSIAfterburner.dll
DataSource=GPU temperature
MaxValue=100
MinValue=0
IfCondition=MeasureGPUTemp<>0
IfTrueAction=[!SetOption MeterTemparature MeasureName MeasureGPUTemp]
IfFalseAction=[!SetOption MeterTemparature MeasureName MeasureGPU1Temp]

[MeasureGPU1Temp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=MSIAfterburner.dll
DataSource=GPU1 temperature
MaxValue=100
MinValue=0

[MeterTemparature]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureGPUTemp
Text=GPU Temp.: %1 degree
Hi mak_kawa

I will try your suggestion as soon as I'm back home and let you know the result.

Thanks for your help!
Sito85
Posts: 3
Joined: September 22nd, 2019, 6:31 am

Re: Help choosing from different Gpu in MSI Afterburner

Post by Sito85 »

Unfortunately, it did not work. Not sure why.

Thanks anyways
mak_kawa
Posts: 908
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: Help choosing from different Gpu in MSI Afterburner

Post by mak_kawa »

Please post your whole code to examine why your code does not work.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16164
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Help choosing from different Gpu in MSI Afterburner

Post by balala »

I'm not using MSI Afterburner, so there are just some general comments from my side. But:
Detail please a little bit what does the "did not work" means. Have you tried mak_kawa's code more times? Because if I understood correctly what have you described, on different cases you get different results on MSI Afterburner. So probably there will be required to run the skin more times, to can precisely say it doesn't work. Additionally do you get any error messages in the log? What the [MeasureGPUTemp] and [MeasureGPU1Temp] measures are returning?
Much unanswered questions yet...