It is currently May 27th, 2020, 3:30 am

Rainmeter consumes CPU very high

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
kenz0
Developer
Posts: 264
Joined: July 31st, 2009, 2:23 pm
Location: Tokyo, JPN

Re: Rainmeter consumes CPU very high

Post by kenz0 »

chuchay wrote:well, i have tried to see if their is a new driver for my netwrok card, but i have the latest.

i have tried unloading one by one the skins, and even with the enigma calendar only running i still get 10-30 on the column of the rainmeter on task manager.
i am running these skins on rainmeter:
enigma network
enigma systems
enigma recycler
enigma calendar
iphone clock(by fediafedia of deviantart)

that's it.

my cpu usage never touches below 10% or even 20% when running rainmeter, but when i am not running it, my cpu goes normal, with even 0% when i'm doing nothing.

anymore details i can provide to help solve this problem?
In my recognition, CPU usage is decided depending on the size of the skin, the update speed of the skin, and the number of active skins.
But I have received an interesting report from the user in the past. It is a report that the skin with the complete transparency background extremely consumes CPU. I cannot prove whether it is true because this seems to be a case influenced by the user's environment apparently. But you might test like this.

For example if it's in case of enigma calendar, try changing BackgroundMode in [Rainmeter] section to 2 from 0.
.
Image
wasky1
Posts: 128
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 8:26 am

Re: Rainmeter consumes CPU very high

Post by wasky1 »

thanks for tip about the multicore support killall-q!!! i get same result as before lol but at least my .ini looks neeter hehe! oh yeah and i dont get weird numbers in about dialogue the skin displays correct according to task manager
wasky1
Posts: 128
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 8:26 am

Re: Rainmeter consumes CPU very high

Post by wasky1 »

This is what i was going to post
ok ive been messing with my skin and im baffled. if i delete the cpu measures the lag is still there but doesnt come as quick. (and still no lag at all at first)
also if i delete the histograms i get similar result as deleting cpu measures but it doesnt seem to make any diffrence if the lines are deleted or not and it completely resolves the problem if i hide the histogram and stop animation but just stopping animation doesnt make a diffrence.
im starting to believe my skin is just a "bad configuration" but i dont know why.
i have other skins with far more intense animation and lines and measuring of cpu n' stuff but absolutely no probs, in fact im loading all my skins up some with update 150ms and no probs untill i load this particular skin so why this one. hmm possibly to do with positioning i dont know im contenplating re install of rainmeter. I still would love to know if other people have yhe same problem as me with the skin i posted a couple of posts ago.
UNTILL i realized i still had enigma network skin open out of site. My problem is with histograms. gutted!!!!! but relieved ive found the culpret!!! but this just leaves the question-: why histograms bad!!!
yorgash
Posts: 7
Joined: January 5th, 2010, 3:47 am

Re: Rainmeter consumes CPU very high

Post by yorgash »

Hmm I'm not sure, I only have this problem (50% CPU use) when any kinds of CPU meter is on, even if it's solely text-based it seems... anyone has a solution? Oh and also, problem only occurs on Win7...
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 522
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: Rainmeter consumes CPU very high

Post by maminscris »

yorgash wrote:Hmm I'm not sure, I only have this problem (50% CPU use) when any kinds of CPU meter is on, even if it's solely text-based it seems... anyone has a solution? Oh and also, problem only occurs on Win7...
did you try the latest beta build ?
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
godblessT
Posts: 3
Joined: May 31st, 2010, 8:14 am

Re: Rainmeter consumes CPU very high

Post by godblessT »

i thought the problem was same like mine!!

did u use connection by usb networking??
if so.. try to disconnect the connection and try the rainmeter.. is rainmeter still lag??
zulazlan89
Posts: 1
Joined: May 19th, 2020, 11:51 pm

Re: Rainmeter consumes CPU very high

Post by zulazlan89 »

kenz0 wrote:
March 9th, 2010, 3:33 am
In my recognition, CPU usage is decided depending on the size of the skin, the update speed of the skin, and the number of active skins.
But I have received an interesting report from the user in the past. It is a report that the skin with the complete transparency background extremely consumes CPU. I cannot prove whether it is true because this seems to be a case influenced by the user's environment apparently. But you might test like this.

For example if it's in case of enigma calendar, try changing BackgroundMode in [Rainmeter] section to 2 from 0.
This help me solve my problem!! Thanks!
My docks were using transparent background , and after I deleted them, the cpu usage went down straight away,, :D