It is currently April 18th, 2024, 5:30 pm

usage monitor: referencing hard drives

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Ragingwasabi
Posts: 86
Joined: March 7th, 2015, 2:23 pm

usage monitor: referencing hard drives

Post by Ragingwasabi »

Hi,

for some reason my HDD monitoring skin stopped working so while trying to fix it (and update it from using the perfmon plugin it to the usagemonitor plugin) i noticed that in windows perf mon, ur hard drives are listed with a number.

eg
0 C:
1 D:
3 Z:

windows is listing them in the order they were plugged in, not assigning the number specifically to the drive. which means the number can change for a removeable drive. so how do we reference a removeable drive? if i put only the letter, no values appear.

Code: Select all

;YOUR HARD DRIVE HERE!!!
HDD=C:
;number shown beside your hard drive. (can check in perfmon.exe)
HDDnum="0 "

;////////////////////////////////////////
;  HDD #1 MEASURES
;////////////////////////////////////////

[MeasureDiskLabel]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive="#HDD#"
Label=1
UpdateDivider=1

[DriveAccess]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Category=PhysicalDisk
Counter="Disk Bytes/sec"
Name="#HDDnum##HDD#"
UpdateDivider=1

[DriveAccessScaling]
Measure=Calc
Formula=DriveAccess

;////////////////////////////////////////
;  HDD #1 Meters
;////////////////////////////////////////

[HDDHeader]
MeasureName=MeasureDiskLabel
Meter=STRING
X=3
Y=2
FontColor=#txtcolor#
FontSize=#txtsize#
FontFace=#txtfont#
StringEffect=#txteffect#
FontEffectColor=#txteffectcolor#
AntiAlias=0
Text="DRIVE (#HDD#) %1"
UpdateDivider=1

[DriveAccessString]
MeasureName=DriveAccessScaling
Meter=STRING
X=(#horizGRIDW#+240)
Y=20r
DynamicVariables=1
stringalign=right
FontColor=#txtcolor#
FontSize=#txtsize#
FontFace=#txtfont#
StringEffect=#txteffect#
FontEffectColor=#txteffectcolor#
AntiAlias=0
AutoScale=1
NumOfDecimals=2
PostFix="B/s"
UpdateDivider=1

User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: usage monitor: referencing hard drives

Post by jsmorley »

I would use Logical Disk instead of Physical Disk.
User avatar
raiguard
Posts: 660
Joined: June 25th, 2015, 7:02 pm
Location: The Sky, USA

Re: usage monitor: referencing hard drives

Post by raiguard »

To detect removable drives, add IgnoreRemovable=0 to MeasureDiskLabel.
”We are pretty sure that r2922 resolves the regression in resolution caused by a reversion to a revision.” - jsmorley, 2017
Ragingwasabi
Posts: 86
Joined: March 7th, 2015, 2:23 pm

Re: usage monitor: referencing hard drives

Post by Ragingwasabi »

jsmorley wrote: November 1st, 2018, 12:04 pm I would use Logical Disk instead of Physical Disk.
jesus that was a quick fix, thanks!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: usage monitor: referencing hard drives

Post by jsmorley »

Ragingwasabi wrote: November 1st, 2018, 12:28 pm jesus that was a quick fix, thanks!
Glad to help.