It is currently April 26th, 2024, 3:06 pm

Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
roboroller
Posts: 6
Joined: February 18th, 2010, 7:39 am

Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by roboroller »

Hello, I'm fairly new to rainmeter and not overly technical. I got the 10 foot hud skin up and running and the time and date work fine but I can't figure out how to configure the weather. The directions in the .ini file seem out of date, but I can't find a simple tutorial on what I'm supposed to do anywhere. Can someone give me a simple walkthrough on how to set this thing up? I'd be super grateful.
User avatar
tru
Posts: 169
Joined: January 12th, 2010, 4:24 am
Location: A Salty Piece of Land...

Re: Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by tru »

roboroller wrote:Hello, I'm fairly new to rainmeter and not overly technical. I got the 10 foot hud skin up and running and the time and date work fine but I can't figure out how to configure the weather. The directions in the .ini file seem out of date, but I can't find a simple tutorial on what I'm supposed to do anywhere. Can someone give me a simple walkthrough on how to set this thing up? I'd be super grateful.

In the ini file under variables . There is a place to put the url of your weather feed.It should look
something like this..http://xml.weather.com/weather/local/27966 . Just replace the numbers with
your zip code. Also replace the "xoap" with "xml".
roboroller
Posts: 6
Joined: February 18th, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by roboroller »

I did exactly what you said and it still won't work. I save the file, close it down, but nothing changes. I still just get the little degree sign. It seems simple, but I have to be missing something. Any ideals?
Linkin
Posts: 7
Joined: February 7th, 2010, 7:24 am

Re: Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by Linkin »

Are you refreshing the skin? Eg 'Right click->Refresh All'
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22630
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by jsmorley »

Do you have a link to where you got the skin so I can take a look at it?
roboroller
Posts: 6
Joined: February 18th, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by roboroller »

Yes, I got the ZIP file from lifehacker here

http://lifehacker.com/5084412/configure-your-own-rainmeter-10+foot-hud

i tried to refresh all and it's still not working :-(
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22630
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by jsmorley »

Well, I refuse to even try to figure out Mepu's stuff anymore. It's written for Rainmeter 0.14 and all the variables and measure/meter names are in Czech and it is just incomprehensible.

Here is a little skin that does the same thing more or less.

You need to do two things,

1) Create a folder under \Skins called NewHudWeather. So you will have

Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\YourName\My Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\NewHudWeather
Windows Vista & Win7: C:\Users\YourName\My Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\NewHudWeather

Create a text file, paste the following code into it, and save it in that folder as NewHudWeather.ini

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=0,0,0,1

[Variables]
Location=22033
Unit=f
WeatherDesc=Waiting
FontFace=rockwell
FontColor=255,255,255,100
;Note - Change this to FontColor=0,0,0,100 if you want black letters instead of white.

[MeasureWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
UpdateRate=600
URL=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=#Location#&u=#Unit#
RegExp="(?siU)<title>.*- (.*)</title>.*<link>(.*)/\*(.*)</link>.*<description>(.*)</description>.*<language>(.*)</language>.*<lastBuildDate>(.*)</lastBuildDate>.*<yweather:location city="(.*)".*region="(.*)".*country="(.*)".*<yweather:units temperature="(.*)".*distance="(.*)".* pressure="(.*)".*speed="(.*)".*<yweather:wind chill="(.*)".*direction="(.*)".*speed="(.*)".*<yweather:atmosphere humidity="(.*)".* visibility="(.*)".*pressure="(.*)".* rising="(.*)".*<yweather:astronomy sunrise="(.*)".*sunset="(.*)".*<title>(.*)</title>.*<width>(.*)</width>.*<height>(.*)</height>.*<link>(.*)</link>.*<url>(.*)</url>.*<title>(.*)</title>.*<geo:lat>(.*)</geo:lat>.*<geo:long>(.*)</geo:long>.*<link>(.*)/\*(.*)</link>.*<pubDate>(.*)</pubDate>.*<yweather:condition  text="(.*)".*code="(.*)".*temp="(.*)".*date="(.*)".*<img src="(.*)".*Current Conditions:</b><br />(.*)<BR />.*Forecast:</b><BR />(.*)<br />.*(.*)<br />.*<a href="(.*)/\*(.*)">.*provided by <a href="(.*)" >(.*)</a>.*<yweather:forecast day="(.*)".*date="(.*)".*low="(.*)".*high="(.*)".*text="(.*)".*code="(.*)".*<yweather:forecast day="(.*)".*date="(.*)".*low="(.*)".*high="(.*)".*text="(.*)".*code="(.*)".*"
FinishAction=!Execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainString\RainString.exe" "#CURRENTCONFIG#" "WeatherDesc" "upper" "" "[MeasureWeatherDesc]"]

[MeasureWeatherTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=36

[MeasureWeatherDesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=34

[MeterTemp]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherTemp
Meter=STRING
X=540
Y=0
StringStyle=NORMAL
FontSize=60
StringAlign=RIGHT
StringStyle=BOLD
FontFace=rockwell
Antialias=1
Postfix="°"

[MeterDesc]
Meter=STRING
X=540
Y=68
FontSize=42
StringAlign=RIGHT
StringStyle=BOLD
FontFace=rockwell
Antialias=1
ClipString=1
DynamicVariables=1
Text=#WeatherDesc#
In [Variables]:
Change Location= to YOUR Weather.com / Yahoo Weather location code. Let me know if you need help finding it. In the US, it's just your Zip Code.
Change Unit= to "c" if you want Celsius instead of "f" for Fahrenheit.


2) Then get this zip file:
RainString.zip
Create a folder in C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Addons called RainString. So you will have C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Addons\RainString

Put the RainString.exe executable in that folder.

From the context menu for Rainmeter, say "Refresh All".

Using the context menu or RainBrowser, load the "NewHudWeather" config.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
roboroller
Posts: 6
Joined: February 18th, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by roboroller »

Thanks friend, I'll give this a try. You've been a big help. :-)
roboroller
Posts: 6
Joined: February 18th, 2010, 7:39 am

Re: Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by roboroller »

Okay, I did everything step by step. The tempreture comes up, but instead of showing a weather condition it just says Waiti... under the temp. Any ideals why?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22630
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Help with setting up weather in 10 Foot Hud

Post by jsmorley »

roboroller wrote:Okay, I did everything step by step. The tempreture comes up, but instead of showing a weather condition it just says Waiti... under the temp. Any ideals why?
It's super important that you put RainString.exe in C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Addons\RainString\Rainstring.exe.

(assuming you have Rainmeter installed in the default location.)

Also, what version of Rainmeter are you running? You need at least version 1.1, even better would be the 1.2 beta on http://Rainmeter.net