It is currently March 28th, 2024, 7:52 pm

Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
mobileqa
Posts: 32
Joined: March 26th, 2018, 1:09 pm

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by mobileqa »

Another thing I notices is that I'm trying to implement a "x" button using Meter=button , but my button gets cropped. Do you know of a place where I can get an image file that's created in layers?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by jsmorley »

A Button meter requires a special kind of image.

https://docs.rainmeter.net/tips/button-images/

There is one here you can use if you like.

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?p=146174#p146174

Just right-click and download the image.
mobileqa
Posts: 32
Joined: March 26th, 2018, 1:09 pm

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by mobileqa »

Thanks.

Other Issue
I'm parsing through JSON and displaying the "Description" element, but in the Rainmeter app not all of the text display. u get something like {This is some text with .....} It doesn't finish the statement "This is some text with color to display}. Any thoughts.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by jsmorley »

Hard to say unless I can see the code for the meter that is displaying it.
mobileqa
Posts: 32
Joined: March 26th, 2018, 1:09 pm

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by mobileqa »

I found the issue it was the ClipString=1 that was cropping my text

Code: Select all

[styleLeftText]
StringAlign=Left
; Meters using styleLeftText will be left-aligned.
StringCase=None
StringStyle=Bold
StringEffect=Shadow
FontEffectColor=0,0,0,20
FontColor=#colorText#
FontFace=#fontName#
FontSize=#textSize#
AntiAlias=1
ClipString=1
Last edited by Brian on March 28th, 2018, 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please use [code] tags.
mobileqa
Posts: 32
Joined: March 26th, 2018, 1:09 pm

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by mobileqa »

I'm still having the same issue with the text not wrapping. Here is the Code for the Meter
In My Skin the Text Display like this:

Title 1
Some random sentence.........

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
; This section contains general settings that can be used to change how Rainmeter behaves.
Update=1000
Background=Background.png
; #@# is equal to Rainmeter\Skins\illustro\@Resources
BackgroundMode=3
BackgroundMargins=0,34,0,14
DynamicWindowSize=1
AccurateText=1
;OnRefreshAction=[!Show]

[styleLeftText]
StringAlign=Left
; Meters using styleLeftText will be left-aligned.
StringCase=None
StringStyle=Bold
StringEffect=Shadow
FontEffectColor=0,0,0,20
FontColor=#colorText#
FontFace=#fontName#
FontSize=#textSize#
AntiAlias=1
;UpdateDivider=-2
ClipString=2
;DynamicVariables=1

[styleTitle]
StringAlign=Center
StringCase=Upper
StringStyle=Bold
StringEffect=Shadow
FontEffectColor=0,0,0,50
FontColor=#colorText#
FontFace=#fontName#
FontSize=10
AntiAlias=1
ClipString=1

[MeterSiteTitle]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleTitle
MeasureName=MeasureSiteTitle
; Using MeterStyle=styleTitle will basically "copy" the
; contents of the [styleTitle] section here during runtime.
X=150
Y=12
W=350
H=18
Text=OCIO Notification Messages 
;ClipString=2
;UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterItem1Title]
METER=STRING
MEASURENAME=MEASUREITEM1TITLE
METERSTYLE=STYLELEFTTEXT
LEFTMOUSEUPACTION=["[MEASUREITEM1URL]"]
X=10
Y=40
W=190
;H=14
;ClipString=2
;UpdateDivider=-1
Last edited by Brian on March 28th, 2018, 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please use [code] tags.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by jsmorley »

Carefully read this:

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/string/#ClipString

And see if it doesn't answer your question.
mobileqa
Posts: 32
Joined: March 26th, 2018, 1:09 pm

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by mobileqa »

Based off of the code example below; which you helped me with before. How do I change how long skin appear on the screen before fading

Code: Select all

[MeasureTestTime]
Measure=Time
Group=Times
TimeStamp=[MeasureItem1Date]
TimeStampFormat=%m/%d/%Y %H:%M
Disabled=1
DynamicVariables=1
UpdateDivider=-1
IfCondition=[MeasureTestTime:timestamp] > #LatestTime#
IfTrueAction=[!WriteKeyValue Variables LatestTime "[MeasureTestTime:timestamp]"][!SetVariable LatestTime "[MeasureTestTime:timestamp]"][!Show "#CurrentConfig#"][!Delay 9000][!ShowFade][!EnableMeasure MeasureSeconds]


[MeasureSeconds]
Measure=Calc
Formula=MeasureSeconds + 1
IfCondition=MeasureSeconds = #DelaySeconds#
IfTrueAction=[!HideFade][!Delay 1000][!Hide "#CurrentConfig#"][!DisableMeasure MeasureSeconds]
Disabled=1
DynamicVariables=1
Last edited by fonpaolo on March 29th, 2018, 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please use the [Code] tags to display your code.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1387
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by fonpaolo »

The trick is here: [!Delay 9000] ;-)
To be precise, 9000 is 9 seconds.

Edited to avoid confusion.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Creating Rainmeter Notification Application

Post by jsmorley »

fonpaolo wrote:The trick is here: [!Delay 9000] ;-)
To be precise, 9000 is 9 seconds.
NOOO!

The trick is how big you make #DelaySeconds# in [Variables]. That !Delay bang is just to give the skin a second for the "fade" to work before the meters are "hidden".

Although he has misunderstood the intent of the line:

IfTrueAction=[!HideFade][!Delay 1000][!HideMeterGroup AllMeters][!DisableMeasure MeasureSeconds]

In my original example, which is meant to use a trick to appear to "fade" out meters to a "hidden" state when in fact fading out the entire skin.

If he is going to just fade out the entire skin, but leave the meters in a "shown" state, then he doesn't need the !Delay or the redundant !Hide in this:

IfTrueAction=[!HideFade][!Delay 1000][!Hide "#CurrentConfig#"][!DisableMeasure MeasureSeconds]