It is currently April 19th, 2024, 1:14 pm

X=R border Fail Update Image something

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
GioRgSaVv
Posts: 62
Joined: February 7th, 2017, 10:02 pm

X=R border Fail Update Image something

Post by GioRgSaVv »

Hello, I might found a bug here, I have this skin

Image

The Left/Upward/Right black lines are custom, not real images.

Code: Select all

[Line1/2/3]
Meter=Image
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
W=2 / 160
H=160 / 2
The right line image is X=R, which means it will go after the text, (text=UpTime), but when the time changes this line acts strange, update doesnt work correctly and sometimes it doesnt show the line, its hidden or something I cant really tell.

Sometimes it is displayed like this
Image
I used all kind of update meters but they dont work very well, only Refresh All from the program itself works
Image
this is the skin
User avatar
GioRgSaVv
Posts: 62
Joined: February 7th, 2017, 10:02 pm

Re: X=R border Fail Update Image something

Post by GioRgSaVv »

just updating meters dont work well when a meter is x=r and it automatically updates itself

I need a continuously refresh of the skin, how can I do this?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: X=R border Fail Update Image something

Post by jsmorley »

Formulas in options like X and Y must be enclosed in parentheses.

Code: Select all

[Line1/2/3]
Meter=Image
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
W=(2 / 160)
H=(160 / 2)
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: X=R border Fail Update Image something

Post by jsmorley »

jsmorley wrote:Formulas in options like X and Y must be enclosed in parentheses.

Code: Select all

[Line1/2/3]
Meter=Image
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
W=(2 / 160)
H=(160 / 2)
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/formulas/
Mathematical formulas must be entirely enclosed in (parentheses) to alert Rainmeter that it is a formula, unless they are being used in the Formula option of a Calc measure or in a IfCondition option, where the function is always assumed to be a formula, and the enclosing parentheses are optional.
The answer simply cannot ever be a continuous refresh of the skin, that is an endless loop that will bring everything to its knees.
User avatar
GioRgSaVv
Posts: 62
Joined: February 7th, 2017, 10:02 pm

Re: X=R border Fail Update Image something

Post by GioRgSaVv »

in my case then why the update or updatedivider dont work properly?
BackgroundMode=2 should be bigger when the text is "bigger" or "more"

pff anyway, I guess I will just never update it and make the border just bigger just in case if the text takes more place.. :/
thanks for your answer!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: X=R border Fail Update Image something

Post by jsmorley »

GioRgSaVv wrote:in my case then why the update or updatedivider dont work properly?
BackgroundMode=2 should be bigger when the text is "bigger" or "more"

pff anyway, I guess I will just never update it and make the border just bigger just in case if the text takes more place.. :/
thanks for your answer!
I have no idea why. I don't have even remotely enough of your code to have any opinion about what it is doing or not doing.
User avatar
GioRgSaVv
Posts: 62
Joined: February 7th, 2017, 10:02 pm

Re: X=R border Fail Update Image something

Post by GioRgSaVv »

I already uploaded the entire skin in the first post :p
http://www.mediafire.com/file/vp3z5nq39m3b1mc/UpTime+Example.rmskin

but it doesnt really matter anyway I will just make it that way so the border will always be the same and never update or becomes bigger when the text is also becomes bigger.