It is currently March 29th, 2024, 6:23 am

https..

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
scub
Posts: 30
Joined: May 16th, 2015, 10:37 pm

https..

Post by scub »

does webparser work with https or am i missing something because the documentation doesn't mention a single thing about using secure web address feeds..?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: https..

Post by jsmorley »

Yes, WebParser is fine with https://
scub
Posts: 30
Joined: May 16th, 2015, 10:37 pm

Re: https..

Post by scub »

i am not sure what is going on here. i made simple webparser feed, works fine for a little while, but after a while it just disappears and i start getting Regexp matching error. the feed isn't disappearing, or being blocked because i can still access it via web browser and i'm updating every 20-30 minutes..

the feed doesn't appear to be changing either.. what would cause it to just stop working one min and start working again later?

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1
AccurateText=1

[Variables]
Item=(?(?=.*<item>).*<item>.*<title>(.*)</title>.*<description>(.*)</description>.*<pubDate>(.*)</pubDate>.*<link>(.*)</link>)
Sub="^\s+":"","<!\[CDATA\[":"","\]\]>":"","!\[CDATA\[":"","\]\]":""

[MeasureNewsFeed]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
UpdateRate=1200
URL=https://climate.nasa.gov/news/rss.xml
RegExp=(?siU).*<title>(.*)</title>.*<link>(.*)</link>#Item##Item##Item#

[MeterItemATitle]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
URL=[MeasureNewsFeed]
StringIndex=3

[MeterItemADesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
URL=[MeasureNewsFeed]
StringIndex=4
DecodeCharacterReference=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute=#Sub#

[MeterItemALink]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
URL=[MeasureNewsFeed]
StringIndex=6

[MeterItemBTitle]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
URL=[MeasureNewsFeed]
StringIndex=7

[MeterItemBDesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
URL=[MeasureNewsFeed]
StringIndex=8
DecodeCharacterReference=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute=#Sub#

[MeterItemBLink]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
URL=[MeasureNewsFeed]
StringIndex=10

[MeterItemCTitle]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
URL=[MeasureNewsFeed]
StringIndex=11

[MeterItemCDesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
URL=[MeasureNewsFeed]
StringIndex=12
DecodeCharacterReference=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute=#Sub#

[MeterItemCLink]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
URL=[MeasureNewsFeed]
StringIndex=14

[MeterNewsTitleA]
Group=News
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeterItemATitle
InlineSetting=Face | Fira Sans
InlineSetting2=Size | 9
InlineSetting3=Weight | 600
InlineSetting4=Color | 195,235,255
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1
ClipString=2
W=280
H=20
X=0
Y=0
ToolTipText=[MeterItemATitle]#CRLF#
LeftMouseUpAction=["[MeterItemALink]"]
Text=%1

[MeterNewsTitleB]
Group=News
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeterItemBTitle
MeasureName=MeterItemBLink
InlineSetting=Face | Fira Sans
InlineSetting2=Size | 9
InlineSetting3=Weight | 600
InlineSetting4=Color | 195,235,255
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1
ClipString=2
W=280
H=20
X=0
Y=20r
ToolTipText=[MeterItemBTitle]#CRLF#
LeftMouseUpAction=["[MeterItemBLink]"]
Text=%1

[MeterNewsTitleC]
Group=News
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeterItemCTitle
MeasureName=MeterItemCLink
InlineSetting=Face | Fira Sans
InlineSetting2=Size | 9
InlineSetting3=Weight | 600
InlineSetting4=Color | 195,235,255
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1
ClipString=2
W=280
H=20
X=0
Y=20r
ToolTipText=[MeterItemCTitle]#CRLF#
LeftMouseUpAction=["[MeterItemCLink]"]
Text=%1
mak_kawa
Posts: 908
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: https..

Post by mak_kawa »

WebParser has some instability causing RegExp matching error as many people have said. This error is not gone until the skin is refreshed, but in worst case I have to restrat Rainmeter. For such case, I placed a "Rainmeter restart" button on the corner of my skin...:-)

However, I am not sure that your issue is a result of the instability.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1387
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: https..

Post by fonpaolo »

Don't know if you've problems connecting, downloading from the site xml, or if there's a problem with your skins...
Just tested the above URL with my Feeds skin and it's all ok, (only) ten titles and links, working as they should.

As mark_kawa has pointed out, be aware of not continuously refresh the skin(s) using WebParser, it's possible it hangs if you don't wait until it has downloaded (and displayed) all the data.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1387
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: https..

Post by fonpaolo »

Sometimes happens...
The causes could be various, firewall, bad connection, server overload, timeout...

I had an internet "upgrade" and now I'm experiencing more hiccups with WebParser, with 65 Mbps download and 20 Mbps upload, than before, with 7 Mbps download and 0.5 Mbps upload. :confused:
scub
Posts: 30
Joined: May 16th, 2015, 10:37 pm

Re: https..

Post by scub »

i don't know, but this still has me puzzled...all my other skins that fetch info from the web are fine. i noticed a typo in MeasureName (missing a 2) but it's not the problem.

that is why i ask if using SSL (https links) have any problems with rainmeter as that is all i can think of.. it's like the connection is occasionally being refused.. or something. the skin is updating like once every 20-30 mins, which is more than reasonable. plus, the site can still be access outside of rainmeter via browser perfectly fine so just WTF is the problem! :confused:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: https..

Post by jsmorley »

Something flaky is going on with wxdata for the last week or two. We are all getting the same thing, so it's not a bug with WebParser, it's not your internet connection. Sometimes there is just missing data from the feed. It seems to just last a few minutes, and then it works right again. However, it's happening with annoying regularity.

We have to understand that today free, open RSS/ATOM feeds are not a high priority for companies. They can't serve you advertising in them, and the money is in the API's they sell to app makers on phones and such. I'm hopeful that this issue will be corrected soon, but I don't have any illusions that alarm bells are ringing and people in white coats are running down hallways when their RSS feed has a hiccup.
mak_kawa
Posts: 908
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: https..

Post by mak_kawa »

Hi scub.

My https access by WebParser (Yahoo Weather API) has essentially no problem like that...So, I don't know what is wrong with your WebParser.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1387
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: https..

Post by fonpaolo »

An update for this RSS Feed: as it seems, after the very first moment (day), now I can't see the feed, something is happening... and some "Not enough substrings" in the log. :uhuh:

Sorry, I can't really investigate what's happening at the moment. :(