It is currently April 18th, 2024, 9:11 pm

Network skin showing inaccurate values

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Mediocre

Network skin showing inaccurate values

Post by Mediocre »

Hi,

Whenever my VPN is turned on, the Upload and Download values are inaccurate -- they're double what they are suppose to be (see image 1). If I had to guess, I'd think it's because it's taking both the Ethernet (the VPN) and the Wi-Fi speeds and combining them (see image 2). Displaying my current IP Address works fine for both, though. And yes, whenever I disable the VPN, it shows accurate values. Is it possible for it to show accurate values while still using the VPN?, or would I always need to mentally split the values in half to know the approximate speeds I'm getting? I hope not, lol. I'm using the included illustro Network skin, by the way. I'm new to Rainmaker.

Thanks!

Image 1

Image 2

CyberTheWorm

Re: Network skin showing inaccurate values

Post by CyberTheWorm »

First image is in MB/s second one is in Mb/s they will never be the same value
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
Mediocre

Post by Mediocre »

CyberTheWorm wrote:First image is in MB/s second one is in Mb/s they will never be the same value
I know that, but that's not what I meant.

21.5 Mbps = 2.6875 MB/s

22.9 Mbps = 2.8625 MB/s

2.6875 MB/s + 2.8625 MB/s = 5.55MB/s = ~5.4MB/s

My internet with or without the VPN goes up to around 25 Mbps, which equals to ~3.1 MB/s. So that's what it should be showing instead of 5.4MB/s.

5.4MB/s = 43.2 Mbps

My internet isn't that fast.
CyberTheWorm

Post by CyberTheWorm »

Run a speed test and see what you max values are, then look at your skin you are using. Is there anything in there that might be giving you false results?

If I have my VPN running to access my work network, my skins do not measure that one only my main Ethernet connection.