It is currently April 8th, 2020, 1:23 am

Weather Skin Not Working

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Wnz500
Posts: 2
Joined: April 2nd, 2017, 11:08 pm

Weather Skin Not Working

Post by Wnz500 »

Hi, so I'm kinda new to rainmeter and can't get my weather skin to work

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Author=lilshizzy@gmail.com
AppVersion=1001000
Update=1000
MouseOverAction=!Execute [!RainmeterShowMeter TempActive][!RainmeterHideMeter Temp][!RainmeterRedraw]
MouseLeaveAction=!Execute [!RainmeterHideMeter TempActive][!RainmeterShowMeter Temp][!RainmeterRedraw]
@include=#SKINSPATH#Simple Media\Variables\Fonts.inc

[Metadata]
Name=SM MoxaWeather Round Blue
Config=
Description=Shows your current and forecast weather conditions. Change the units from metric to Fahrenheit using the variable "Unit".
Instructions=Default weather is set to Los Angeles, to get your Weather Code visit (weather.yahoo.com) type in your Zip, click the RSS button, your code will be in the address bar.
Version=
Tags=Thanks to the authors of both Token & Enigma for inspiring and providing code for this project.
License=Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 3.0
Credits=This skin has been adapted from the original MoxaWeather by moxamax. This skin has been further modified by Lilshizzy, Thanks to those who previously worked on this.

[Variables]
@include=#SKINSPATH#Simple Media\Variables\Default.inc

;------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; MEASURES

[MeasureWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
UpdateRate=1800
Url=http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?w=22664159&u=c
RegExp=(?siU)<link.*>(.*)</link>.*city=\"(.*)\".*sunrise=\"(.*)\".*sunset=\"(.*)\".*<image>.*<url>(.*)</url>.*<title>.*:.*m .*(.*)</title>.*lat>(.*)<.*long>(.*)<.*yweather:condition.*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*temp=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*
StringIndex=1

;--------------------------------
; CURRENT

[MeasureWeatherDesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=9

[MeasureWeatherTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=11

;------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; METERS

[Background]
Meter=IMAGE
ImageName=#SKINSPATH#Simple Media\Variables\Images\Round120-B1.png
;SolidColor=0,0,0,100
;W=120
;H=120
X=0
Y=0

[Temp]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherTemp
Meter=STRING
X=61
Y=12
FontColor=#Color3#
StringStyle=Normal
FontSize=50
StringAlign=Center
FontFace=#LocalFontFace#
AntiAlias=1

[Temp2]
Meter=STRING
X=50r
Y=10r
FontSize=12
FontColor=#Color1#
StringStyle=Bold
StringAlign=RIGHT
FontFace=#LocalFontFace#
AntiAlias=1
Postfix="°"

[Desc]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherDesc
Meter=STRING
X=-50r
Y=60r
FontColor=#Color1#
FontSize=#Height3#
StringAlign=Center
StringStyle=Bold
FontFace=#Font#
AntiAlias=1

[TempActive]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=Temp
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherTemp
FontColor=#ColorActive2#
LeftMouseDownAction=!Execute [[MeasureWeatherRSS]]
Hidden=1
I'm using the Simple Media skin. Tried getting it to work but couldn't.
Can anyone help?
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 684
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: Weather Skin Not Working

Post by CyberTheWorm »

I think Yahoo weather is not working. Might want to try a different weather skin.
w.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 921
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: Weather Skin Not Working

Post by kyriakos876 »

Wnz500 wrote:
[MeasureWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
UpdateRate=1800
Url=http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?w=22664159&u=c
RegExp=(?siU)<link.*>(.*)</link>.*city=\"(.*)\".*sunrise=\"(.*)\".*sunset=\"(.*)\".*<image>.*<url>(.*)</url>.*<title>.*:.*m .*(.*)</title>.*lat>(.*)<.*long>(.*)<.*yweather:condition.*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*temp=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*
StringIndex=1
Try this instead:

Code: Select all

Url=http://wxdata.weather.com/wxdata/weather/local/#Location#?cc=*&unit=#Unit#&dayf=3&locale

and replace #Location# With your location's code and #Unit# with either "m" for Celsius or "f" for fahrenheit
(You may find your location's code at https://weather.codes)
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 10093
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Weather Skin Not Working

Post by balala »

kyriakos876 wrote:Try this instead:

Code: Select all

Url=http://wxdata.weather.com/wxdata/weather/local/#Location#?cc=*&unit=#Unit#&dayf=3&locale

and replace #Location# With your location's code and #Unit# with either "m" for Celsius or "f" for fahrenheit
(You may find your location's code at https://weather.codes)
Actually that's not enough, because if you change the URL, the RegExp also should be changed. So, with the URL indicated by kyriakos876, try the following RegExp option:

Code: Select all

[MeasureWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
UpdateRate=1800
Url=http://wxdata.weather.com/wxdata/weather/local/#Location#?cc=*&unit=#Unit#&dayf=3&locale
RegExp=(?siU)<weather ver="(.*)">.*<dnam>(.*)</dnam>.*<lat>(.*)</lat>.*<lon>(.*)</lon>.*<sunr>(.*)</sunr>.*<suns>(.*)</suns>.*<zone>(.*)</zone>.*<tmp>(.*)</tmp>.*<flik>(.*)</flik>.*<t>(.*)</t>.*<icon>(.*)</icon>.*<moon>.*<icon>(.*)</icon>.*<t>(.*)</t>.*</moon>.*t="(.*)" dt="(.*)">.*<hi>(.*)</hi>.*<low>(.*)</low>.*<icon>(.*)</icon>.*<t>(.*)</t>.*t="(.*)" dt="(.*)">.*<hi>(.*)</hi>.*<low>(.*)</low>.*<icon>(.*)</icon>.*<t>(.*)</t>.*t="(.*)" dt="(.*)">.*<hi>(.*)</hi>.*<low>(.*)</low>.*<icon>(.*)</icon>.*<t>(.*)</t>
StringIndex=1
Also you should use other StringIndex options, on the child WebParser measures:

Code: Select all

[MeasureWeatherDesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=10

[MeasureWeatherTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=8
Note that I also replaced the Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll options with the shorter Plugin=WebParser, which is completely enough. The longer form was used with many years ago, but now it isn't needed any more.

Also note that kyriakos876 is wrong about the values used for Unit. They should be indeed m for Celsius (meaning metric), but for Fahrenheit should be used not f (as many users think), but i (meaning imperial). The only reason why with f, the skin is still working and returns the temperatures in Fahrenheit is that for any not valid value (other than m or i), the default value is used, which is i.
Wnz500
Posts: 2
Joined: April 2nd, 2017, 11:08 pm

Re: Weather Skin Not Working

Post by Wnz500 »

Yup It worked thanks everyone
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 10093
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Weather Skin Not Working

Post by balala »

Wnz500 wrote:Yup It worked thanks everyone
You're welcome, if we could help.
User avatar
yash1331
Posts: 3
Joined: February 12th, 2014, 8:15 pm
Location: India

Re: Weather Skin Not Working

Post by yash1331 »

kyriakos876 wrote:
April 3rd, 2017, 3:46 pm
Try this instead:

Code: Select all

Url=http://wxdata.weather.com/wxdata/weather/local/#Location#?cc=*&unit=#Unit#&dayf=3&locale

and replace #Location# With your location's code and #Unit# with either "m" for Celsius or "f" for fahrenheit
(You may find your location's code at https://weather.codes)
This service is deprecated as of 01/15/2020
Image
J.A.R.V.I.S. + S.H.I.E.L.D. OS - Yash1331
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 10093
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Weather Skin Not Working

Post by balala »