It is currently April 25th, 2024, 2:10 am

Scan desktop rainmeter with bug...

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
CyborgTJB
Posts: 56
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 4:20 am
Location: 26°26'29.14" N, 90°2'2.96" E

Re: Scan desktop rainmeter with bug...

Post by CyborgTJB »

OK, time for simply...
The skin is not crashing the rainmeter when load. It is crashing only on when unload. I have to manually exit from tray b4 edit them. Both of them are contain 98% of same code. so both were causing crash (screenshot uploaded on end).
yes, they do the same in all situation.
1. load one, unload one condition.
2. load two, unload one condition.

Note 1: I really not unload it. But for the shake of develop it has to be...
Note 2: It is happening only on unload situation. Not in refresh situation.
you should replace it with (at least) Update=16 and the !Rainmeter... prefix should be removed.
I uploaded the real one I create. Not the one you suggest to edit. Sorry if I did wrong.
he is trying to create some scanning effect using these 2 .ini files
Yes I do...
leaving no error message in the log.
I don't really see the error reports. I'll keep my eye on it from now.
in my opinion would be better to unify the skins, into one single.
Well, well, how to...???
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CyborG, I love and like to collect and join. :sly:
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 919
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: Scan desktop rainmeter with bug...

Post by kyriakos876 »

CyborgTJB wrote:

Well, well, how to...???

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=16

;==== MEASURES =====

[UpDown]
Measure=Calc
Formula=(Counter % #SCREENAREAHEIGHT#)
DynamicVariable=1

[DownUp]
Measure=Calc
Formula=(#SCREENAREAHEIGHT# - (Counter % #SCREENAREAHEIGHT#))
DynamicVariable=1

;===== METERS ======

[TopToBottom]
Meter=Image
SolidColor=255,0,0
W=#SCREENAREAWIDTH#
H=1
Y=[UpDown]
DynamicVariables=1

[BottomToTop]
Meter=Image
SolidColor=255,0,0
W=#SCREENAREAWIDTH#
H=1
Y=[DownUp]
DynamicVariables=1

This is one way to do it.
(This shouldn't crash when loaded/unloaded or refreshed.)

Keep in mind that this is a little bit heavy for the CPU.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16168
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Scan desktop rainmeter with bug...

Post by balala »

CyborgTJB wrote:I uploaded the real one I create. Not the one you suggest to edit. Sorry if I did wrong.
No problem on my part. I just comment what I see...
CyborgTJB wrote:I don't really see the error reports. I'll keep my eye on it from now.
Do you mean that you don't know where to look for the error messages? If so, right click the Rainmeter notification area icon and click About. In the opening window, check the Log tab. There will you see all messages. It's a very useful tool.
CyborgTJB wrote:Well, well, how to...???
Eg:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=16

;Metadata

[Metadata]
Name=
Author=CyborG
Config=
Description=
Instructions=
Version=
Tags=
License=
Variant=
Preview=

;End of added Metadata

[MeasureMove1]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Counter % #SCREENAREAHEIGHT#
DynamicVariable=1

[MeasureMove2]
Measure=Calc
Formula=#SCREENAREAHEIGHT# - (Counter % #SCREENAREAHEIGHT#)
DynamicVariable=1

[MeasurePositionX]
Measure=Calc
Formula=#SCREENAREAWIDTH#
DynamicVariable=1

[MeterBackground1]
Meter=IMAGE
X=0
Y=[MeasureMove1]
W=1366
H=1
SolidColor=255,0,0,255
DynamicVariables=1

[MeterBackground2]
Meter=IMAGE
X=0
Y=[MeasureMove2]
W=1366
H=1
SolidColor=255,0,0,255
DynamicVariables=1
Note the followings:
  • I replaced / added the [MeasureMove1] and [MeasureMove2] measures to the code. These measures are calculating the positions of the appropriate meters (also see below).
  • The greatest difference between the initial skins and this one is that your initial skins was moving themselves (through the !Move bangs), while in this code, the skin doesn't move, but are moving the meters ([MeterBackground1] and [MeterBackground2]) inside. This is done by the Y options of these two meters (Y=[MeasureMove1], respectively Y=[MeasureMove2]) and also requires the DynamicVariables=1 option, which I added to both meters.
  • I removed some sections which are not needed any more (like [MeasureTrigger] or [MeasurePositionX]).
  • I replaced the Update value ([Rainmeter] section) with Update=16 (we've discussed above why).
  • I moved the Author option from the [Rainmeter], to [Metadata] section, where it belongs now. A while ago, it indeed was an option of the [Rainmeter] section, but there is deprecated, now you should use it on the [Metadata].
User avatar
CyborgTJB
Posts: 56
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 4:20 am
Location: 26°26'29.14" N, 90°2'2.96" E

Re: Scan desktop rainmeter with bug...

Post by CyborgTJB »

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaao..................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Balala, my buddy....
Must better. I mean must best. and smooth.
Hell yes buddy.
I told you. U guess are awesome. I can't explain my happiness right now. :D

I knew where to look for log. But u show me the short cut to access it. Thank you.

It's not only solve the problem of "unload crash" but also solve one extra...
There was a extra problem with that skin. It always stuck on task bar when coming down. :)
But now that one also solve.

You are real hero of my world buddy. I love you. You are awesome.
I'm fully super-duper satisfied with my care. Thanks a lot.
CyborG, I love and like to collect and join. :sly:
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16168
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Scan desktop rainmeter with bug...

Post by balala »

I'm glad if you're so satisfied. It's always a pleasure to help, if I can.
User avatar
CyborgTJB
Posts: 56
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 4:20 am
Location: 26°26'29.14" N, 90°2'2.96" E

Re: Scan desktop rainmeter with bug...

Post by CyborgTJB »

Hey balala, my buddy. You are a person of knowledge buddy. She you in next problem. Thank you so much. I can finally sleep without any pins in my mind's desktop.
CyborG, I love and like to collect and join. :sly: