It is currently April 24th, 2024, 12:12 pm

CPU speed measure?

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
deXxterlab97
Posts: 93
Joined: February 5th, 2017, 4:50 am

CPU speed measure?

Post by deXxterlab97 »

How do you measure CPU freq (speed) w/o using external program like CoreTemp?
Task Manager displays the info nicely for me and it's good enough but Measure=CPU only measure usage
deXxterlab97
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 860
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: CPU speed measure?

Post by CyberTheWorm »

Try reading this https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual-beta/plugins/perfmon/ you will have to find the ones you are looking for but you should be able to get it from there. Have no tried it myself but an interesting idea not to use core temp.

Try adding this as a measure for CPU 0, Core 0 or 0,_Total ,1 ,2 ,3 etc.

Code: Select all

Measure=Plugin
Plugin=PerfMon
PerfMonObject=Processor Information
PerfMonCounter=Processor Frequency
PerfMonInstance=0,0
PerfMonDifference=0
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1387
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: CPU speed measure?

Post by fonpaolo »

You can obtain almost all the informations thru Windows Registry, obviously some are a little difficult to find.

CPU:

Code: Select all

[MeasureCPUName]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0
RegValue=ProcessorNameString
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.*) @.*$":"\1","    ":" ","   ":" ","  ":" ","\(R\)":"","\(TM\)":""

[MeasureCPUID]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0
RegValue=Identifier

[MeasureCPUSpeed]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0
RegValue=~MHz
User avatar
deXxterlab97
Posts: 93
Joined: February 5th, 2017, 4:50 am

Re: CPU speed measure?

Post by deXxterlab97 »

Ah thank you guys
deXxterlab97
User avatar
deXxterlab97
Posts: 93
Joined: February 5th, 2017, 4:50 am

Re: CPU speed measure?

Post by deXxterlab97 »

fonpaolo wrote:You can obtain almost all the informations thru Windows Registry, obviously some are a little difficult to find.

CPU:

Code: Select all

[MeasureCPUName]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0
RegValue=ProcessorNameString
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.*) @.*$":"\1","    ":" ","   ":" ","  ":" ","\(R\)":"","\(TM\)":""

[MeasureCPUID]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0
RegValue=Identifier

[MeasureCPUSpeed]
Measure=Registry
RegHKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
RegKey=HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0
RegValue=~MHz
do you know if it's possible to retrieve something else like CPU VID
deXxterlab97
User avatar
deXxterlab97
Posts: 93
Joined: February 5th, 2017, 4:50 am

Re: CPU speed measure?

Post by deXxterlab97 »

CyberTheWorm wrote:Try reading this https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual-beta/plugins/perfmon/ you will have to find the ones you are looking for but you should be able to get it from there. Have no tried it myself but an interesting idea not to use core temp.

Try adding this as a measure for CPU 0, Core 0 or 0,_Total ,1 ,2 ,3 etc.

Code: Select all

Measure=Plugin
Plugin=PerfMon
PerfMonObject=Processor Information
PerfMonCounter=Processor Frequency
PerfMonInstance=0,0
PerfMonDifference=0
thanks this is really helpful. forgot perfmon was a thing. do i need to run it to retrieve info?
deXxterlab97
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: CPU speed measure?

Post by jsmorley »

deXxterlab97 wrote:thanks this is really helpful. forgot perfmon was a thing. do i need to run it to retrieve info?
No. Rainmeter will directly read the database of values that Perfmon is always maintaining. Perfmon.exe is just a "front end" for it, it's always tracking stuff in Windows.

I do not believe that Processor Frequency in Perfmon is a "real-time" measurement, but is the reported standard value for the processor. I think you might still need CoreTemp to get real time information.
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 860
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: CPU speed measure?

Post by CyberTheWorm »

jsmorley wrote:No. Rainmeter will directly read the database of values that Perfmon is always maintaining. Perfmon.exe is just a "front end" for it, it's always tracking stuff in Windows.

I do not believe that Processor Frequency in Perfmon is a "real-time" measurement, but is the reported standard value for the processor. I think you might still need CoreTemp to get real time information.
When I ran it it was updating the CPU in real time. As you said it is running in the background so it will do real time monitoring.
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 860
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: CPU speed measure?

Post by CyberTheWorm »

deXxterlab97 wrote:thanks this is really helpful. forgot perfmon was a thing. do i need to run it to retrieve info?
You only need to run it to get the values you want to monitor, after that rainmeter will get it.
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1387
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: CPU speed measure?

Post by fonpaolo »

deXxterlab97 wrote:do you know if it's possible to retrieve something else like CPU VID
I think VID is probably the only information you can't obtain thru Windows Registry...
There, you can find informations for Video card, VRAM, Motherboard, RAM, system peripherals and so on.
I can't assure these informations are retrievable from every hardware manufacturer, I tested (only) with some systems and they're all available.