It is currently March 19th, 2024, 5:14 am

Thread for help with the Shape meter

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22632
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by jsmorley »

FreeRaider wrote:This new meter does not want to get into my mind.
I have to admit that we sacrificed some "ease of use" for "extreme power and flexibility" with this meter. Pretty much every attempt to simplify the approach and / or syntax had to be paid for by crippling some creative ability. While we worked really hard, I mean really hard, at making the syntax and "rules" the least user-hostile, and the most consistent we could, we decided early on that a "drawing" meter that couldn't do the sort of stuff needed for creative freedom (within the bounds of what D2D supports) just wasn't worth doing.

We have probably put almost as much time into the documentation as we have the coding... ;-)

We are a bit limited by the .INI file format. The whole [Section], Key=Value deal makes it a challenge to shoehorn a lot of stuff onto one line. A better approach would be an XML structure and SVG drawing commands, but that just can't work in Rainmeter. We have to sleep in the bed made for us in 2001.

It does take some time to wrap your head around, but you will get there.
User avatar
rbriddickk84
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 276
Joined: February 17th, 2014, 12:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by rbriddickk84 »

Greetings! :)

I was just wondering, is that possible to draw this with only one Shape meter?
exam1.jpg
Or just with one corner brake? Or is this still a feature thing?
User avatar
rbriddickk84
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 276
Joined: February 17th, 2014, 12:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by rbriddickk84 »

Ok, well i managed to draw out the outline with Lines, but probably i will not be able to fill it.

Code: Select all


[Button1]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Line 1,1,180,1
Shape2=Line 180,1,200,20
Shape3=Line 200,20,200,50
Shape4=Line 1,50,200,50
Shape5=Line 1,1,1,50

User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22632
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by jsmorley »

rbriddickk84 wrote:Ok, well i managed to draw out the outline with Lines, but probably i will not be able to fill it.

Code: Select all


[Button1]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Line 1,1,180,1
Shape2=Line 180,1,200,20
Shape3=Line 200,20,200,50
Shape4=Line 1,50,200,50
Shape5=Line 1,1,1,50

That will be a Path shape. Coming soon...
User avatar
rbriddickk84
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 276
Joined: February 17th, 2014, 12:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by rbriddickk84 »

jsmorley wrote:That will be a Path shape. Coming soon...
Was just curious, no push, or rush, or anything :D
If that takes 4 months of developing, or more, than that is pretty cool too!!!! You guys are working so fast and hard, that is incredible!!!

Big Ups! :thumbup:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22632
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by jsmorley »

rbriddickk84 wrote:Was just curious, no push, or rush, or anything :D
If that takes 4 months of developing, or more, than that is pretty cool too!!!! You guys are working so fast and hard, that is incredible!!!

Big Ups! :thumbup:
More like 4 days we hope...
User avatar
rbriddickk84
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 276
Joined: February 17th, 2014, 12:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by rbriddickk84 »

jsmorley wrote:More like 4 days we hope...
You guys are amazing! :great:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22632
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by jsmorley »

Should be something like this:

Code: Select all

[MeterShape]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Path MyPath | StrokeWidth 2 | Stroke Color 41,4,2,255 | Fill LinearGradient MyGradient
MyPath=20,2 | LineTo 150,2 | LineTo 170,20 | LineTo 170,60 | LineTo 150,80 | LineTo 20,80 | LineTo 2,60 | LineTo 2,20 | LineTo 20,2 | ClosePath 1
MyGradient=180 | 161,49,43 ; 0.0 | 230,99,92 ; 1.0
1.jpg
Stay tuned...
User avatar
rbriddickk84
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 276
Joined: February 17th, 2014, 12:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by rbriddickk84 »

jsmorley wrote:Should be something like this:

Code: Select all

[MeterShape]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Path MyPath | StrokeWidth 2 | Stroke Color 41,4,2,255 | Fill LinearGradient MyGradient
MyPath=20,2 | LineTo 150,2 | LineTo 170,20 | LineTo 170,60 | LineTo 150,80 | LineTo 20,80 | LineTo 2,60 | LineTo 2,20 | LineTo 20,2 | ClosePath 1
MyGradient=180 | 161,49,43 ; 0.0 | 230,99,92 ; 1.0
Stay tuned...
Oh my Gosh!!!! This will be a pioneer stuff, a whole new level, which will opens countless doors of possibilities!
Once again, awesome artwork!!!

:cheers:
User avatar
FreeRaider
Posts: 826
Joined: November 20th, 2012, 11:58 pm

Re: Thread for help with the new Shape meter

Post by FreeRaider »

In the manual, under path shape, I have noticed there is a CloseShape parameter, but it is wrong as it should be ClosePath.
Post Reply