It is currently April 25th, 2024, 12:52 am

Virtual Desktops and Scrolling Meters

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
trainwreck

Virtual Desktops and Scrolling Meters

Post by trainwreck »

I've been using Rainmeter for a few years to display the contents of a series of text files on the desktop. Nothing graphic or artsy... I just put my tasks for different projects in .txt files and like to see them throughout the day. If I click on one, then it pops up in my text editor.

Two questions:
1. Can I make a meter only appear on a certain desktop? I've searched the forums and found posts on Dexpot and VirtualWin but I'm using WIN10 and really liking it's native virtual desktops. I don't see a need for a 3rd party app. I've looked at Raindexer but wasn't sure if it's really required or not. Is there any direct integration with Win10 virtual desktops? This link (https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/plugins/virtualdesktops/) says that "Only Dexpot and VirtuaWin are currently supported".

2. I was looking at the manual and saw some information on actions for the mouse scroll wheel. Is it possible for the text displayed in the meter to be scrollable while I hover over that meter?

Thanks.
balala
Rainmeter Sage

Re: Virtual Desktops and Scrolling Meters

Post by balala »

trainwreck wrote:2. I was looking at the manual and saw some information on actions for the mouse scroll wheel. Is it possible for the text displayed in the meter to be scrollable while I hover over that meter?
Even if not the way as Windows handles this, a sort of scroll is possible. The following code does it:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=80,80,80,160

[Variables]
Y=0
Offset=175