It is currently March 9th, 2021, 11:32 am

Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
Mor3bane
Posts: 944
Joined: May 7th, 2016, 7:32 am

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by Mor3bane »

Hopefully this will not add to the chaos.

I have been using Round iTunes skin for quite a while. I have a self-made album art skin. I also am editing various other skins almost constantly.

Then for no reason both skins stopped reporting, or worked only partially - track name showed but not art etc.

I refreshed both skins. Nothing.

Then no reporting at all - no track name no index meter - nothing.

I did a restart on my Win 10 pc. Still nothing from both meters. Ya?

Refreshed both meters again - bang. working. Very strange behaviour. Has not reoccurred. This was yesterday.
My DevArt Gallery

There are many ways to be different - there is only one way to be yourself - be amazing at it

The law of averages says what it means; even if you get everything right, you will get something wrong. Therefore; self managing error trapping initiates another set of averages - amongst the errors, some of them will not be errors, instead those instances will appear to be "luck". One cannot complain of the 'appearance' of 'infinite regress of causation', even if it does not have a predictable pattern, only that it requires luck to achieve.
iiFlux
Posts: 28
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 8:34 am

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by iiFlux »

Whoops double post
iiFlux
Posts: 28
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 8:34 am

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by iiFlux »

balala wrote:Just to check if the NowPlaying plugin works properly, try the following extremely simple code:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1
AccurateText=1

[MeasurePlayer]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=NowPlaying
PlayerName=WMP
PlayerType=Title

[MeterPlayer]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=MeasurePlayer
X=0
Y=0
Padding=10,5,10,5
FontColor=220,220,220
SolidColor=0,0,0,150
FontSize=8
FontFace=Segoe UI
StringStyle=BOLD
StringAlign=LEFT
AntiAlias=1
Text=Title: %1
It should work with WMP and should show just the title of the song, nothing else. Is it working?
Might be getting onto something now?
It didn't work.
iiFlux
Posts: 28
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 8:34 am

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by iiFlux »

iiFlux wrote:Might be getting onto something now?
It didn't work.
The "Title:" showed up, but no track.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 12355
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by balala »

iiFlux wrote:It didn't work.
It means that after all, there's something with the plugin. Maybe a clean reinstall of the latest Rainmeter, could help? I'm not sure, but maybe it worth a try.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 12355
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by balala »

Or maybe before reinstall, replace the PlayerName option of the [MeasurePlayer] with PlayerName=CAD and try again. Is it working with MusicBee?
iiFlux
Posts: 28
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 8:34 am

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by iiFlux »

balala wrote:It means that after all, there's something with the plugin. Maybe a clean reinstall of the latest Rainmeter, could help? I'm not sure, but maybe it worth a try.
Already tried a reinstall? But sure I'll try again tomorrow.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 12355
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by balala »

iiFlux wrote:Already tried a reinstall? But sure I'll try again tomorrow.
Before reinstall: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?p=124788#p124788
iiFlux
Posts: 28
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 8:34 am

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by iiFlux »

Tried this with the main player.ini and it didn't work
Will try your minimal player that just displays the title with musicbee tomorrow (on my phone now). Thanks for the help all day :)
I'll try it tomorrow - if it doesn't work I'll reinstal then tell you what happened
iiFlux
Posts: 28
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 8:34 am

Re: Restarted PC and now Player isn't working?

Post by iiFlux »

Ok - I tried your minimal player with MusicBee. It didn't work.
I can try reinstalling a final time (done once already and nothing happened) - should I use 4.0 or 3.3.2?