It is currently March 28th, 2024, 6:55 pm

Putting a picture on desktop

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Matosh
Posts: 5
Joined: April 24th, 2016, 12:03 pm

Putting a picture on desktop

Post by Matosh »

Hey,
So im trying to put a logo next to some text but i can't seem to find it on my desktop so i guess i did something wrong.
The code that i was using to call upon the picture is this:

[MeterLaunchSteamImage]
Meter=Image
ImagePath=#@#Images\SteamIcon.png
W=32
h=32
X=5
Y=5
LeftMouseUpAction["C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steam.exe"]

Maybe anyone knows why i can't seem to find the picture on my desktop

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Putting a picture on desktop

Post by jsmorley »

Matosh wrote:Hey,
So im trying to put a logo next to some text but i can't seem to find it on my desktop so i guess i did something wrong.
The code that i was using to call upon the picture is this:

[MeterLaunchSteamImage]
Meter=Image
ImagePath=#@#Images\SteamIcon.png
W=32
h=32
X=5
Y=5
LeftMouseUpAction["C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steam.exe"]

Maybe anyone knows why i can't seem to find the picture on my desktop

Thanks in advance.
No idea, looks fine. What is in About / Log ?
Matosh
Posts: 5
Joined: April 24th, 2016, 12:03 pm

Re: Putting a picture on desktop

Post by Matosh »

Logs look fine i don't see anything that would suggest an error.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Putting a picture on desktop

Post by jsmorley »

Matosh wrote:Logs look fine i don't see anything that would suggest an error.
Dooh! Sorry, it should be:

ImageName=#@#Images\SteamIcon.png
Matosh
Posts: 5
Joined: April 24th, 2016, 12:03 pm

Re: Putting a picture on desktop

Post by Matosh »

Okay it seems like that is the piece of code i need to use but now i do get an error in the code saying it is unable to open the image.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Putting a picture on desktop

Post by jsmorley »

Matosh wrote:Okay it seems like that is the piece of code i need to use but now i do get an error in the code saying it is unable to open the image.
So you need to ensure that the image is where you think it is.

Based on:

ImageName=#@#Images\SteamIcon.png

It will need to be in a folder called @Resources\Images that will be under the root config folder of your skin.

Go find the image in Windows Explorer, right-click it, and say "Copy as path". Paste that here.
Matosh
Posts: 5
Joined: April 24th, 2016, 12:03 pm

Re: Putting a picture on desktop

Post by Matosh »

Would it work if i would paste the whole path instead of only #@#Images\SteamIcon.png?

This it the path C:\Users\Matosh\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\Tutorial\Launcher\@resources\Images\SteamIcon.png
Matosh
Posts: 5
Joined: April 24th, 2016, 12:03 pm

Re: Putting a picture on desktop

Post by Matosh »

I got it!
Thanks for the amazing fast help!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Putting a picture on desktop

Post by jsmorley »

Matosh wrote:I got it!
Thanks for the amazing fast help!
Glad to help. For future reference in this path:

C:\Users\Matosh\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\Tutorial\Launcher\@resources\Images

The variable #@# will refer to

C:\Users\Matosh\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\Tutorial\@resources

So you really should put the images in

C:\Users\Matosh\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\Tutorial\@resources\Images

Root config folder is the highest level right below Skins where your skin lives.

So the config name would be

Tutorial\Launcher

The root config name would be

Totorial

and the root config folder would be

C:\Users\Matosh\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\Tutorial

@Resources must be in the root config folder to work correctly.
tomohaha3
Posts: 2
Joined: November 4th, 2017, 5:18 am

Re: Putting a picture on desktop

Post by tomohaha3 »

Do you happen to still have the skin? I'd also like to have one but I don't know how to create one from scratch.