It is currently March 28th, 2024, 7:22 pm

Weather not working?

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
moshi
Posts: 1740
Joined: November 13th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Re: Weather not working?

Post by moshi »

for this specific case i'd recommend Weather Underground. it claims to report from Charters Towers Airport, which should be close enough.
for testing you might try this skin: http://moshiab.deviantart.com/art/Sphynx-Weather-Underground-591742351
and set Location1=1095021
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Weather not working?

Post by jsmorley »

moshi wrote:for this specific case i'd recommend Weather Underground. it claims to report from Charters Towers Airport, which should be close enough.
for testing you might try this skin: http://moshiab.deviantart.com/art/Sphynx-Weather-Underground-591742351
and set Location1=1095021
Yeah, if there is an airport in Charter Towers, I'm a bit surprised Weather.com doesn't use it. Airports are generally the first places any weather site uses, since an airport always, always has weather reporting capabilities. Pilots are all about the weather.
User avatar
moshi
Posts: 1740
Joined: November 13th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Re: Weather not working?

Post by moshi »

i was surprised as well, but there's no METAR/TAF data for this one.

at a closer look, there doesn't seem to be too frequent updates on the observations here:
http://api.wunderground.com/auto/wui/geo/WXCurrentObXML/index.xml?query=-20.081011,146.26918

Code: Select all

<observation_time>Last Updated on March 30, 9:00 AM AEST</observation_time>
mcpaton should probably build a custom skin using this:
http://api.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXCurrentObXML.asp?ID=IQUEENSL860
camineet
Posts: 3
Joined: March 29th, 2016, 1:24 am

Re: Weather not working?

Post by camineet »

jsmorley wrote:camineet,




Change
Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?w=#CurrentCode#&u=#Unit#

To

Url=http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?w=#CurrentCode#&u=#Unit#

Save and refresh Rainmeter.

As to WindDir, yeah, it does require that you set the WOEID as well, just edit the WindDir.ini file, and put your information in:

Code: Select all

[Variables]
Location=23418210
Unit=f
However, there may be an issue with WindDir on your system. Looks to me like you might be using just a solid blue background for your desktop, instead of some "wallpaper" image. The Chameleon plugin in WindDir might be setting the color of the text and the background of the circle to the same, or close to the same color.

ty kindly, all are working now :rofl:

why isn't rainmeter commercialized more? i see it on lifehacker but it seems to be just a tool for enthusiasts.

i feel this program should be more readily available to regular shmoes. for something that's been around for as long as rainmeter, i'm surprised it's not gone commercial.

i'm joe mcmillan type with cs minor, mba, and a fully licensed shrink managing a couple of businesses. inviting anyone interested in talking with me about packaging this underappreciated and under-distributed program for its rightful place on more systems :thumbup:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Weather not working?

Post by jsmorley »

camineet wrote:ty kindly, all are working now :rofl:

why isn't rainmeter commercialized more? i see it on lifehacker but it seems to be just a tool for enthusiasts.

i feel this program should be more readily available to regular shmoes. for something that's been around for as long as rainmeter, i'm surprised it's not gone commercial.

i'm joe mcmillan type with cs minor, mba, and a fully licensed shrink managing a couple of businesses. inviting anyone interested in talking with me about packaging this underappreciated and under-distributed program for its rightful place on more systems :thumbup:
We certainly have absolutely no interest in any "commercialization" of Rainmeter in the sense of monetization. In fact, you run the risk of at best being ignored and at worst insulted in these forums for suggesting it. It IS in fact a tool for "hobbyist" or "enthusiast" users, is open-source and free, and always will be.

Pointing out that you are a "Joe MacMillian" type is not your best argument. Didn't he destroy the company, and pretty much ruin the lives of everyone he came in contact with, including his own? ;-)

Maybe you think we should bundle some browser toolbars with the installer? How about selling having a "premium" version that removes the ads for Viagra that we embed in every skin created with it? This is an "open source" project. The forums are even hosted at the Open Source Lab at Oregon State University, and we are fully committed to everything that open source stands for.

I'm not even sure we would be interested in trying to make Rainmeter more "mainstream" at all. While it can be used by anyone with a Windows PC, and there are a lot of skins out there that can be used as-is without any knowledge of Rainmeter skin code or how Rainmeter even really works, that isn't the point of it really. It's really more of a "toolkit" in support of your own imagination and creativity.

A guitar makes music. A radio makes music. If you want a radio, Rainmeter is the wrong program for you.
thesoundofthings
Posts: 1
Joined: March 30th, 2016, 4:47 pm

Re: Weather not working?

Post by thesoundofthings »

jsmorley wrote:
Edit
"C:\Users\YourName\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\Enigma\@Resources\Measures\YahooWeather.inc"

Find this measure:

Code: Select all

[MeasureYahooWeather]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
UpdateRate=1800
Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?w=#CurrentCode#&u=#Unit#
RegExp=(?siU)<link.*>(.*)</link>.*city=\"(.*)\".*region=\"(.*)\".*country=\"(.*)\".*temperature=\"(.*)\".*distance=\"(.*)\".*pressure=\"(.*)\".*speed=\"(.*)\".*chill=\"(.*)\".*direction=\"(.*)\".*speed=\"(.*)\".*humidity=\"(.*)\".*visibility=\"(.*)\".*pressure=\"(.*)\".*rising=\"(.*)\".*sunrise=\"(.*)\".*sunset=\"(.*)\".*<title>.*:.*m .*(.*)</title>.*lat>(.*)<.*long>(.*)<.*yweather:condition.*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*temp=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*low=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*low=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*
StringIndex=1
Change
Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?w=#CurrentCode#&u=#Unit#

To

Url=http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?w=#CurrentCode#&u=#Unit#
Many thanks, jsmorley, for all your help with this!
TallShultzy
Posts: 62
Joined: March 30th, 2016, 5:02 pm

Re: Weather not working?

Post by TallShultzy »

I have your skin [WXDataWeather] and its stopped working. The error from the log is

DBUG (18:10:15.722) WXDataWeather\WXDataWeather.ini - [WeatherParent]: WebParser: Fetching: http://wxdata.weather.com/wxdata/weather/local/UKXX1423?cc=*&unit=m&dayf=6
ERRO (18:11:15.727) WXDataWeather\WXDataWeather.ini - [WeatherParent]: WebParser: (Fetch error) The operation timed out (ErrorCode=12002)

I have loaded the weather.com site and its working ok. Any ideas?
User avatar
moshi
Posts: 1740
Joined: November 13th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Re: Weather not working?

Post by moshi »

TallShultzy wrote:I have your skin [WXDataWeather] and its stopped working. The error from the log is

DBUG (18:10:15.722) WXDataWeather\WXDataWeather.ini - [WeatherParent]: WebParser: Fetching: http://wxdata.weather.com/wxdata/weather/local/UKXX1423?cc=*&unit=m&dayf=6
ERRO (18:11:15.727) WXDataWeather\WXDataWeather.ini - [WeatherParent]: WebParser: (Fetch error) The operation timed out (ErrorCode=12002)

I have loaded the weather.com site and its working ok. Any ideas?
probably nothing a reboot won't fix.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Weather not working?

Post by jsmorley »

TallShultzy wrote:I have your skin [WXDataWeather] and its stopped working. The error from the log is

DBUG (18:10:15.722) WXDataWeather\WXDataWeather.ini - [WeatherParent]: WebParser: Fetching: http://wxdata.weather.com/wxdata/weather/local/UKXX1423?cc=*&unit=m&dayf=6
ERRO (18:11:15.727) WXDataWeather\WXDataWeather.ini - [WeatherParent]: WebParser: (Fetch error) The operation timed out (ErrorCode=12002)

I have loaded the weather.com site and its working ok. Any ideas?


Try restarting Rainmeter.
TallShultzy
Posts: 62
Joined: March 30th, 2016, 5:02 pm

Re: Weather not working?

Post by TallShultzy »

Restarting Rainmeter worked but I've been able to recreate the problem by rolling the mouse wheel when over the skin (which is what I did the first time).