It is currently March 29th, 2024, 1:04 am

Weather not working?

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
nobodyx01
Posts: 5
Joined: March 25th, 2016, 2:32 am

Re: Weather not working?

Post by nobodyx01 »

I'm confused on what the link is exactly for :/
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Weather not working?

Post by jsmorley »

nobodyx01 wrote:I'm confused on what the link is exactly for :/
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=23010
User avatar
moshi
Posts: 1740
Joined: November 13th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Re: Weather not working?

Post by moshi »

one piece of advice:

some people use the link in the feed to have a shortcut to the Yahoo! Weather website.

Code: Select all

<link>
http://us.rd.yahoo.com/dailynews/rss/weather/Innsbruck__AT/*http://weather.yahoo.com/forecast/AUXX0010_c.html
</link>
http://us.rd.yahoo.com/dailynews/rss/weather/Innsbruck__AT/*http://weather.yahoo.com/forecast/AUXX0010_c.html
those don't work anymore.



a link should look like this:

Code: Select all

https://weather.yahoo.com/austria/tyrol/innsbruck-550763/
https://weather.yahoo.com/austria/tyrol/innsbruck-550763/



but don't worry. actually all that matters is the WOEID. this will work:

Code: Select all

https://weather.yahoo.com/country/state/city-550763/
https://weather.yahoo.com/country/state/city-550763/
(yes, it's literally country/state/city)
User avatar
SquaredCircle
Posts: 24
Joined: April 23rd, 2015, 11:36 pm

Re: Weather not working?

Post by SquaredCircle »

moshi wrote:here's something for you all:

http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?w=550763&u=c
Awesome! Thank you!
User avatar
brinkeguthrie
Posts: 24
Joined: March 12th, 2016, 3:35 am

Re: Weather not working?

Post by brinkeguthrie »

er, i'm bamboozled. how do I get it to work again? here's the code:

[MeasureWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
UpdateRate=1800
Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=USCA0247&u=f
RegExp=(?siU)<link.*>(.*)</link>.*city=\"(.*)\".*sunrise=\"(.*)\".*sunset=\"(.*)\".*<image>.*<url>(.*)</url>.*<title>.*:.*m .*(.*)</title>.*lat>(.*)<.*long>(.*)<.*yweather:condition.*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*temp=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*
StringIndex=1
; The default weather is set to Los Angeles (code=USCA1192), to get your Weather Code visit (weather.yahoo.com)
; type in your Zip Code, click the RSS button, your code will be in the address bar.
; At the end of the weather URL above you'll see "f" for Fahrenheit, change it to "c" for Celsius.

[MeasureWeatherDesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=9

[MeasureWeatherTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=11
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Weather not working?

Post by jsmorley »

brinkeguthrie wrote:er, i'm bamboozled. how do I get it to work again? here's the code:

[MeasureWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
UpdateRate=1800
Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=USCA0247&u=f
RegExp=(?siU)<link.*>(.*)</link>.*city=\"(.*)\".*sunrise=\"(.*)\".*sunset=\"(.*)\".*<image>.*<url>(.*)</url>.*<title>.*:.*m .*(.*)</title>.*lat>(.*)<.*long>(.*)<.*yweather:condition.*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*temp=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*
StringIndex=1
; The default weather is set to Los Angeles (code=USCA1192), to get your Weather Code visit (weather.yahoo.com)
; type in your Zip Code, click the RSS button, your code will be in the address bar.
; At the end of the weather URL above you'll see "f" for Fahrenheit, change it to "c" for Celsius.

[MeasureWeatherDesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=9

[MeasureWeatherTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=11
Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=USCA0247&u=f
URL=http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?p=USCA0247&u=f
User avatar
brinkeguthrie
Posts: 24
Joined: March 12th, 2016, 3:35 am

Re: Weather not working?

Post by brinkeguthrie »

perfect, ty!
User avatar
brinkeguthrie
Posts: 24
Joined: March 12th, 2016, 3:35 am

Re: Weather not working?

Post by brinkeguthrie »

PS let me ask u this---

can I make it so it gets local weather from other than Yahoo Weather? Their temp is always off.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Weather not working?

Post by jsmorley »

brinkeguthrie wrote:PS let me ask u this---

can I make it so it gets local weather from other than Yahoo Weather? Their temp is always off.
Sure, but that would be a far bigger project than just changing the URL.

I doubt that the temperature is really that far off with Yahoo! They use the same data that Weather.com does, and It's really pretty accurate. You might check that the WOEID that you are using is really the closest one to you, and that you have the UpdateDivider on the parent WebParser measure set to say 600 (or not defined at all) so it is checking the feed every 10 minutes.
User avatar
brinkeguthrie
Posts: 24
Joined: March 12th, 2016, 3:35 am

Re: Weather not working?

Post by brinkeguthrie »

aha i see. off the top of your head, are there any other skins than elegance that do weather, and have the same look?