It is currently March 29th, 2024, 7:13 am

Activating another skin

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Activating another skin

Post by balala »

Altough Active Colors used, he didn't highlight it, so, the
Kureshai wrote:ImageName=@Resources\Images\GamesFolderClosed.png
should be written as ImageName=#@#Images\GamesFolderClosed.png and
Kureshai wrote:ImageName=@Resources\Images\GamesFolderOpen.png
as ImageName=#@#Images\GamesFolderOpen.png.
In other terms, use the @Resources\ folder as #@# (details).
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Activating another skin

Post by jsmorley »

I think it is worth expanding a bit on why balala points out that the #@# variable should be used in place of @Resrources.

If you use the relative path @Resources\Images, that means that the skin will look for @Resources in the same folder as the skin's .ini file. That may be, but it also may not. @Resources must be at the root config level of the skin. So in many cases, the @Resources folder will be a level or more "above" the skin's folder in the tree.

The #@# variable resolves this for you. It knows how to find the @Resources folder for your skin, no matter where the root config folder for that skin happens to be.

So it's a really good habit to get into to just always use #@# instead of specifying @Resources.

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/skins/resources-folder/
KrupeshAnadkat
Posts: 3
Joined: January 5th, 2018, 4:30 am

Re: Activating another skin

Post by KrupeshAnadkat »

This Is Complete Guide on Activating other skin from current skin:

Theme to activate location: C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\My Skin
(at the above location Shapes.ini file is located.)

Current Skin file thru which other skin file is to be loaded is below:
its location is : C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\My Skin\Folder

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
;----------------------current skin file, thru this Shapes.ini is activated/skin is loaded
[Box1]
Meter=Shape
x=0
y=0
Shape=Rectangle 0,0,50,50 | Fill Color 0,0,0,180 | Stroke Color 0,0,0,0
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute [!RainmeterToggleConfig "My Skin" Shapes.ini]

Note that: write your skin folder name within inverted comma if it contains SPACE in its name, otherwise without inverted commas also it would work.

Feel free to post questions, i am active user till my project is over.
KrupeshAnadkat
Posts: 3
Joined: January 5th, 2018, 4:30 am

Re: Activating another skin

Post by KrupeshAnadkat »

This Is Complete Guide on Activating other skin from current skin:

Theme to activate location: C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\My Skin
(at the above location Shapes.ini file is located.)

Current Skin file thru which other skin file is to be loaded is below:
its location is : C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\My Skin\Folder

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
;----------------------current skin file, thru this Shapes.ini is activated/skin is loaded
[Box1]
Meter=Shape
x=0
y=0
Shape=Rectangle 0,0,50,50 | Fill Color 0,0,0,180 | Stroke Color 0,0,0,0
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute [!RainmeterToggleConfig "My Skin" Shapes.ini]

Note that: write your skin folder name within inverted comma if it contains SPACE in its name, otherwise without inverted commas also it would work.

Feel free to post questions, i am active user till my project is over.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Activating another skin

Post by jsmorley »

Please don't use !Execute, it is deprecated.

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/bangs/#Execute
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Activating another skin

Post by balala »

jsmorley wrote:Please don't use !Execute, it is deprecated.

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/bangs/#Execute
And also deprecated is the !Rainmeter bang prefix, too. Also should avoid using it: https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/bangs/#Rainmeter