It is currently March 28th, 2024, 12:20 pm

Checking Network Adapter...

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Post Reply
User avatar
brax64
Posts: 172
Joined: July 8th, 2018, 8:05 pm

Checking Network Adapter...

Post by brax64 »

Hi all,

This is the code I've came up with:

Code: Select all


[Variables]
Adapter=Kaspersky Security Data Escort Adapter
U2=[!UpdateMeterGroup IP][!Redraw]
path=#@#Images\

[Adapter]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SysInfo
SysInfoType=ADAPTER_DESCRIPTION
SysInfoData=Best
DynamicVariables=1
Substitute="#Adapter#":"1","Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller":"0"

[WAN]
Measure=WebParser
URL=https://api.ipify.org/
RegExp=^(.*)$
StringIndex=1
UpdateRate=600

[VPNCheck]
Measure=Calc
Formula=[Adapter]
IfCondition=VPNCheck = 1
IfTrueAction=[!SetOption VPNIcon ImageName "#path#vpnon.png"][!SetOption IPText Text "[*WAN*]"]#U2#
IfCondition2=VPNCheck = 0
IfTrueAction2=[!SetOption VPNIcon ImageName "#path#vpnoff.png"][!SetOption IPText Text "VPN is off . . ."]#U2#
DynamicVariables=1

[VPNIcon]
Meter=Image
Group=IP
ToolTipText=VPN
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
X=75
Y=535
W=30

[IPText]
Meter=String
Group=IP
MeterStyle=TextStyle
X=45r
Y=8r
DynamicVariables=1
It's working but I've few question about it:

- How can I avoid to describe the default adapter (Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller) but simply verify if the Kaspersky one (VPN) is in use or not? If I don't describe the default adapter (Realtek), can't use !IfFalseAction instead of !IfCondition2 in the [VPNCheck] measure because i get an error (Calc: "Realtek" is unknown (Gruvy\Dash\Gruvy.ini - [VPNCheck])

- How can I update the [WAN] measure on the fly when [Adapter] measure's value change and leave the UpdateRate=600 just to check periodically if the IP address has changed (Kaspersky VPN it change address randomly, I guess it depends by traffic in order to get the best service...)

- Why, in order to make it works, I've to use [!SetOption IPText Text "[*WAN*]" instead of [!SetOption IPText Text "[WAN]"]
Last edited by brax64 on September 16th, 2020, 2:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16109
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Checking Network Adapter...

Post by balala »

brax64 wrote: September 15th, 2020, 7:30 pm - Why, in order to make it works, I've to use [!SetOption IPText Text "[*WAN*]" instead of [!SetOption IPText Text "[WAN]"]
Because of this: https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/skins/option-types/#AsteriskEscape
User avatar
brax64
Posts: 172
Joined: July 8th, 2018, 8:05 pm

Re: Checking Network Adapter...

Post by brax64 »

brax64 wrote: September 15th, 2020, 7:30 pm - How can I avoid to describe the default adapter (Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller) but simply verify if the Kaspersky one (VPN) is in use or not? If I don't describe the default adapter (Realtek), can't use !IfFalseAction instead of !IfCondition2 in the [VPNCheck] measure because i get an error (Calc: "Realtek" is unknown (Gruvy\Dash\Gruvy.ini - [VPNCheck])

- How can I update the [WAN] measure on the fly when [Adapter] measure's value change and leave the UpdateRate=600 just to check periodically if the IP address has changed (Kaspersky VPN it change address randomly, I guess it depends by traffic in order to get the best service...)
Found a solution myself with this:

Code: Select all

[WAN]
Measure=WebParser
URL=https://api.ipify.org/
RegExp=^(.*)$
StringIndex=1
UpdateRate=600

[Adapter]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SysInfo
SysInfoType=ADAPTER_DESCRIPTION
SysInfoData=Best
DynamicVariables=1

[VPNCheck]
Measure=String
String=[Adapter]
DynamicVariables=1
IfMatch=#Adapter#
IfMatchAction=[!SetOption VPNIcon ImageName "#path#vpnon.png"][!SetOption IPText Text "[*WAN*]"]#U2#
IfNotMatchAction=[!SetOption VPNIcon ImageName "#path#vpnoff.png"][!SetOption IPText Text "VPN is off . . ."]#U2#
OnChangeAction=[!CommandMeasure WAN "Update"]
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7017
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Checking Network Adapter...

Post by Yincognito »

brax64 wrote: September 16th, 2020, 2:20 am Found a solution myself with this:

Code: Select all

[WAN]
Measure=WebParser
URL=https://api.ipify.org/
RegExp=^(.*)$
StringIndex=1
UpdateRate=600

[Adapter]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SysInfo
SysInfoType=ADAPTER_DESCRIPTION
SysInfoData=Best
DynamicVariables=1

[VPNCheck]
Measure=String
String=[Adapter]
DynamicVariables=1
IfMatch=#Adapter#
IfMatchAction=[!SetOption VPNIcon ImageName "#path#vpnon.png"][!SetOption IPText Text "[*WAN*]"]#U2#
IfNotMatchAction=[!SetOption VPNIcon ImageName "#path#vpnoff.png"][!SetOption IPText Text "VPN is off . . ."]#U2#
OnChangeAction=[!CommandMeasure WAN "Update"]
See, that was easy - no point in using numerical IfConditions where string capable IfMatches can do. By the way, if the U2 variable or other considerations in your skin don't interfere with this, you can get rid of [VPNCheck] and move your IfMatch and OnChangeAction directly into [Adapter]. Creating duplicate measures is useful in cases where you can't do what you want in the original measure, but I doubt this is such a case here...
User avatar
brax64
Posts: 172
Joined: July 8th, 2018, 8:05 pm

Re: Checking Network Adapter...

Post by brax64 »

Yincognito wrote: September 16th, 2020, 8:21 am See, that was easy - no point in using numerical IfConditions where string capable IfMatches can do. By the way, if the U2 variable or other considerations in your skin don't interfere with this, you can get rid of [VPNCheck] and move your IfMatch and OnChangeAction directly into [Adapter]. Creating duplicate measures is useful in cases where you can't do what you want in the original measure, but I doubt this is such a case here...
Hi Yincognito,

Thank for the tip! Moved IfMatch and OnChangeAction directly to the [Adapter] measure and got rid off the [VPNCheck] measure, nice and clean!
Sometimes I miss simple solutions and get lost over thinking the problem... well, I'm happy 'cause I've been able to find a solution and learnt a little more :)
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7017
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Checking Network Adapter...

Post by Yincognito »

brax64 wrote: September 16th, 2020, 10:01 am Hi Yincognito,

Thank for the tip! Moved IfMatch and OnChangeAction directly to the [Adapter] measure and got rid off the [VPNCheck] measure, nice and clean!
Sometimes I miss simple solutions and get lost over thinking the problem... well, I'm happy 'cause I've been able to find a solution and learnt a little more :)
Yeah, no problem. It's simple things like these that can shorten the code, since the length and the redundancy of the code is one of the things users keep mentioning (read complaining) about when it comes to Rainmeter.
Post Reply