It is currently March 28th, 2024, 9:11 pm

Changing nowplaying.dll for GPMDPPlugin.dll

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
BobbyWasabi98
Posts: 4
Joined: March 26th, 2020, 1:52 am

Changing nowplaying.dll for GPMDPPlugin.dll

Post by BobbyWasabi98 »

So I am using the Gemini suite right now, and it does not officially support GMPDP, but I use monstercat so I have the GPMDP plugin, so I had to do some basic changing lines to use the GPMDP plugin instead of nowplaying, and it works for the most part, the issues I'm having is instead of having the artist, it just repeats the name of the song, the pause play button works, but it just stays as the triangle thing, and finally it doesnt show the album art, Im only very entry level when it comes to programming, so if anyone could give me a hand I would appreciate it, I tried contacting the OC, but to no avail

what mine looks like with GPMDP
https://prnt.sc/rmvg4j

What his looks like with spotify
https://prnt.sc/rmvh3u

And here is my pastepin of the little bit I Changed
https://pastebin.com/RL6bgiNR

Here is the link to Gemini
https://www.deviantart.com/trucola/art/The-Gemini-Suite-805582955

note, I had to leave the Measure state section as Nowplaying.dll, if I changed it, it made the pause/play button disappear, thank you for your help in advance!

If any more information is needed, I will be more than pleased to provide it!
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5383
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Changing nowplaying.dll for GPMDPPlugin.dll

Post by eclectic-tech »

This works for me, replace this section of 'Gemini\Sidebar\Pollux.ini'

Code: Select all

:x----- Measure : Section 4 : Music / Artist -----x:
[MeasurePlayer]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=GPMDPPlugin
PlayerInfo=Title

[MeasureCover]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=GPMDPPlugin
PlayerInfo=Cover
CoverPath=#@#Images\cover.png

[MeasureArtist]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=GPMDPPlugin
PlayerInfo=Artist
Substitute="":"N/A"

[MeasureState]
Measure=Plugin
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=GPMDPPlugin
PlayerInfo=State
 Substitute="0":"#@#\Icons\playmusic.png","1":"#@#\Icons\pause.png","2":"#@#\Icons\playmusic.png"

BobbyWasabi98
Posts: 4
Joined: March 26th, 2020, 1:52 am

Re: Changing nowplaying.dll for GPMDPPlugin.dll

Post by BobbyWasabi98 »

eclectic-tech wrote: March 26th, 2020, 12:16 pm This works for me, replace this section of 'Gemini\Sidebar\Pollux.ini'

Code: Select all

:x----- Measure : Section 4 : Music / Artist -----x:
[MeasurePlayer]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=GPMDPPlugin
PlayerInfo=Title

[MeasureCover]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=GPMDPPlugin
PlayerInfo=Cover
CoverPath=#@#Images\cover.png

[MeasureArtist]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=GPMDPPlugin
PlayerInfo=Artist
Substitute="":"N/A"

[MeasureState]
Measure=Plugin
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=GPMDPPlugin
PlayerInfo=State
 Substitute="0":"#@#\Icons\playmusic.png","1":"#@#\Icons\pause.png","2":"#@#\Icons\playmusic.png"

Wow yes, that worked perfectly, thank you! also does your weather work? Mine seems to not be displaying any weather and I cant figure that out either
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5383
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Changing nowplaying.dll for GPMDPPlugin.dll

Post by eclectic-tech »

BobbyWasabi98 wrote: March 26th, 2020, 1:29 pm Wow yes, that worked perfectly, thank you! also does your weather work? Mine seems to not be displaying any weather and I cant figure that out either
That will require a bit more work...
I won't be able to help with that for a day or two... but I will look into it, if someone here doesn't beat me to it! :sly:
BobbyWasabi98
Posts: 4
Joined: March 26th, 2020, 1:52 am

Re: Changing nowplaying.dll for GPMDPPlugin.dll

Post by BobbyWasabi98 »

eclectic-tech wrote: March 26th, 2020, 3:06 pm That will require a bit more work...
I won't be able to help with that for a day or two... but I will look into it, if someone here doesn't beat me to it! :sly:
Haha no issue, and thank you so much! This is my first post here, I always just post on reddit, and I'm not used to someone actually being helpful haha
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5383
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Changing nowplaying.dll for GPMDPPlugin.dll

Post by eclectic-tech »

BobbyWasabi98 wrote: March 26th, 2020, 3:53 pm Haha no issue, and thank you so much! This is my first post here, I always just post on reddit, and I'm not used to someone actually being helpful haha
Found some time to look at the weather; the method used is no longer available, so here is some code that uses IsItRaining to get the current temp and condition.

Replace [MeasureWeather], [MeasureTempUnit], [MeasureWeatherTemp], and [MeasureWeatherCond] with this code:

Code: Select all

:x----- Measure : Section 1A : Weather -----x:
[MeasureWebParser]
Measure=WebParser
UserAgent=Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:73.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/73.0
URL=https://isitraining.in/#Location#
RegExp=(?siU)^(.*)$
; StringIndex=1
UpdateRate=1800
FinishAction=[!EnableMeasureGroup WeatherNow] [!UpdateMeasureGroup WeatherNow][!ShowMeterGroup WeatherDetails]
OnConnectErrorAction=[!Log "No Connection to the site." Error][!About]
OnRegExpErrorAction=[!Log "Please check your weather location." Error][!About]

[MeasureDescription]
Group=WeatherNow
Disabled=1
Measure=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWebParser]
RegExp=(?siU).*\[description] => (.*)\n.*
StringIndex=1
StringIndex2=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.*)\.\s+(.*)\.$":"\1 & \2"
DecodeCharacterReference=1

[MeasureWeatherCond]
Group=WeatherNow
Disabled=1
Measure=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWebParser]
RegExp=(?siU).*\[SkyDescription] => (.*)\n.*
StringIndex=1
StringIndex2=1
DecodeCharacterReference=1

[MeasureTemperatureC]
Group=WeatherNow
Disabled=1
Measure=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWebParser]
RegExp=(?siU).*\[Temperature] => (.*)\n.*
StringIndex=1
StringIndex2=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.*)\..*$":"\1"

[MeasureWeatherTemp]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Round((9/5 * MeasureTemperatureC + 32) + 0.5)
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureTempUnit]
Group=WeatherNow
Disabled=1
Measure=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWebParser]
RegExp=(?siU).*\[TemperatureDesc] => (.*)\n.*
StringIndex=1
StringIndex2=1
DecodeCharacterReference=1

The temperature is in Celsius in the code and converted to Fahrenheit; if you want Celsius value then change the section name [MeasureTemperatureC] to [MeasureWeatherTemp] and rename the old [MeasureWeatherTemp] as [MeasureTemperatureF], save and refresh the skin.

Note: There are multiple error messages in the log due to a missing parenthesis in ROTATIONANGLE=(Rad(360)) ... I would recommend going through the code and add the missing parenthesis to every line where it is missing...
BobbyWasabi98
Posts: 4
Joined: March 26th, 2020, 1:52 am

Re: Changing nowplaying.dll for GPMDPPlugin.dll

Post by BobbyWasabi98 »

eclectic-tech wrote: March 26th, 2020, 11:49 pm Found some time to look at the weather; the method used is no longer available, so here is some code that uses IsItRaining to get the current temp and condition.

Replace [MeasureWeather], [MeasureTempUnit], [MeasureWeatherTemp], and [MeasureWeatherCond] with this code:

Code: Select all

:x----- Measure : Section 1A : Weather -----x:
[MeasureWebParser]
Measure=WebParser
UserAgent=Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:73.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/73.0
URL=https://isitraining.in/#Location#
RegExp=(?siU)^(.*)$
; StringIndex=1
UpdateRate=1800
FinishAction=[!EnableMeasureGroup WeatherNow] [!UpdateMeasureGroup WeatherNow][!ShowMeterGroup WeatherDetails]
OnConnectErrorAction=[!Log "No Connection to the site." Error][!About]
OnRegExpErrorAction=[!Log "Please check your weather location." Error][!About]

[MeasureDescription]
Group=WeatherNow
Disabled=1
Measure=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWebParser]
RegExp=(?siU).*\[description] => (.*)\n.*
StringIndex=1
StringIndex2=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.*)\.\s+(.*)\.$":"\1 & \2"
DecodeCharacterReference=1

[MeasureWeatherCond]
Group=WeatherNow
Disabled=1
Measure=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWebParser]
RegExp=(?siU).*\[SkyDescription] => (.*)\n.*
StringIndex=1
StringIndex2=1
DecodeCharacterReference=1

[MeasureTemperatureC]
Group=WeatherNow
Disabled=1
Measure=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWebParser]
RegExp=(?siU).*\[Temperature] => (.*)\n.*
StringIndex=1
StringIndex2=1
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute="^(.*)\..*$":"\1"

[MeasureWeatherTemp]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Round((9/5 * MeasureTemperatureC + 32) + 0.5)
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureTempUnit]
Group=WeatherNow
Disabled=1
Measure=WebParser
Url=[MeasureWebParser]
RegExp=(?siU).*\[TemperatureDesc] => (.*)\n.*
StringIndex=1
StringIndex2=1
DecodeCharacterReference=1

The temperature is in Celsius in the code and converted to Fahrenheit; if you want Celsius value then change the section name [MeasureTemperatureC] to [MeasureWeatherTemp] and rename the old [MeasureWeatherTemp] as [MeasureTemperatureF], save and refresh the skin.

Note: There are multiple error messages in the log due to a missing parenthesis in ROTATIONANGLE=(Rad(360)) ... I would recommend going through the code and add the missing parenthesis to every line where it is missing...
Wow, I didn't have to change anything and its working perfectly, I cant thank you enough for all your help, I would have been so lost. If you don't mind me asking, where did you learn so much about rainmeter and how to change it? I would love to be able to help others like you are.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5383
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Changing nowplaying.dll for GPMDPPlugin.dll

Post by eclectic-tech »

BobbyWasabi98 wrote: March 27th, 2020, 3:47 am ... If you don't mind me asking, where did you learn so much about rainmeter and how to change it? I would love to be able to help others like you are.
I started like most users trying to customize someone else's code and had no idea what to do...

I read the Documentation and looked for answers in current post on this forum.

Not fully understanding the manual instructions, I finally posted a question in the "Help" section. Many people pointed me to the information in the Manual and even provided examples that solved my issue. Helping other also helps me better understand some of the nuances of Rainmeter features.

I spending too much time here according to my better half :x ... and I am still learning new tricks as Rainmeter capabilities continue to change and expand.

So checking in here once in a while and utilize the Forum Search and Manual Search keep me up to date. :great: