It is currently December 3rd, 2020, 11:09 am

W7 Rainmeter > W10

General topics related to Rainmeter.
User avatar
MourningStar
Posts: 90
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 2:40 am

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by MourningStar »

jsmorley wrote: November 1st, 2020, 12:46 pmHere is one that I can assure you works unless there is some underlying problem with Internet Explorer or your firewall or some such.
Yes, this one works.
jsmorley wrote: November 1st, 2020, 3:21 pmThe latitude and longitude are stored in WeatherComJSONVariables.inc in your @Resources forlder.
where be this folder?
Last edited by MourningStar on November 1st, 2020, 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MourningStar
Posts: 90
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 2:40 am

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by MourningStar »

SilverAzide wrote: November 1st, 2020, 3:14 pm Hm, I'd try JSMorley's weather skin to see if it works. My Weather Meter skin uses the exact same set of files/code to grab the weather data, so if it works, then the fault lies with my Weather Meter skin (make sure you are using v5.5.1 of the Gadgets;...
How do I check the version, and how do I install it (if necessary) without blowing away all the tweaking I have done to several skins?

thx
User avatar
MourningStar
Posts: 90
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 2:40 am

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by MourningStar »

... what, no delete this post button?
Last edited by MourningStar on November 1st, 2020, 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21521
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by jsmorley »

MourningStar wrote: November 1st, 2020, 4:18 pm where be this folder?
It's in the root config folder for that Gadgets suite. That will be in your ..Documents\Rainmeter\Skins folder somewhere.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21521
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by jsmorley »

C:\Users\YourName\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\Gadgets\@Resources
User avatar
MourningStar
Posts: 90
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 2:40 am

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by MourningStar »

jsmorley wrote: November 1st, 2020, 4:20 pm It's in the root config folder for that Gadgets suite. That will be in your ..Documents\Rainmeter\Skins folder somewhere.
no, no such folder there (and this is a fresh Rianmeter install)
User avatar
MourningStar
Posts: 90
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 2:40 am

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by MourningStar »

MourningStar wrote: November 1st, 2020, 4:23 pm no, no such folder there (and this is a fresh Rianmeter install)
found it, standby ...

ok, no such file with name WeatherComJSONVariables.inc
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21521
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by jsmorley »

Looks like he moved the location for the latitude and longitude to:

C:\Users\YourName\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\Gadgets\Weather Meter\WeatherLocation.inc
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 2934
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by Yincognito »

jsmorley wrote: October 31st, 2020, 10:07 pmThe risk is that the location of your Skins folder is different on your new machine, and forcing the existing value for the SkinPath option can result in problems.
I always delete the [Rainmeter] section lines from Rainmeter.ini when saving a new layout. The section will be recreated anyway, from what I saw, and I don't like my username to be visible in another environment when loading the layout.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21521
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: W7 Rainmeter > W10

Post by jsmorley »

Yincognito wrote: November 1st, 2020, 4:30 pm I always delete the [Rainmeter] section lines from Rainmeter.ini when saving a new layout. The section will be recreated anyway, from what I saw, and I don't like my username to be visible in another environment when loading the layout.
Aight...

Image