It is currently March 28th, 2024, 8:21 am

Sharing Skin Codes

General topics related to Rainmeter.
F!.OW

Sharing Skin Codes

Post by F!.OW »

Rainmeter has been one of the few platforms where I can create something that doesn't have a steep learning curve. You can easily load up any skin, dissect it, change some settings and have it look and work to your liking. Distributing your creation isn't always as free and open.

For the most part, the community surrounding Rainmeter has been open. I'm just trying to understand why some people choose not to be as open. Some skins aren't licensed for modification then redistribution and such. Is it an "ego" thing? As an artist, I understand not wanting some of my work to be reinterpreted and displayed, but it's really only an issue if others are making money off of it. There's no money exchange here, not that I'm aware of. Speaking of monetary gain, how do you feel about those asking for donations, regarding their body of work surrounding Rainmeter skins?
jsmorley
Developer

Re: Sharing Skin Codes

Post by jsmorley »

The thing about being "open" is that folks can roll it any way they want. If they want to try to charge for things they create in Rainmeter, go for it. We won't support that on the forums, as the point of the forums is a truly open and sharing community where everyone is learning something new every day from each other. So we won't allow discussions about money and Rainmeter, nor host or support skins that anyone charges for. Outside of the forums, folks can do anything they want with Rainmeter. To each his own. As to asking for donations, I don't have a real problem with that, as long as it is entirely optional. We still won't allow it on the forums though.
F!.OW

Post by F!.OW »

jsmorley wrote:The thing about being "open" is that folks can roll it any way they want. If they want to try to charge for things they create in Rainmeter, go for it.