It is currently July 17th, 2019, 7:33 pm

Help with Windows on ARM using Qualcomm CPUs

General topics related to Rainmeter.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Posts: 569
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Help with Windows on ARM using Qualcomm CPUs

SilverAzide » March 9th, 2018, 12:10 am

Hello all!

I'm looking for some help from someone in the Rainmeter community. Specifically, I would like to hear from anyone who has or can get their hands on one of the new Windows 10 on ARM (a.k.a., "Always Connected") PCs, ...OR an old Windows RT machine with a Qualcomm (Snapdragon) CPU. I'm not interested in Windows RT machines with Intel/nVidia/TI CPUs; I believe the only RT machines with Qualcomm CPUs are the Lumia 2520, Dell XPS10, and Samsung Ativ tablets. Perhaps you know one of the 12 people who bought a Windows RT tablet...? ;)

I'm trying to find the answer to the following question:

For the registry key...
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0
...what is the value of VendorIdentifier?

We all know the value of this entry for Intel and AMD CPUs, but I'm trying to find the value for Qualcomm CPUs running any flavor of Windows (RT or 10). A clear screenshot of the Registry Editor for this key would be great.

Thanks!
DeviantArt Gadgets More...
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Help with Windows on ARM using Qualcomm CPUs

fonpaolo » April 26th, 2018, 9:58 pm

Sorry to resume this thread, but I think you've solved the problem, since I'm also interested, can you share what you've discovered?
Thanks.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Posts: 569
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Help with Windows on ARM using Qualcomm CPUs

SilverAzide » April 26th, 2018, 10:03 pm

fonpaolo wrote:Sorry to resume this thread, but I think you've solved the problem, since I'm also interested, can you share what you've discovered?
Thanks.
Actually, I have not solved this yet. :( I basically punted and used a work-around, but I'm still very interested in getting an answer to this question. Unless I get a response, my only recourse at this point is to find a Microsoft store where they have these and check out one of their demo units. I'll post anything I find here...
DeviantArt Gadgets More...
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Help with Windows on ARM using Qualcomm CPUs

fonpaolo » April 26th, 2018, 10:09 pm

Thanks SilverAzide, I can't find anyone who's actually using that kind of hardware.