It is currently March 29th, 2024, 3:08 pm

Illustro network setting

General topics related to Rainmeter.
freluc
Posts: 10
Joined: February 16th, 2015, 1:43 pm

Illustro network setting

Post by freluc »

Good morning, I use "illustro monitor skin "/" network small ini "I would like to see the values of UP and dow
in Mb/s instead of KB/s How can I do ? Thank you

Code: Select all

[meterUploadValue]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureNetOut
X=190r
Y=0r
Text=%1B/s
NumOfDecimals=1
AutoScale=1

[meterDownloadBar]
Meter=Bar
MeterStyle=styleBar
MeasureName=measureNetIn
X=10
Y=32r
W=190

[meterDownloadLabel]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleLeftText
X=10
Y=-12r
Text=Download

[meterDownloadValue]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=styleRightText
MeasureName=measureNetIn
X=190r
Y=0r
Text=%1B/s
NumOfDecimals=1
AutoScale=1
Last edited by fonpaolo on January 6th, 2018, 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please use the [Code] tags to display your code.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Illustro network setting

Post by balala »

Because both String meters ([meterUploadValue] and [meterDownloadValue]) have set the AutoScale=1 option, both are showing the value with the appropriate scaling: if the value is smaller in KB/s and if it increases, in MB/s. You don't have to do nothing for this.
freluc
Posts: 10
Joined: February 16th, 2015, 1:43 pm

Re: Illustro network setting

Post by freluc »

Normally I browse up to 7Mb / s but the value always appears in KB / S. I wondered if it was possible to change the unit of measurement.
Thanks for the reply
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Illustro network setting

Post by balala »

freluc wrote:Normally I browse up to 7Mb / s but the value always appears in KB / S. I wondered if it was possible to change the unit of measurement.
Thanks for the reply
And how many KB/s do you see?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Illustro network setting

Post by jsmorley »

The Net measures return the value in BYTES per second, not BITS per second. If you want to change that, you can set UseBits=1 on the Net measure(s) and then change the Text option to something like: Text=%1b/s, since "B" is short for BYTES and "b" is short for BITS.
freluc
Posts: 10
Joined: February 16th, 2015, 1:43 pm

Re: Illustro network setting

Post by freluc »

I see 800 KB / S
freluc
Posts: 10
Joined: February 16th, 2015, 1:43 pm

Re: Illustro network setting

Post by freluc »

ok, I solved with the suggestion of Jsmorley. thank you
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Illustro network setting

Post by jsmorley »

freluc wrote:ok, I solved with the suggestion of Jsmorley. thank you
Glad to help. It's a matter of perception. Generally speaking "bandwidth / traffic / speed" is measured in bits per second, while "downloads / uploads" are measured in bytes per second. (since they are writing to "files", which are always measured in bytes) So it depends on what you are expecting to see from the Net measures.

I personally could argue that the Net measure(s) should by default have returned the value in bits per second from the start. I consider those measures to measure "bandwidth / traffic / speed", not "downloads / uploads". However, that ship sailed years ago, and we added the UseBits option to allow you to see it either way.

In a sense I see the value in bits as "in / out" and the value in bytes as "down / up". In any case, it's up to you.
freluc
Posts: 10
Joined: February 16th, 2015, 1:43 pm

Re: Illustro network setting

Post by freluc »

thanks for your cooperation, have a nice day
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Illustro network setting

Post by jsmorley »

By the way, to be entirely / technically accurate, I would recommend using:

AutoScale=2

on the String meters. Generally speaking network traffic is measured in kilobits / megabits which strictly speaking are not a factor of 1024, but a factor of 1000. 1024 bits is a kibibit, not a kilobit.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kibibit

That is if you are measuring "traffic" in bits. If you are measuring "downloads" in bytes, then AutoScale=1 is more appropriate, since file sizes are computed using the older 1024 / kibibit scale. Just to be sure it is as confusing as possible...

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/string/#AutoScale