It is currently March 28th, 2024, 12:45 pm

I Pinged Google and I don't know what to make of this

General topics related to Rainmeter.
Post Reply
Two4one1
Posts: 2
Joined: December 10th, 2017, 1:07 am

I Pinged Google and I don't know what to make of this

Post by Two4one1 »

I was experimenting with RunCommand plugin and made this skin:

Code: Select all

[MeterTest1]
Meter=String
Text=Ping Google
FontSize=16
FontColor=#White#
FontFace=Consolas
AntiAlias=1
x=0
y=200
LeftMouseUpAction=[!CommandMeasure MeasureTest1 Run]

[MeasureTest1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=RunCommand
Parameter=ping google.com

[MeterTest1Result]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureTest1
FontSize=16
FontColor=#White#
FontFace=Consolas
AntiAlias=1
x=0
y=220
What happens when I push the text is that a series of Chinese Characters appear on the screen and it doesn't go away, I assume that this is the result of the command. I also put in other commands in the parameter and the same thing happen How do I fix this so that Latin characters appear? Does it have something to do with Localization or anything?
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2673
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: I Pinged Google and I don't know what to make of this

Post by Brian »

The ping commands output is ANSI encoded, so you need specify the OutputType=ANSI option in your RunCommand measure.
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/plugins/runcommand/#OutputType

-Brian
Two4one1
Posts: 2
Joined: December 10th, 2017, 1:07 am

Re: I Pinged Google and I don't know what to make of this

Post by Two4one1 »

Brian wrote:The ping commands output is ANSI encoded, so you need specify the OutputType=ANSI option in your RunCommand measure.
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/plugins/runcommand/#OutputType

-Brian
Wow, Thanks very much. Never thought it was that simple :handtohead:
Post Reply