It is currently March 28th, 2024, 8:04 pm

Security Vulnerabilities in Rainmeter?

General topics related to Rainmeter.
tibo1010

Security Vulnerabilities in Rainmeter?

Post by tibo1010 »

Dear All,

I installed Rainmeter yesterday and am and very happy with the skin I'm using (ModernGadgets) since it helps me monitor some of the hardware installed on my computer. My question as a complete newbie to Rainmeter is that are there inherent security vulnerabilities in this application?

I remember back when Microsoft released their Desktop Gadgets in Windows Vista and 7 there were some serious security vulnerabilities with these as per Microsoft Security Advisory 2719662 (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/security-updates/SecurityAdvisories/2013/2719662). Essentially, these Desktop Gadgets could allow attackers to run arbitrary code in the context of the current user and if the current user was logged on with administrative user rights, an attacker could take complete control of the affected system.

I very much want to keep using Rainmeter but not at the expense of compromising security. I'm currently running Win 10 Pro x64

I look forward to hearing your comments
jsmorley
Developer

Re: Security Vulnerabilities in Rainmeter?

Post by jsmorley »

There really are no external security vulnerabilities with Rainmeter. There is nothing about Rainmeter that can ever "execute" anything from the web. Rainmeter is not a web browser and has no support for Javascript or any other client-side execution. The biggest concern would be with allowing someone who is even reasonably computer literate local access to your system, as if you use things like a Gmail skin, your password is in plain text in the skin .ini file. In addition, Rainmeter can be made to execute pretty much any Windows command line, which certainly could have unwanted or destructive results if someone is able to get at the keyboard of your system and make changes.