It is currently March 28th, 2024, 4:56 pm

[Request] Continuous ping monitor

General topics related to Rainmeter.
Post Reply
User avatar
iieeann
Posts: 26
Joined: September 8th, 2017, 12:29 am

[Request] Continuous ping monitor

Post by iieeann »

Hi all, I am new to Rainmeter. I switched from Windows Gadget, and ping monitor is the most important monitoring tool out of all for my application. I searched around and seems unable to find any similar monitoring gadget at the moment, or could i have missed it out?

Image

Appreciate any help :D
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Request] Continuous ping monitor

Post by jsmorley »

Are you asking how to use the Ping Plugin in Rainmeter?

There is documentation for it, and an example, here:

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/plugins/ping/

Based on your image, you should also explore the Line meter:

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/line/

And the Shape meter:

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/shape/

And the String meter:

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/string/
User avatar
iieeann
Posts: 26
Joined: September 8th, 2017, 12:29 am

Re: [Request] Continuous ping monitor

Post by iieeann »

Hi,

Thanks for the guideline. I made a rough workout with the ping plugin. I can't get the ping update at every second with Update=1000. The string and graph update speed cannot be sync. For the 3 different addresses i put, all the 3 strings are not updated at same pace.

Apart from that, by default the maximum ping is 30000ms. How to limit it at 1000 maximum? MaxValue=1000 doesn't work. The line graph will look awkward when any 30000ms value kicks in like graph below simulated with VPN.
Image

Sometimes the string value can freeze at same value for several seconds, could be due to ping time out (Line meter still move on). Is there a way to make any time out to return value at 0 ms?

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=40
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=0,0,0,255

[MeasurePing1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=PingPlugin
DestAddress=google.com
MinValue=0
MaxValue=1000

[MeasurePing2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=PingPlugin
DestAddress=124.150.157.29
MinValue=0
MaxValue=1000

[MeasurePing3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=PingPlugin
DestAddress=eat.valve.net
MinValue=0
MaxValue=1000

[MeterPing1]
UpdateDivider=19
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasurePing1
X=5
Y=5
W=270
H=20
FontColor=255,255,0,255
Text=Google:           %1 
FontSize=16
StringStyle=Bold

[MeterPingLine1]
UpdateDivider=19
Meter=Line
MeasureName=MeasurePing1
X=5
Y=5R
W=265
H=80
LineCount=2
LineWidth=1
LineColor=140,252,124,255
LineColor2=254,211,122,255
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
AutoScale=1
AntiAlias=1

[MeterPing2]
UpdateDivider=19
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasurePing2
X=5
Y=5R
W=200
H=20
FontColor=255,255,0,255
Text=FF14:           %1 
FontSize=16
StringStyle=Bold

[MeterPingLine2]
UpdateDivider=19
Meter=Line
MeasureName=MeasurePing2
X=5
Y=5R
W=265
H=80
LineCount=2
LineColor=140,252,124,255
LineColor2=254,211,122,255
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
AutoScale=1
AntiAlias=1

[MeterPing3]
UpdateDivider=19
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasurePing3
X=5
Y=5R
W=200
H=20
FontColor=255,255,0,255
Text=BattleNet:           %1 
FontSize=16
StringStyle=Bold

[MeterPingLine3]
UpdateDivider=19
Meter=Line
MeasureName=MeasurePing3
X=5
Y=5R
W=265
H=80
LineCount=2
LineColor=140,252,124,255
LineColor2=254,211,122,255
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
AutoScale=1
AntiAlias=1
User avatar
tjhrulz
Developer
Posts: 267
Joined: October 13th, 2016, 1:28 am
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: [Request] Continuous ping monitor

Post by tjhrulz »

MaxValue is used for meters to know what the maximum value to grow to is, it does not cap the output at MaxValue. Since you have on AutoScale on the line meter it will continue to grow to allow room for the value at scale even if it is above MaxValue. There are a few different ways around this but honestly jsmoreley we probably you just add something like AutoScale=2 that scales but no bigger than the maxValue.
Post Reply