It is currently March 28th, 2024, 1:19 pm

Money from Rainmeter, Is it allowded ?

General topics related to Rainmeter.
MunaNazzal

Money from Rainmeter, Is it allowded ?

Post by MunaNazzal »

Hello everyone,

I am a new Rainmeter skin developer. So, I still do not know alot of general rules about Rainmeter.
My Question is : Is it allowded to make money from Rainmeter Skins ? I don't mean by selling them, but by Ads - eg, Adfly.

Thank you,
jsmorley
Developer

Re: Money from Rainmeter, Is it allowded ?

Post by jsmorley »

You are free to do what you want with Rainmeter. I will say however that any attempt to make money from Rainmeter skins will receive pretty universal condemnation from the Rainmeter community, and for sure no hint of such will be allowed on these forums.

Rainmeter is free, it is aggressively open source, and has become successful primarily because of the open sharing of skins that has created a pretty robust and friendly community. I'm sure you can see that selling skins, or adding advertising to skins, is not a great fit in that world.
MunaNazzal

Post by MunaNazzal »

jsmorley wrote:You are free to do what you want with Rainmeter. I will say however that any attempt to make money from Rainmeter skins will receive pretty universal condemnation from the Rainmeter community, and for sure no hint of such will be allowed on these forums.

Rainmeter is free, it is aggressively open source, and has become successful primarily because of the open sharing of skins that has created a pretty robust and friendly community. I'm sure you can see that selling skins, or adding advertising to skins, is not a great fit in that world.

Thank you Mr. Jsmorley.
You give me a clear answer. Thank you for helping.
Regrads,
aihehe

Post by aihehe »

I have also thought of this and was always curious.