It is currently July 13th, 2020, 3:06 pm

First steps with Rainmeter

Post your work-in-progress and completed skins to share and discuss.
Agamemnon
Posts: 6
Joined: October 1st, 2010, 4:45 pm

First steps with Rainmeter

Post by Agamemnon »

Opinions are welcome.
Dual monitor setup 3840x1080, used various skins and adapted them to fit the needs, icons are hidden atm for better viewing experience :Pirate: ...and normally on the left screen.


http://c.imagehost.org/view/0189/preview
Last edited by Chewtoy on October 3rd, 2010, 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed so you don't have to leave rainmeter.net to see anything.
Agamemnon
Posts: 6
Joined: October 1st, 2010, 4:45 pm

Re: First steps with Rainmeter

Post by Agamemnon »

Update: http://b.imagehost.org/view/0421/preview


...and thanks Chewtoy - i´m still learning :)

btw: rainmeter rocks.
One question tho: Inspite of the "update"-command itself - is there any way to refresh a skin manually at start?
For example the rss-feed: i want to update it only once per minute to save cpu and web load, but if i set the update to 60000 the feed will appear blank until these 60 seconds have been gone. Is there any way around this?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21019
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: First steps with Rainmeter

Post by jsmorley »

Agamemnon wrote:Update: http://b.imagehost.org/view/0421/preview


...and thanks Chewtoy - i´m still learning :)

btw: rainmeter rocks.
One question tho: Inspite of the "update"-command itself - is there any way to refresh a skin manually at start?
For example the rss-feed: i want to update it only once per minute to save cpu and web load, but if i set the update to 60000 the feed will appear blank until these 60 seconds have been gone. Is there any way around this?
Yes. Set the Update= to 1000 in [Rainmeter] Leave that alone. Then all measures will be updated 1 second after the skin starts and every 1 second after that. Now to throttle measures you don't want refreshing that often. This is particularly true of WebParser measures, as you don't want to beat up a web site and end up with your IP address banned.

On the measure that goes out to the web and retrieves the RSS feed add:

UpdateRate=60

P.S. I would use 120 or 300 or 600 myself. Checking a remote website once every minute is just wasteful of resources. Most feeds don't update that often. But to each his own.

http://rainmeter.net/cms/Tips-UsingUpdateDividerRate

Be aware of the distinction between UpdateRate and UpdateDivider. It is explained in that link.
Agamemnon
Posts: 6
Joined: October 1st, 2010, 4:45 pm

Re: First steps with Rainmeter

Post by Agamemnon »

Thanks for the clarification. I´ve read the manual, but not the Tips and Tricks section... i think i will catch up on this.
Great support guys :)
SenorCochones
Posts: 4
Joined: October 17th, 2010, 10:43 am

Re: First steps with Rainmeter

Post by SenorCochones »

hi all,

i think it is ok when i post this in agas thread... since he showed me rainmeter and shared his skin package with me. i played around with the skins to get into rainmeter codes. i really love it. a great way to be creative and "waste" a lot of time... so here is my current desktop.

"inactive":
Image
http://img100.imageshack.us/i/desktop1q.jpg

"active":
Image
http://img100.imageshack.us/i/desktop2y.jpg

i put in some new skins, unloaded some i dont need and tried to write some simple ones myself to learn.i still have a little problem with the foobar cover skin. after a lot of trying it is now working and shows the album cover. but after starting a track the cover shows up, disappears after some seconds and gets reloaded again. i have no idea why? anyone can help me with this? do you need more informations on this issue? will post this again in help forum...
ms310
Posts: 224
Joined: April 1st, 2015, 7:16 am

Re: First steps with Rainmeter

Post by ms310 »

jsmorley wrote:
October 5th, 2010, 8:01 pm
Yes. Set the Update= to 1000 in [Rainmeter] Leave that alone. Then all measures will be updated 1 second after the skin starts and every 1 second after that. Now to throttle measures you don't want refreshing that often. This is particularly true of WebParser measures, as you don't want to beat up a web site and end up with your IP address banned.

On the measure that goes out to the web and retrieves the RSS feed add:

UpdateRate=60

P.S. I would use 120 or 300 or 600 myself. Checking a remote website once every minute is just wasteful of resources. Most feeds don't update that often. But to each his own.

http://rainmeter.net/cms/Tips-UsingUpdateDividerRate

Be aware of the distinction between UpdateRate and UpdateDivider. It is explained in that link.
HI JSMORLEY - I am sorry to resurrect an old thread. I am trying to sort out the UPDATE, UPDATEDIVIDER, and UPDATERATE values for my skin and a search led me here. The link is not working - has it moved?
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4040
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: First steps with Rainmeter

Post by eclectic-tech »

You can find information about those here: https://docs.rainmeter.net/tips/update-guide/
ms310
Posts: 224
Joined: April 1st, 2015, 7:16 am

Re: First steps with Rainmeter

Post by ms310 »

eclectic-tech wrote:
June 23rd, 2020, 3:41 am
You can find information about those here: https://docs.rainmeter.net/tips/update-guide/
Thank you very much!