It is currently May 26th, 2020, 8:28 pm

⭐ Weather.com

Post your work-in-progress and completed skins to share and discuss.
dvo
Posts: 779
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by dvo »

uhm... oke i 4 got... ccleaner is well know tool to do those things to...

let's test if it's the temp / cache on the next one asking... then we will know if it works..
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20636
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

dvo wrote:
May 23rd, 2020, 8:47 pm
uhm... oke i 4 got... ccleaner is well know tool to do those things to...

let's test if it's the temp / cache on the next one asking... then we will know if it works..
Yes, it would be good to catch one in the wild.

I would have them try Disk Cleanup first, being sure that Internet Temporary Files is checked, since it is easiest, then if that doesn't work, try killing the IE cache and cookies and such from Control Panel, and if that doesn't work, then CCleaner.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Posts: 763
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by SilverAzide »

jsmorley wrote:
May 23rd, 2020, 6:57 pm
I would recommend getting and using the free version of CCleaner from https://www.ccleaner.com/. See if that doesn't help.

Another, somewhat less bulky, but far less pretty, alternative is BleachBit from https://www.bleachbit.org/.
I'm getting reports from users on DA that this issue is happening even with a fresh Windows install. :confused: This is really weird...
Gadgets DeviantArt More...
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20636
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

My guess, and it's only a guess, is that sometime, a few days ago, weather.com had some issue with their site, and whatever error they introduced just does not work and play well with Internet Explorer. Really, what does... Since WebParser relies on the API's for Internet Explorer, whatever was stuck in the cache or cookies that was causing problems just wouldn't go away, since why in the world would you ever bother to empty your IE cache or cookies?

I'm equally suspicious of an IE "cookie" as I am something in the "cache", and that might explain why Disk Cleanup might not work. It does not clean up cookies.

CCleaner at least, and maybe other approaches for cleaning up IE seem to correct the issue.

I hypothesize that this was a one-time event, since after you run CCleaner and correct it, it doesn't just come right back, and at least so far, never comes back again.

Like every site, except for Rainmeter's, there are a ton of advertising inserts in the code for weather.com. The problem could easily have been with one of those, that in theory weather.com has little control over. Hard to say.

Now I never saw the issue, since as I said, I have CCleaner tied to my Recycle Bin, and so run it dozens of times a day. Presumably I got the issue as well when everyone else did, but corrected it before it even had a chance to manifest itself. I was asymptomatic...
gerryex
Posts: 21
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

Hi ALL,

Son-of-a-gun, IT WORKED!!!!

I'm still a little leery about cleanup programs but I downloaded the free version of CCleaner and only let it delete IE files and system temp files. I did not allow it to delete any Edge files. Ran it with no problems and then i loaded the Gadgets weather skin and IT WORKED!!! VERY STRANGE! But why didn't IE's own temp file deletion work. I think jsmorley's guess that there was an issue at weather.com and it screwed up something in IE's API and was reflected in some bad temp file somewhere.

I used to work in software design but WAY before the internet was a thing (I'm aging myself!!!) so a lot of this type of design is only mumbo jumbo to me. But again I appreciate all the work that you guys who design these skins and support them put into it.

In the end its nice to have all my skins matching from the Gadgets suite!!!

THANKS AGAIN,
Gerry
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20636
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

gerryex wrote:
May 23rd, 2020, 10:05 pm
Hi ALL,

Son-of-a-gun, IT WORKED!!!!

I'm still a little leery about cleanup programs but I downloaded the free version of CCleaner and only let it delete IE files and system temp files. I did not allow it to delete any Edge files. Ran it with no problems and then i loaded the Gadgets weather skin and IT WORKED!!! VERY STRANGE! But why didn't IE's own temp file deletion work. I think jsmorley's guess that there was an issue at weather.com and it screwed up something in IE's API and was reflected in some bad temp file somewhere.

I used to work in software design but WAY before the internet was a thing (I'm aging myself!!!) so a lot of this type of design is only mumbo jumbo to me. But again I appreciate all the work that you guys who design these skins and support them put into it.

In the end its nice to have all my skins matching from the Gadgets suite!!!

THANKS AGAIN,
Gerry
Outstanding...

This internet is not here to stay.
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 1626
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Yincognito »

jsmorley wrote:
May 23rd, 2020, 9:03 pm
My guess, and it's only a guess, is that sometime, a few days ago, weather.com had some issue with their site, and whatever error they introduced just does not work and play well with Internet Explorer. Really, what does... Since WebParser relies on the API's for Internet Explorer, whatever was stuck in the cache or cookies that was causing problems just wouldn't go away, since why in the world would you ever bother to empty your IE cache or cookies?

I'm equally suspicious of an IE "cookie" as I am something in the "cache", and that might explain why Disk Cleanup might not work. It does not clean up cookies.

CCleaner at least, and maybe other approaches for cleaning up IE seem to correct the issue.

I hypothesize that this was a one-time event, since after you run CCleaner and correct it, it doesn't just come right back, and at least so far, never comes back again.

Like every site, except for Rainmeter's, there are a ton of advertising inserts in the code for weather.com. The problem could easily have been with one of those, that in theory weather.com has little control over. Hard to say.

Now I never saw the issue, since as I said, I have CCleaner tied to my Recycle Bin, and so run it dozens of times a day. Presumably I got the issue as well when everyone else did, but corrected it before it even had a chance to manifest itself. I was asymptomatic...
That hypothesis would somewhat explain why I kept getting the "raw" JSON data in WebParser instead of the actual page source visible in the browser. If "more than a cookie" became stuck in WebParser's (well, actually, IE's) "cache" or whatever, maybe it produced this side result... :confused:
slartibartfast
Posts: 15
Joined: September 10th, 2012, 3:42 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by slartibartfast »

dvo wrote:
May 23rd, 2020, 8:37 pm
i have read a couple of statements that ccleaner worked for them ... in my case to ... :)

and your statement of :
Disk Cleanup specifically cleans up the IE cache and IE temporary files

no disk cleanup doesn't clean cache or temps .... ccleaner does ....
I'm not sure why everyone is using CCleaner for something you can do easily from IExplorer itself. CCleaner used to be great but it has been mostly redundant and behaves suspiciously for some time now. Power users now recommend against it.

https://helpdeskgeek.com/free-tools-review/why-you-shouldnt-download-ccleaner-for-windows-anymore/

I just opened IExplorer (on Windows 10), went to Tools->Internet Options, and on the General Tab under Browsing History hit the Delete Button. Leave all the options at their defaults and hit the Delete button again. VClouds Weather 2 works perfectly again. No need to install CCleaner just for this fix.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20636
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

To each his own certainly. I'm not strongly recommending CCleaner, but for myself, I have always liked it. I like having a "one stop shop" to do all that kind of cleanup that sure, you can do other ways, but while I love fiddling with my PC, there is a limit to how much time I want to spend finding and deleting stuff that CCleaner can do with one right-click of my Recycle Bin.

Keeping your PC lean and mean was pretty easy back in the DOS days, but it's becoming increasingly hard and time consuming to find all the little rugs that Windows sweeps trash under and pretty much just leaves there forever.

As to Internet Explorer, I sorta have an objection in principle against EVER even starting it up. I haven't done so in many years.

I don't use any of the other "tools" they bloated it up with, so yeah, CCleaner is a bit bulky for what I use it for, but I have like six terabytes of hard drive space, so I think I can find a corner of that to squeeze that 50MB into. It's throwing a pebble into the Grand Canyon really.

I'm not any happier than anyone that CCleaner sold out and just said "suck it monkeys, we're going corporate!" a few years ago, and I hardly hold them up as a paragon of virtue at this point, but I haven't found anything any better that is as thorough, and can easily be automated from the command line. I'm always open to suggestion.
gerryex
Posts: 21
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

slartibartfast wrote:
May 24th, 2020, 12:46 am
I'm not sure why everyone is using CCleaner for something you can do easily from IExplorer itself. CCleaner used to be great but it has been mostly redundant and behaves suspiciously for some time now. Power users now recommend against it.

https://helpdeskgeek.com/free-tools-review/why-you-shouldnt-download-ccleaner-for-windows-anymore/

I just opened IExplorer (on Windows 10), went to Tools->Internet Options, and on the General Tab under Browsing History hit the Delete Button. Leave all the options at their defaults and hit the Delete button again. VClouds Weather 2 works perfectly again. No need to install CCleaner just for this fix.
I tried exactly that but it did not work! I'm not crazy about having to install CCleaner but after I ran it the weather skin started working.

Gerry