It is currently September 24th, 2020, 3:07 am

ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post your work-in-progress and completed skins to share and discuss.
User avatar
SansVarnic
Posts: 6
Joined: June 14th, 2020, 9:49 pm

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by SansVarnic »

SilverAzide wrote: June 15th, 2020, 11:25 am The problem is the timeFormat in your variables file is still set to "WinLong". That means it is ignoring your custom format string. This is why it is best to always use the Settings skin (if provided) instead of tinkering with .ini files directly. But, since you're in there already, change the setting to timeFormat=Custom. That should do it.

In answer to your original second question, I don't think this skin can handle multiple timezones. But this one can. This one uses the time format of your Windows settings, so it will be a 24-hour clock if your Windows locale is set that way, but you can override it if needed.
The reason I went in to change the ini is because the setting skin wont accept me selecting a change to 24hr.
Thank you for pointing out the change for timeformat=WinLong to timeformat=Custom that is what I was missing.

I will look into the other gadget you suggested as well.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Posts: 955
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by SilverAzide »

SansVarnic wrote: June 15th, 2020, 12:53 pm The reason I went in to change the ini is because the setting skin wont accept me selecting a change to 24hr.
Huh... Weird. It's working fine for me, so I'm not sure what the issue could be. One thing to watch out for is that re-installing ModernGadgets over an existing installation will not wipe out your settings; it tries to preserve your configuration. So to do a clean, from-scratch, install you actually have to delete the entire suite and install a fresh copy.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
raiguard
Posts: 667
Joined: June 25th, 2015, 7:02 pm
Location: The Sky, USA

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by raiguard »

Thanks for the swift responses everybody! I try to check the forum every day but sometimes I forget.

Anyway, yeah, if you're having issues with the settings skin, I can try to get those sorted out for the next version (coming... someday). What exactly is not working with it?
”We are pretty sure that r2922 resolves the regression in resolution caused by a reversion to a revision.” - jsmorley, 2017
User avatar
ryouji
Posts: 3
Joined: July 11th, 2020, 11:39 am

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by ryouji »

The GPU calendar network, etc. is hardly loaded
About 1-2%

When using the CPU resource meter
The load will be about 17-20%

Image

Image
User avatar
SilverAzide
Posts: 955
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by SilverAzide »

ryouji wrote: July 11th, 2020, 11:49 am The GPU calendar network, etc. is hardly loaded
About 1-2%

When using the CPU resource meter
The load will be about 17-20%
Make sure you get the latest Rainmeter beta, the one you are using is known to have a memory leak. Next, it appears you have at least 8 (??) skins loaded, and not all are ModernGadgets. Unload all skins but one, then add one at a time until you see which one is causing the problem. Have you made any changes to the CPU Meter skin? With about 11+ skins loaded my Rainmeter usage is ~2%.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
y0himba
Posts: 38
Joined: September 25th, 2016, 3:35 pm
Location: At a desk

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by y0himba »

Is there a link to the latest beta?
---
Once up a time there was a now playing signature here. Now it is no more. Maybe someone can make a now playing sig gen for Last.fm? :thumbup:
User avatar
dragon57
Posts: 4
Joined: July 29th, 2012, 4:30 am

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by dragon57 »

y0himba wrote: July 11th, 2020, 10:10 pm Is there a link to the latest beta?
Front page of the main site, bottom left.
https://www.rainmeter.net/
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 11390
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by balala »

y0himba wrote: July 11th, 2020, 10:10 pm Is there a link to the latest beta?
Download Rainmeter always and only from https://www.rainmeter.net/
User avatar
ryouji
Posts: 3
Joined: July 11th, 2020, 11:39 am

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by ryouji »

SilverAzide wrote: July 11th, 2020, 9:51 pm Make sure you get the latest Rainmeter beta, the one you are using is known to have a memory leak. Next, it appears you have at least 8 (??) skins loaded, and not all are ModernGadgets. Unload all skins but one, then add one at a time until you see which one is causing the problem. Have you made any changes to the CPU Meter skin? With about 11+ skins loaded my Rainmeter usage is ~2%.
Have you made any changes to the CPU Meter skin
Not change

Log when only CPU Meter skin operates

DBUG (00:29:07.492) ModernGadgets\CpuMeter\CpuMeter.ini - [MeasurePageUsage]: Could not find a category called Paging File
DBUG (00:29:07.894) ModernGadgets\CpuMeter\CpuMeter.ini - [MeasureTopProcess]: Could not find a category called Process
DBUG (00:29:08.305) ModernGadgets\CpuMeter\CpuMeter.ini - [MeasurePageUsage]: Could not find a category called Paging File
DBUG (00:29:08.940) ModernGadgets\CpuMeter\CpuMeter.ini - [MeasurePageUsage]: Could not find a category called Paging File

Image
User avatar
SilverAzide
Posts: 955
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ModernGadgets 1.6.3

Post by SilverAzide »

ryouji wrote: July 12th, 2020, 5:35 pm Have you made any changes to the CPU Meter skin
Not change

Log when only CPU Meter skin operates
Aha, that's good info, thank you! It appears your Windows performance counter database is corrupted. Follow the instructions at the link below, then reboot and see if the CPU Meter behaves normally.

PerfMon Troubleshooting
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...